Petlife logo

5 Animals I'd Love to Adopt if I Owned a Menagerie (and Wasn't Such a Cat Lady)

Yes, I'd be the best beast caretaker over in the wild woods.

By Jillian SpiridonPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
2
5 Animals I'd Love to Adopt if I Owned a Menagerie (and Wasn't Such a Cat Lady)
Photo by Guy Roberts on Unsplash

Maybe you're like me and you watch movies like The Lion King or Zootopia and say, "Gee, I'd love to be surrounded by animals like that all the time. Wouldn't that be fun?" Though I'm not a fan of zoos and the idea of animal captivity, it has crossed my mind more than once that I'd someday love to donate some income towards the goal of sustaining a wildlife preserve somewhere in the world. The work of Joel Sartore first helped me come to this realization in the way his photos capture animals who are so near to disappearing from this earth entirely. Every time I hear about certain species going extinct, my heart clenches a little bit. Given how much good humans are capable of, we should never have to say goodbye to an entire subset of animals, especially if the threats are things we could work to reverse (such as the dangers of climate change and the realities of poaching in certain areas of the world).

All that to say, I've imagined my own little universe where I could make a difference in some animals' lives where they would have food, care, and freedom no matter how long they lived. Wouldn't that be wonderful? (And here we have people who are going up into space while we still have so many problems to solve down here on earth—but that's a topic for another day.)

Let's say I could have my own little wildlife preserve. If I had disposable income to the nth degree and got bored of my cats at home, which animals would I love to shelter and care for?

Here are just a few.

5. Giraffes

Any 90's Toys"R"Us kid probably remembers Geoffrey the Giraffe, the mascot of the famed toy retailer. Honestly, I think that's where my first cognitive recognition of giraffes came from. (I know, it's sad: consumerism at so young an age.) And my love somehow sprouted from there.

Giraffes look rather awkward at times. Their limbs are so long that they appear gangly as they move. Almost like a cross between a camel and a llama, giraffes have the defining feature in how extraordinarily long-necked they are. Even so, there's a majestic tilt to them simply because they seem so mild-mannered despite being so intimidating from the size factor.

But look at that face...

GIF courtesy of giphy

Those eyes! Those lashes! That laid-back attitude! I love it all!

While I can't adopt my own giraffe, people with a fondness for these mammals (like me!) can go over to the Giraffe Conservation Foundation and donate. The foundation exists to help efforts to save giraffes in Africa. Even though we can only look at them from afar, just knowing that these animals will be here for other generations to adore is a comfort.

And what would be the next option on my adoption list?

4. Otters

By Christina Victoria Craft on Unsplash

I hold the belief that otters are some of the most wholesome animals on earth. Even just watching them scamper about in videos makes me feel this warmth that few other animals can inspire in me (though my cats are a definite number one). It's a joy to watch them enjoy their best lives out in the wild.

Don't believe me? See for yourself.

While I wouldn't know the first thing about taking care of otters, I think they resonate with me because they just look cuddly. Yes, they have teeth and claws (though dogs and cats do too), but they just effuse this sense of being welcoming creatures. I wouldn't mind having a little backyard pond where they could play as much as they liked.

Like many critters, though, otters are in danger to a degree too. The International Otter Survival Fund exists specifically to address the low numbers of otters to be found in Europe and Asia. While we may not be able to have our own pond enclosures for otters, we can support the effort for these mammals to continue existing in parts of the world.

What other animal would I adopt if I had the chance?

3. Penguins

I don't know about you, but I fell in love with penguins when I saw Happy Feet back when the film first came out. Not familiar? Here's the main character, Mumble, as a youngling.

GIF courtesy of giphy

(I know. He's adorable.)

Though I do know animals shouldn't be judged by their animation counterparts, penguins have this aesthetic that just translates well to that medium. And what better way to get kids invested in the well-being of these creatures than to make them the stars in children's movies? It's brilliant!

But these animals do have real-life challenges too. They're not tap-dancing fiends ready to charm with a foxtrot. Penguins' very homes are in danger of disappearing with the reality of global warming and the threat it poses.

By Torsten Dederichs on Unsplash

Even so, there seem to be a lot of charities and funds dedicated to penguins. Penguins International offers an "Adopt a Penguin" option for its conservation efforts, making you the would-be benefactor to a "penguin in need." Where should I sign?

As for another animal I would adopt if I had the means and space (and not a trio of cats)...

2. Ferrets

By Steve Tsang on Unsplash

Ferrets aren't exactly endangered by any means (at least as far as I'm aware), but I have read accounts disparaging them simply because of their pungent smell and their "rodent-like" features.

Me? I find them endearing.

Ferrets seem to have personalities all their own, much like dogs and cats, and I have to wonder how it would be to have one of my very own. (But would a ferret mesh well with an established family of cats? The verdict's out on that one.)

Like most would-be pets, however, the ferret population does not always have the owners it needs. That's why organizations like the Greater Chicago Ferret Association exist to pair strays and ex-adoptees with new homes. If you're a ferret lover, you might want to consider donating to help the cause with ferrets who need loving homes to call their own.

But what animal would be my numero uno?

(DRUMROLL, PLEASE.)

By Alex Glebov on Unsplash

1. Foxes

Do you know how the Queen of England once had a pack of Corgis? I'd love to be like that too—but with foxes. Imagine me, strolling the green and wearing a little tiara as a flock of rust-colored kits tumble around me.

GIF courtesy of giphy

Foxes just have this very regal yet ethereal quality to them, especially with their ties to folklore in various cultures. For this reason, I've just always held foxes in high esteem. Also, it seems quite rare to spot them out in the open (at least going by this video, if you're interested in baby foxes and their habits). I've often felt that I would feel "charmed" in a sense to glimpse a fox out in the open yonder.

And? Foxes have wild conversations with each other.

I know it may be insane, but their yipping chatter sounds like animal giggles to me. If that's not something that's weird yet still charming, I don't know what it is.

Like the other animals I included on this list, there are also organizations and charities to help protect foxes around the world. For instance, you can "symbolically adopt" a red fox through the World Wildlife Fund. If you're a fox fan like me, maybe you might want to contribute to the efforts to keep the species going for years and years to come.

Yes, I basically love cute animals doing cute things—but, then again, doesn't everyone?

GIF courtesy of giphy

Did you enjoy this article? Please take a moment and leave a heart! You can also find more stories of all kinds over on my profile page. I also post regularly on Twitter if you want to talk writing craft or just about Vocal in general. Thank you for the support!

exotic pets
2

About the Creator

Jillian Spiridon

just another writer with too many cats

twitter: @jillianspiridon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.