Petlife logo

A Furry Love Story

Delilah's Adoption

By Grace LinnPublished 3 years ago • 2 min read
5
Delilah on her cat tree

It was a cold April 3rd of 2019 in Fort Wayne, Indiana. I had just woken up, and my partner and I of that time had some errands to run. We had to get groceries and have some Panda Express of course (our favorite). Out in the plaza where Walmart is there is a Petsmart. Occasionally we would like to run in there just to browse. In the back of that particular store there is a separate room full of adoptable cats from the local SPCA. There was one that particularly stuck out to me because her description card read that she could say "mama". I felt a warm feeling in my chest. This meeting was kismet. I immediately went to fill out an adoption application. Within a few days I was approved to come pick up Delilah and take her home with me!

My partner and I drove back to that same Petsmart. We had already purchased everything we needed, the most important item at that moment being the cat carrier. We went back to the adoption area. Delilah was asleep but once her cage door opened, she without hesitation walked straight into our cat carrier. It was almost as if she knew that it was time to go. As we walked towards the front of the store, we stopped at the pet tag kiosk to personalize an ID tag for Delilah. It looked like one of those "hello my name is..." nametags that you might see on a professional sometimes. This one in particular was pink. We got Delilah's name engraved on it. As we retrieved the finished product, we were very excited to get Delilah back to my apartment and to try and acclimate her to her new surroundings. I had even taken the day off of work just to try and get her adjusted.

As we reached the top of the stairs to my apartment, I opened the door, set the carrier down, and opened the door. Delilah was very curious and definitely examined most of what was around her. Her favorite place to be on was my bed as she definitely loves cuddling. The roommates I live with present-day cuddle with her daily as well. Every day I come home from work now, I have much more than just a cat to greet me. I have a new best friend. I've heard somewhere that pets choose their "person", and I would have to say Delilah has definitely chosen me as hers. From jumping onto my back from the couch, to enjoying being held to the point of begging for it daily, there is no shortage of love and adoration from Delilah. Sometimes to understand true love, one must adopt an animal and show it love and care for the rest of its days. And I have definitely fallen in love.

adoption
5

About the Creator

Grace Linn

Just your neighborhood friendly nerd

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.