Petlife logo

A Funny True Story about a kitten & a rat

So my mom made me get rid of the kitten well I decided to get a rat to get her back

By Tara FirmanPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1
Mom made me get rid of a kitten so I got a rat HUM....

Here's how the story goes I am 17 years old & I was working at Kings Island Paramount Amusement park. While working there I made a lot of friends,that I either worked with or just hung out with. There was this guy that I worked with his name is Marc. Well I went to go pick him up at his house because he asked me to take him to a friends house. I of course said sure why not.

When I got to his house he instructed me on where to go. Well I think we were close to down town/Mount Look out in Cincinnati Ohio. He told me to stop in front of this house. Man this house kinda looked like the house on the hill in that Bates Hotel movie with Norman Bates. Okay but it's day time but still it looked like that because he had to go up a really long high concrete step hill. He told me to wait in the car until he got back. So I waited.

When he came out he was carrying a box. I thought oh girlfriend issues she packed his stuff up & was giving him his stuff back. He's really handsome & was dating a lot. We had gone out a few times but I honestly thought just as friends, we went to Loveland Castle to go Ice Skating a lot of fun.When he got to the car he got in & said here this is for you. I was like what??? OMG it was the most adorable little kitten ever. I said you got this for me? He said yeah. I was like OMG wow.

So I dropped him back off at his house & proceeded to head home. When I got home I showed my mom & she said NO you can't keep it we have enough animals as it is & your dad isn't going to allow this. I was like mom it was a gift come on. This was on a Thursday when Sunday came because I thought for sure I was going to be able to keep it,she came into my room & said they were taking it to "The Scratching Post" Their located in Silverton Ohio,their a great facility for abandoned cats or kittens. So they took the kitten there I was really upset.

So on Monday I went to Van Leunen's & decided to get a rat. I got a really cute black and white one.I already had an aquarium I was going to keep it in. So I got home with it,snuck it upstairs into my bedroom. I put it in the tank & placed it in the closet with a bunch of clothes on top to hide it.

So now I am at school when I got home my mom said we need to talk right now,go sit at the kitchen table. It sounded serious, I was racking my brain trying to figure out what the heck this could be about.I was a very good kid,never did drugs, never played hooky from school etc. SO I knew it couldn't be the Principal calling but then started thinking okay maybe it was one of my teachers,because I wasn't doing so great in some of the subjects one was History,the other Religion.

She said so today I went up stairs to your room & I was like okay still not registering. She then began to proceed & say & as I was picking up your clothes in your room to do laundry I was hearing something in your closet. NOW it's registering I was like um hum. She said & as I opened up your closet to get the rest of your clothes I jumped 10 feet in the air because you have a rat in your closet. Tara I thought we told you no more pets. I was like dang it.She said now take it back or we will let it go. So I ended up taking it back. Well while I was there I saw a Halloween store & there it was in the discount bin a black plastic rat with red eyes. I had to get it.

Okay game plan she does laundry once during the week & also on the weekend. I missed her reaction & I wanted to see what she looked like. So it was Saturday I figured she was either doing laundry today or tomorrow.I was downstairs in the family room & the music to my ears Tara I'm doing laundry go upstairs & get your laundry ready for me. I yelled okay mom. So I went upstairs did as she said, I didn't throw the clothes down because if I did it might knock it over on the step.So I placed them down the bottom of the steps,placed the rat on the 4th or 5th step of the stairs & placed some more clothes above it.I yelled from upstairs okay mom clothes are down there for you.

I was waiting like a little kid at the top of the steps waiting for Santa. Oh boy Oh boy this is going to be great. She came over started to pick them up,I was watching her then she realized the other clothes... BOY did she ever scream & jumped pretty high in the air too. I was laughing hysterically. She said Tara I thought I told you to get rid of that rat it's out of it's cage,come & get it NOW. I got to the bottom of the stairs & said mom look & I made it squeak,because it could do that if you grabbed onto it's stomach. She said oh you why???. I responded back because I missed your reaction I wanted to see what you looked like. She started to laugh too. I did those kind of things so did my brother & sister their younger than me but I will save that story for another segment of "Family Matters" I loved watching that show so I hope it's okay to endorse it a little. Their still on tv too.

cat
1

About the Creator

Tara Firman

Hi I love to cook & bake & take care of my pets. I also enjoy making hand made wire jewelry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.