Petlife logo

A Letter To My Pup Up In Heaven

I miss you buddy, but writing this helps me remember you and gives me the pleasure of showing you off to the world.

By KaciePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2

Dear Cooper,

Hey buddy how goes it where you are? It's been almost a year since you left us and not a day goes by that you aren't missed. The pitter-patter of your little feet on the floor has stopped but what we wouldn't give to hear that again. We can all hope to see you again one day, but for now our memories must suffice. And oh, what memories we made.

Loads of my memories with you include that thing you did that really tested us: bark. Your bark was definitely unique and man was it relentless. You found anything and everything to bark at, and I think you just liked making noise honestly. We never forgot you were with us that's for sure! The barking would get pretty unbearable sometimes Coopy and I think you knew how much it would get to us at times. But, I did always find the way you barked at animated horses hilarious and endearing. It's funny now how we all miss that barking that used to plague our ears at times. I would rather hear that barking every day than to never hear it again, but sadly, life has its own plans.

I know your buddy Joe misses you and how you two used to play together. You turned that cat into a dog and honestly I thank you for that because he has become such an oddball thanks to you! While you and Sammy never really got along I know in my heart that she misses you too. Sadly, she may be joining you soon where you are, but it comforts me to know she won't be alone up there. You were reunited with Max which I bet you loved, and hopefully you got to meet some of the previous family pets we loved as well.

Thinking of you I cannot help but remember your final weeks, weeks I wish had gone differently. You became distant and louder than usual. You stopped your normal antics and become somebody different than we had grown to love. Of course we noticed this change in you, you were and continue to be our family, and that would never have gone unnoticed. It really became apparent things were not right when you started to stumble. After the stumbling and dizzy spells, you stopped moving around as much. Later we had found out that you had become blind, and it breaks my heart knowing that was the cause of your actions. The tumor in your brain came on fast, and damn did it strike quickly.

The night I decided to get out of the house for once in a long time, I made sure to say goodbye to you as always. Little did I know that this would be our final goodbye. You waited for the moment I left the house to have that final stroke. I will never know if this was a mercy or if it is something that should haunt me. I wasn't able to be beside you for your final moments, but I have a feeling you wouldn't have wanted me to see the horrifying and tragic scene play out. You were such a sweet boy and I'm sure you only continue to grow sweeter by the day, and I cannot thank you enough for that. I cannot thank you enough for giving my mom those final weeks with you, and for waiting until after Christmas to stop the long and hard fight. You gifted us with a final Christmas in your presence and that was the best gift any of us could ever have received.

So now Cooper, we go on missing you. We go on missing you until the day in which we will all meet back up with you. That day when our whole family will be reunited will be many, many years from now, but it will be a glorious day indeed. I'll run around with you in a circle like you loved to do so much, and maybe we can find some geese to chase off our new yard like old times! Until then, I hope you continue visiting me in my dreams. Those dreams make it feel as if you never left, and seeing you in them just feels so normal. Any time I get to see you makes me happy, and if it really is you taking the time to visit me then damn Cooper, thank you so much. For now, keep being a good boy and watching over us, we will see you again one day baby and you will be met with open arms and happy tears.

Sincerely from my mind that misses and loves you dearly,

Kacie

dog
2

About the Creator

Kacie

Just an aspiring writer trying to gain experience :)

Follow my adorable kitties on Instagram and Tiktok @joethehoe.finnforthewin <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.