Petlife logo

A Dogs Love

A Story of The Best Kind of Love

By Sara CaramellaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

March 16, 2015. This day changed my life forever when an 8 week old, chunky little mutt came into my life. Let’s backtrack a little. This day was my friend's birthday and when I asked what she wanted for her birthday, she said “to get you a puppy!”. My 19th birthday was a couple weeks before and I had been searching for a puppy. I could never find a dog I loved and felt like it just was not the right time for a puppy. Life had other plans. I went and visited my friend for her birthday and her mom found one boy puppy in the classifieds. Him, his siblings (all sisters) and his mom were thrown from a truck onto a highway and this woman and her husband rescued them. They were able to keep the mom and took the mom and puppies to the vet. They kept the puppies until they hit about 7 weeks. Ruger was the last puppy because nobody wanted a boy puppy. I am so glad that I was the one to get him. I took him to my friends house and they watched him while I got toys, food, a blanket, bowls, etc. Then I drove the 90 miles home and introduced my little boy to everyone and decided on his name, Ruger. This is the story of me thinking that I rescued Ruger when he actually rescued me.

Ruger taught himself how to walk on a leash, he potty trained in two days .. he was (and still is) the smartest and sweetest little boy. His ears started to stand up, he started to get a lot bigger and he started to really grow into himself, physically and personality wise. In 5 years, we have lived in many places, been separated and been through a lot of things together. In the past 5 years, Ruger has taught me so much about love, patience, caring and growing. He has learned so many things in his time and he has taught me so many things, too. He has grown out of being aggressive into being the sweetest and happiest boy. He loves water, snow, playing with his stuffed toys, “talking” and snuggling. He loves meeting new people, going on drives, going on walks and just being around his people and animals. He loves and sometimes hates his many, many nicknames .. some are; Ruge, Rug, RugeyBoy, RugeBear, Baby Bear, Ruger Boog, etc.

Ruger has always been the one constant in my life. He has helped me through nightmares and panic attacks, he has helped roommates with their anxiety attacks and nightmares. He knows how to comfort me when I am sad, he knows what I need and when I need it. Ruge knows how to make other people and animals comfortable, he knows how to make people laugh, he knows how to give and receive so much love. He loves to sit, shake and high five .. especially when treats are involved. He listens well and he has made Reba comfortable being outside of the ranch life and into the trailer park life. He makes me comfortable knowing that I always have his protection and love. He is the sweetest boy and he absolutely loves being a snuggly boy.

I will never be able to thank Ruger for all the things he has helped me through. Ruger has gotten me through break ups, family issues, school issues, work issues, dating .. the list could go on and on. He stays the same and loves me through the worst and best times. Ruger loving me has helped me through so many things. His love is the reason I am still here, through it all. It is amazing knowing you have this perfect best friend that will never judge you, never hurt you and never betray you. Ruger is the one thing I never knew I needed but I am so so grateful for the love he had provided. If you have a great dog, you will never be alone and you will always be loved.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Sara Caramella

26. Crisis Counselor. Domestic Violence Survivor.

I believe in sharing my story so others know they are never alone.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.