Petlife logo

3rd March 2023

Thistle's turn

By Emily A DinwiddiePublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

Good morning, it’s the 3rd of March (or so Mistress tells us), I’m Thistle, I figure it’s my turn to do an accounting of our morning. Mistress is getting up earlier and earlier, I guess that’s down to me and Stirling, and the day getting lighter earlier, but that’s all good. My way of getting her up is to whine and chatter, which is a little more annoying than Stirling’s licking of Mistress’ hand. The walk up to the grassy area was the normal, but we walked closer to Mistress, I think she’s doing something different with the leads, it feels nicer. No challengers today, which is good, but we give the parents and children that pass by on their way to school some amusement by running around the grassy area. Mistress unhooked us both and threw the ball for me. I am just so obsessed with that blue ball, it’s different than the other one I had, but I like it, it seems to last longer. I’d really rather be herding sheep or cows, but until that day, I’ll be content (and annoying) with the ball. Mistress seems to have caught on to how to tire me out quicker as it didn’t take as long this time. Mistress called us both back to her, took our leads and hooked them onto her belt, putting the ball and toy away. After we did our business and she picked up the solid parts, we walked by the bin, she dropped it off and we walked around what she calls the short block, but that usually ends up with us at the big grassy area and the cage. It’s got a solid surface and bars all around it, but we go in there for safety. I must have run a little too hard as my paw is sore now and I’m limping just a bit. Mistress gave us our anti-allergy herbs, our breakfast, and some fresh rain water in our bowl to drink. It tastes so good compared to the water from what she calls the tap. Mistress then called us outside to wipe us down with the non-drinking rain water from the wading pool. She took care to check and rinse off my paws, as she usually does when I’ve hurt it. Now Stirling and I are off to snooze as she works on reading aloud. Bye for now! x

(Original: Guid mornin’, tis th’ 3rd o’ march (or sae mistress tells us), a’m thistle, ah figure tis mah caw tae dae an accounting o’ oor mornin’. Mistress is getting up earlier ‘n’ earlier, ah jalouse that’s doon tae me ‘n’ stirling, ‘n’ th’ day getting lighter earlier, bit that’s a’ guid. Mah wey o’ getting her up is tae whine ‘n’ blether, whilk is a bawherr mair annoying than stirling’s licking o’ mistress’ haun. Th’ donder up tae th’ grassy area wis th’ normal, bit we traivelt closer tae mistress, ah think she’s daein’ something different wi’ th’ leads, it feels nicer. Na challengers th’day, whilk is guid, bit we gie th’ parents ‘n’ bairns that bygae by oan thair wey tae schuil some amusement by running aroond th’ grassy area. Mistress unhooked us baith ‘n’ threw th’ baw fur me. A’m juist sae obsessed wi’ that blue baw, tis different than th’ ither yin ah hud, bit ah lik’ it, it seems tae lest langer. A’d pure ower be herding an aberdonian`s burd or coos, bit ’til that day, ah will be content (and annoying) wi’ th’ baw. Mistress seems tae hae caught oan tae howfur tae puggle me oot quicker as it didnae tak’ as lang this time. Mistress cried us baith back tae her, teuk oor leads ‘n’ hooked thaim onto her belt, puting th’ baw ‘n’ toy awa’. Efter we did oor business ‘n’ she picked up th’ solid bits, we traivelt by th’ buckit, she dropped it aff ‘n’ we traivelt aroond whit she calls th’ short block, bit that forordinar ends up wi’ us at th’ muckle grassy area ‘n’ th’ cage. Tis git a solid surface ‘n’ bars a’ aroond it, bit we gang in thare fur safety. Ah mist hae run a bawherr tae solid as mah paw is loupin noo ‘n’ a’m limping juist a bawherr. Mistress gave us oor anti-allergy herbs, oor breakfast, ‘n’ some fresh smirr cooncil juice in oor bowl tae dram. It tastes sae guid compared tae th’ cooncil juice fae whit she calls th’ tap. Mistress then cried us ootdoors tae dicht us doon wi’ th’ non-drinking smirr cooncil juice fae th’ wading pool. She teuk care tae check ‘n’ rinse aff mah paws, as she forordinar does whin a’ve hurt it. Noo stirling ‘n’ ah ur aff tae snooze as she wirks oan reading aloud. See ya later! x )

dog
Like

About the Creator

Emily A Dinwiddie

Am a 30+ year experienced script/screenplay/storyline writer. Writing is my passion. I write poetry when my Muse gives it. My guardian burned my creative writings in '85, but I kept going anyway.

My work is Copyrighted.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.