Petlife logo

A Doggy Love Story

How I Found My Best Friend

By Hannah Joy StacyPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like
Image by Andreas Waguluz on Unsplash

My family has always had a Golden Retriever as our family dog and even bred two of them for several years. Henry was the male and was always "my dog" as a teenager. I always said that one day I would have one of his puppies. For as long as I can remember from us having golden retrievers, I always wanted a puppy of my own when the time was right and I was capable of caring for my own dog independently. Unfortunately; after several litters of puppies, my parent's female dog Lilly was pretty worn out so my parents decided to neuter Henry and stopped breeding the two of them. I was devastated because I was still not in the right place to care for my own dog and I really thought I had missed my chance of having one of Henry's puppies. Shortly after the two stopped breeding, I moved to Dallas for several years and then to Austin, TX. The only dog I ever got to see during that time were on the rare occasions I would visit Henry while staying in East Texas for the holidays.

In 2012, I ended the engagement with my fiancé and my family helped me move into an apartment to finish college in East Texas. It was my first semester back and I was starting to feel pretty lonely living by myself. That was the moment I realized it was finally time to look for the dog I had been waiting for. I called around and found a breeder who was also a professor at my school. She had two females and one male Golden Retriever puppies left and was asking $500 for the male. I only had $200 but I'm pretty sure she saw how badly I wanted this dog and how long I had been waiting to find him. Luckily, she decided to let me have him in exchange for the amount I had. A few days later in front of PetSmart, she stepped out of her truck with the most beautiful puppy I had ever seen nestled calmly in her arms. I ran up to him and the minute our eyes met I instantly knew how special he would be to me. I had been planning for this dog for years and even chose his name upon meeting a co-worker named Charlie while living in Austin several years before. The breeder gave me Charlie's AKC papers which I began looking through several days later. There are no words that can describe the shock and sheer joy I felt when I read that Henry was Charlie's great-great grandfather listed among the genealogy information. I finally had one of Henry's puppies at last, and had not at all missed my chance as I had thought. Everyone is partial to their own dog, but Charlie means everything to me.

Last year, I found out that I am not going to be able to have children and I know some people may not understand the comparison but it just makes me even more grateful to have Charlie. I have severe PTSD and Charlie has become my support dog and is extremely in-tune to my feelings and emotions. He licks away my tears, lays beside me when I cry, and often protects me from myself from going over the edge. Unintentionally, he holds me accountable for my actions in the fact that if I begin to make any former negative decisions, I could risk losing him and everything else I hold dear. Charlie has made me into a better, more sensitive, and caring person. I fully believe fate brought Charlie and I together and will bind us for eternity. Charlie is my light, my joy and my sunshine and I believe to this day God saw the sincerity of my desire to have a puppy and answered my prayer tenfold by giving me my Charlie Boy.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Joy Stacy

I am a Swiss-American writer and editor currently living in Texas. I love to travel, I adore music and my golden retriever, Charlie. I have lived all over the world and have so many unusal and interesting experiences to share as a writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.