Petlife logo

A Girl's Best Friend

Somebody to Love

By Meghan ThewPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Can a dog save your life? The answer is one trillion times yes. 

No, I wasn’t in real danger. I wasn’t suicidal or having a medical need, though dogs can certainly help with both of those. I was just existing. Boring. Lonely. There. Going through the motions of life and hoping for a miracle.

I wasn’t in a great place mentally when she came into my life. I was a little broken-hearted and lonely. Even surrounded by friends and family, it is easy to feel depressed and alone if you do not have that affirmation of a significant other. I wanted more than anything to have a person in my life. Someone to share my life with. I was living the Queen song, “Somebody to love,” hoping beyond hope for someone, anyone, to love me.

She filled the gaping hole in my chest the moment I picked her up. Her puppy breath and sharp teeth and soft puppy fur. She climbed in my lap on the drive home. She threw up all over me—but I didn’t mind—and fell asleep in my arms. 

The next months were a blur. Potty training had me constantly cleaning the floors, chasing her around with paper towels and a Swiffer. Every article of clothing had tears from her dagger-like teeth. I was constantly stressed that she would hurt someone or something. Or that she would have an accident. My nightmares were about her dying, though I knew it was an unreasonable fear. She was only a few months old. She wasn’t in any danger. But I constantly dreamt of her getting sick or injured.

She had no fear. She would run to any person. Any dog. Any animal. Whether it was a danger to her or not. Her favorite thing was to play with the cats. They were not a fan, but she would spend hours chasing them and trying to wrestle. She had small cuts and bits of missing fur across her nose, but it didn’t stop her. Even now, she is always wrestling a cat, but also protecting them. She checks on all the animals in our house to make sure they are okay. She is the most playful, but also the gentlest dog I have ever known.

Then, she got big enough to jump in my bed. This is my favorite memory, as she rested her tiny head against me, looking back at me with her chocolate brown eyes. Her ears, normally straight up like satellite dishes, crinkled back as she leaned into me completely, full of trust and love. At that moment, I truly melted. All of the stress and training. All worth every moment. I cannot be apart from her. 

My life truly revolves around her. Can I go on the vacation? Only if I can take my dog. The only night I was away from her was because I was in the hospital and it was miserable for both of us. Neither of us can sleep unless the other is there. If I’m home, she’s never more than a few feet away. If I’m gone, she waits by the door or watches out the window waiting for me to come home. Our fun weekend activities are the dog park and dog beach.

And now, even as Hurricane Ian barrels down on Florida, all I feel is grateful. She’s not even afraid of the storm, though the rest of us are an anxious wreck. I expect we’ll lose power soon, but with her by my side, I am not afraid. The house may be damaged. The area may flood. But we can face anything together. And while I still wait for a significant other, I am truly blessed with every moment I get to spend with my best friend.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Meghan Thew

Fantasy writer. Creator of nonsense. Animal lover. Occasional Poet. Dabbler in painting. Only truly myself when being creative.

I've been creating stories my whole life, and with Vocal's help, hope to share with a wider audience. Thank you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.