Petlife logo

A Cat Named Annabel Lee

After the poem

By Brenda ReevesPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Author's Cat, Annabel Lee

I'm not sure why I named my cat after Edgar Allan Poe's Annabel Lee. I think maybe the tone and rhythm attracted me. If you aren't familiar with the works of Edgar Allen Poe, Annabel Lee is a lyric poem about Poe's deceased wife, or at least that's what many people think. That's as far as any similarities go between my Annabelle Lee and Poe's.

That's Annabel in the above photo. The picture doesn't do justice to her gorgeous jade green eyes. She's somewhat of a quirky cat. Her morning starts with a soft pat on my cheek which means wake up and scratch me under the chin. After a good scratching, she jumps down and shows me the way to the bathroom.

She waits patiently while I pee, and brush my teeth. I think it’s generous of her to let me do that. Next, she runs into the bedroom and jumps up on the dresser where I keep her glass of ice water. Annabel won't drink unless it's freshly poured, and she'll only drink water out of a glass. I had to get her a glass that looked like mine, or she will help herself to my glass of water. She also won't drink it unless there is ice in it. If I forget the ice, she gives me a look that says: What? You expect me to drink that?

I bought her an expensive water fountain at Petco. She won’t use it. That thing cost me $75, and she won’t use it. Who would have ever guessed? Cat owners love to buy expensive beds and toys for their cats that never get used. Get them a cardboard box or paper bag, and they’re happy.

After I check Annabelle’s kibble bowl, I sit down at my computer with my coffee and begin to work. Annabelle jumps up on the desk and lays next to it in her reserved spot. I always have to keep that spot cleared for her. If I don’t, she’ll plop herself on the keyboard to remind me. Luckily, I can set my coffee down, and she won’t drink it. I had a cat many years ago that did drink my coffee if I set it down.

If I get up at any time to grab a bite to eat or go to the bathroom, I’ll come back to a surprise on my computer. It’s usually something like this: dddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd One time I came back, and Annabelle had completely erased my article. Sometimes she’ll be lying on the keyboard. You’d think I would remember to close the top of my computer, but I don’t.

After Annabelle has had enough of tormenting me for the day, she’ll hop over to the bed and lay down for a long nap. That’s when I get most of my work done.

As if that isn't torment enough, Annabelle will wake me up in the middle of the night with a pat on the cheek. She usually wants me to pet her but sometimes it's because her kibble bowl is empty or she ran out of ice water. I'll get up refill her bowl and glass and go back to bed. After she has had her fill of kibble and water. She comes back to bed and wraps herself around my right arm.

My roommate wants to know why I don't train that cat instead of giving her her way. Every cat owner knows the answer to that. Do what your cat says or you might find a smelly present in your shoe in the morning. We're all slaves to our cats.

cat
Like

About the Creator

Brenda Reeves

I'm a writer, visual artist, animal lover and free spirit. Minimalism is my motto. I recently sold my car and live with the bare necessities of life. It's the only way to be truly free in this world of chaos.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.