Petlife logo

5 Lessons I've Learned from Our Sheep

Life lessons often come from unexpected places

By Michelle SkinnerPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Sometimes I get so engrossed in work and family life that I forget to take care of myself. In marketing, you’re working with multiple departments to achieve their goals. As a parent, you’re working to help your kids make smart choices and shuttling them around. As a spouse, you’re running around town looking for a tractor part that was supposed to be in one store but wasn’t, so you’re checking all the other tractor-ish stores in town even though you don’t even know what the part looks like.

Honestly, I wouldn’t change any of those scenarios for the world – except maybe the last one. However, self-care is often an afterthought that gets pushed so far to the back burner that when you push the microwave light button to illuminate your stovetop, it doesn’t even reach that far back. It’s like the dark alley of priorities that you don’t want to walk down alone at night. You get the picture. Sheep, on the other hand, are masters at self-care. When they aren’t birthing or raising a lamb, they pretty much do whatever the flock they want. Here are five things I’m learning from them that I’ll be incorporating into my self-care routine:

1. Eat your leafy greens. I remember in college, I asked our team nutritionist if I could just take multivitamins instead of eating vegetables. She laughed. Apparently, there’s no substitute for the real thing. And the benefits are surprising and numerous. Did you know they can even boost your mood? (The Healthy Cuisine) I don’t think sheep understand the benefits since that’s all they eat, but they’re pretty good role models.

2. Stay hydrated. Have you ever watched a sheep drink water? They go hard! While dogs inefficiently lap the water, and cats daintily scoop it, sheep are all in, guzzling the goodness. Some of our show lambs even have mini-arguments over who gets the water first after eating. It’s adorable; I’ll video it for you sometime. Unlike the sheep, I basically live in a state of dehydration, not by choice, but because I forget. If anyone has any tips for incorporating more water into a day, I’m all ears.

3. Find your tribe. Sheep are herd animals, and they naturally huddle together for security against predators, as they have for thousands of years. Hanging out as a group for “safety in numbers,” isn’t enough for our sheep, though. No, our small flock has their own tribes: Banana and Cherry are besties; Melon, Grape, and Kiwi are always together. They tolerate each other, but they definitely have their preferences of other sheep they really can vibe with. It’s an important lesson: be nice to everyone, but know who will lift you up and make you better. Stick close to those sheep…err, people.

4. Exercise regularly. Whether to escape the humans trying to give them a kiss, rushing over to steal a treat, or bounding over the irrigation ditch in the sunshine, sheep seem like they’re always on the move. It’s a great reminder for me to put down my phone, close my computer, and just walk around for a little while. The list of benefits is lengthy, but unsurprising.(Mayo Clinic) I’ve asked the sheep what their secrets are to making exercise a habit (yes, we have a mini-microphone for just such interviews), but they’re pretty silent on the topic.

5. Finally, don’t be afraid to stick out your neck; after all, that’s where the treats are! Read my previous blog “May Your Creativity Reward you with Licorice-Flavored Treats” for more information on this. But here’s a cautionary tale: some our sheep are crazy, like Banana for instance.* We actually named her that because she’s so crazy she’s bananas. Her eyes are crazy, and she runs all over the pasture at top speed with her head in the air and a look of sheer panic on her face. I have never seen anyone so afraid of something they’ve seen every day for literally the last seven months. Needless to say, she has never had a treat in her whole life with us because she’s too scared to try something new, stick out her neck, and take a little nibble from my hand. Don’t be like Banana – for this reason if not for anything else. Some of the other sheep, like Melon and Grape, aren’t afraid to stick out their necks and try something new. Let’s just say it’s a good thing they exercise regularly, because they cash in on my generosity with the treats.

Honestly, I never thought I would turn to sheep for life advice, but here we are. And here’s my marketing spin on this advice: You can learn something from everyone – and everything – who you meet in life if you’re just willing to slow down, ask questions, and don’t be afraid to stick out your neck.

*We actually named her that because she’s so crazy she’s bananas. Her eyes are crazy, and she runs all over the pasture at top speed with her head in the air and a look of sheer panic on her face. I have never seen anyone so afraid of something they’ve seen every day for literally the last seven months. Needless to say, she has never had a treat in her whole life with us because she’s too scared to try something new, stick out her neck, and take a little nibble from my hand. Don’t be like Banana – for this reason if not for anything else.

list
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Skinner

Adventures with my two daughters and a dozen show sheep provide some serious lessons about life and trying squeeze in some time to write. Follow me to find out how it's going!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.