Men logo

We all have that man

In the honour of my dad

By FizzaPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
3

The story begins with:

A man coming home at mid-night.....

with a face covered with smile.....

and hiding the worries with style....

as a hero walking down the aisle....

She was sitting on a bench outside the ICU, deep down imagining her family enjoying a simple but joyful meal again and a nurse comes out to give her a chance. A chance to see the most charismatic man again, a chance to steal a glance of the most handsome man. So what you guessed, what did she saw,... yeah right, a face full of that smile again, even on a bed in ICU, a face full of smile. She entered and held that man's hand, so what did she hear? yes you guessed it right,.... 'Are you alright?'

Comforting, right? A man just hours after being shifted to ICU, welcomes you with a bright smile and asks if you are alright. Now you must not be wondering who is he..... who can he be except her Dad; a word made of just three letters but filled with all the love.

A hall full of pretty girls turning round to see someone, a girl in the prettiest dress, a girl walking down in a designer heal, a girl with a branded bag... but wait they didn't see one thing.

A man asking the nurse for discharge,

a man with eye surgery driving just after few hours,

a man with bandage on eye entering the shop,

a man chasing the shipping company car,

Did you see that man. Do you know him, we call him dad.

Yes, its him, making sure that her daughter wear the best on her welcome party, making sure that his comfort always comes after his family.

The doorman opens the door of a shop, three ladies enter and then comes a man. Everyone select what they want and each and every of their choice is praised by man. Every time any of the lady touch an item, the man repeats the same dialogue, 'Kindly pack these too'. And then, he drives the car all the way from luxurious brands to those small shops. What do you think, whose turn is it to shop? Yes, it is that man. Now the argument starts between them why coming to these shops and he ends it with a simple sentence, ' I like to shop from here'. Yes right, it sounded familiar to you. Because we all have that man, and we call him our dad.

What is the first word coming to your mind after listening to word Dad, yes I heard you, super hero it is. Most of us have that super hero at home, the most uncherished super heroes, the most under rated super heroes, and the most unrecognised super heroes. But what is more surprising they don't even bother if they are being thanked, if their efforts are being recognised or if they are being cherished and that makes them more of a super hero.

Me and my sister grew up under the umbrella of the most caring, the most loving man of the time and we call him dad. The very first lesson I learned from him is smile, a smile that brightens the worlds. Just yesterday, my landlady said to me that even in the hardest of the times I have seen you smile, and I told her that I learned it from a man, whom I call my dad. Hiding the deepest heart aches and enlightens the hearts of loved one with smile, is the best legacy my dad has ever given to me.

Me and my sister were never afraid of sharing the report card at home because we always knew there is man at home with the same dialogure again, 'I know you tried, let's put more effort next time'. This is the dialogue that made me to realise that it's the efforts that matter and the will to keep going. No matter what the result is, the result day was always celebrated because our dad knew that we tried.

Dad, today I want to tell you that I knew that you have been there for me from my first step to me riding the bike, you always cheered for me from failure to my success, I saw you pleading to people to give me one more chance, I have seen you hiding your wishes and heart aches, I have seen you hiding your worries with your smile, I know you prays for me day and night, I know that's what you are like. But must you know that your daughter is trying her best to follow your footsteps and to make you pride, to take care of you and your wife(my beloved mother).

In the honours of a man, who always smiles.

Fatherhood
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Wafa Masood11 months ago

    I literally cried my heart out. I really miss my dad and I'm dying to hear "ARE YOU ALRIGHT MY DAUGHTER"? LOVED YOUR WRITING ❣️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.