Men logo

Someday...

It's never too late to learn how to love myself, right?

By Alexander McEvoyPublished 3 months ago 9 min read
10
Someday...
Photo by Warren on Unsplash

"Someday,

I'll be

Big enough that you can't hit me."

This was a critical line in a song I heard in primary school during one of our anti-bullying/anti-abuse classes. The fact that we even need such classes is, honestly, kind of upsetting. But it has resonated with me for years.

Given my size and naturally powerful build, I reached that threshold pretty early on. I was big enough that they couldn't hit me, though a few still tried. But when they did, when I was attacked, the teachers would come down on me like the Hammer of Thor. So, my bully-inclined (this was not all of them) classmates changed tactics.

Knowing that, no matter what they did, I would be the only one to be punished - and knowing that they couldn't overpower me physically - they started to chip away me emotionally. I know I've talked about this before, and I'm sorry to anyone for whom this is redundant, but I just feel like venting.

Most of my teachers were firmly on my bullies' side in this conflict. They thought they were doing good in the world by punishing the big blue-eyed kid. And I'm not projecting that one, I was told repeatedly growing up that I deserved this treatment for the crime of being born as I was. What a lovely thing to instill in a child when they're not yet old enough to understand long division.

And, of course, the administration helped these bad actors along. When I was growing up, there was this idea that teachers could do no wrong. And if a student had a problem with one, then that student should be punished for lying because they took as axiomatic that teachers were angels, and any discontented students were the problem.

There's a Japanese saying that fits my experience perfectly, "the nail that stands out is hammered down."

Only most, you must understand. And only during the most critical formative years of my life. Starting in about grade 8, there was a huge tone shift. Most of the teachers started to be on my side, they saw my potential and wanted to help me achieve it. But by then, I was like a dog that has been kicked one too many times. Unable to comprehend that they wanted to show me kindness.

In a similar vein, I have always struggled with romance and other related intimate behaviour (to keep things PG). Though I have no proof of this, I think I developed this interest much earlier than my peers. By the end of grade 5, I wanted a girlfriend. I wanted to be loved, and I had several people I would have been happy to be with.

Naturally, those early attempts at trying to garner attention were clumsy and most often cringe-worthy. But I still tried. This opened a whole new avenue for abuse. I never did anything overt; we were always told about how to approach people we were interested in - friend-wise or romance-wise - so I never did anything so gauche as touching them or otherwise violating their consent. But I also received no affirmations. Ever.

Years ago, I read a book called Freakonomics. It was a very interesting read and it taught me some valuable lessons. Did you know that most professional athletes - according to the book - were born in the early months of the year? This is because children are grouped largely by birthyear and must compete together.

Since any gap in age when we're young has significant impacts on our physical and maturity development, so people born earlier are more developed. As a result, they experience a lot of early success that creates a positive feedback cycle: success, praise, enjoyment, participation, success, repeating.

The same is true in romance and intimacy, though less strictly defined by time. Early success leads to more comfort and more effort which frequently but not always leads to more success.

In my early forays into the confusing and scary world of romance, I only ever received more abuse. I was too tall, too fat, too ugly, too stupid. The girls I knew seemed to revel in their power to hurt me. Maybe I'm projecting, and I'm trying to avoid - as one of my best friends always tells me I do - 'purposely presenting as a victim.' But this is my experience and it's the only one I've ever known.

So, between 11 or so and 15 I never once got any attention with one exception. Early in grade 9 a girl said she liked my eyes, I tried to get to know her since that was the first compliment I had ever gotten from someone I wasn't related to at that age, but she avoided me like the plague after that first interaction. So, it was a nonstarter.

Then at 15 a girl actually pursued me. It was an amazing feeling. For the first time ever I felt wanted, desired, valued. But... well we never went further than kissing together, and she cheated on me several times. And I mean the full Monty of cheating, by the way. Being young and stupid, I forgave these 'indiscretions' because I genuinely believed she loved me. Maybe she did, I'll never know for sure.

But it was a toxic relationship. I'm told by friends with more experience that they all are at that age, I wouldn't know. So, when I finally worked up the courage to breakup with her, she tried to die while telling me that it was all my fault and it was a means of punishing me for being 'a bad boyfriend and bad person.'

Now, I knew that wasn't true. I knew that it wasn't even remotely close to the truth. But still, those words cut deep. Still passed the science test I had to take the next morning though... so that's a win.

After that, things never got quite that bad again. But they were also never good. I had one who chased me, then got bored and my friends all left with her. Not sure how that happened. While I was reeling from that, another one showed interest, but when I refused to buy her expensive things, she turned nasty. Turns out she had had a boyfriend the whole time and was trying to 'see how much damage I can do.'

So, I stopped trying. I fought down my every instinct and desire until people just assumed I had no interest at all. Ace/Aero. Oh how I wish that was true. I know that genuinely Ace/Aero people struggle, they face difficulties and traumas I'll never understand. But still, I think it would be nice to be that way. To never think or worry about romance or sex again.

But I've come to realize that such thoughts and ideations are toxic to me. Damaging to my health and my happiness. I can't just reject what and who I am, no matter what people do to me. I couldn't repress my size to make people stop hurting me, I could only grow into a person big enough that they couldn't hit. I was lucky to do that naturally, but my other problems aren't the kind of things that can be just grown out of.

Instead, I have to push myself to change. I need to accept what happened to me, and I need to remember and focus on the good times. Because 13 years after I first developed interest in girls, something positive happened.

We met on Bumble in late August 2022, became official in September, and I ended the relationship in June 2023. She was wonderful, kind, funny, smart, and the most caring person I've ever met. Everything a person could want in a relationship, sadly, my feelings never evolved past and deep and passionate liking while hers moved into capital L Love.

Ruminating on it at the time, I realized that my feelings had not advanced at all since our relationship really found its feet. I realized that they had even started to fade slightly. So, I broke it off. A hard thing to do, I wrote a poem on my feelings called 'Goodbye,' but it was the right thing to do.

Since then, my friends have aske dme a million times why I never dated or hooked up in high school or university. They never believe my answer that 'the only thing in my way was the consent of others.' And frequently interpose their own ideas, telling me that I'm wrong and I chose not to be with anyone. Maybe that's true.

Maybe they just got the early and critical validation that I did not and so they can no more understand my story than I can comprehend theirs. We are, all of us, different people who led different lives. Though they have all had their share, or in some cases a significantly larger share than any person should, of trauma and heartbreak, they also had positives. Positives I never did during their developmental years.

These days, I'm on a mission to improve everything about myself that I can. I'm trying to learn how to love myself. Trying to learn to trust people. Trying to learn how to put myself out there and live up to the potential that everyone around me now sees in me. It's hard. Sometimes, like today, it seems impossibly hard. It seems as though I have nothing that anyone could want.

Sometimes, the scared, wounded child I was creeps back into my mind and whispers that, just like before, they are only waiting until the right time to hurt me. After all, it's happened before much more than anything positive did, why should this time be any different? Except we can't plot human behaviour logically, can we?

We have no way of knowing how people are going to turn out or behave if we try to use our previous experience as a guide. Some things we can say, if they display familiar toxic traits, then avoid them. But if they've never been anything but kind to you? Why not trust them? We cannot live without it after all. No man is an island.

And even though I'll never be fully safe. Even though I'll never grow so much as to be protected from every possible line of attack, I can grow into someone stronger. I can grow into a person that is willing to accept the love offered, and cautious enough to protect myself from bad actors.

Because someday I'll be big enough that they can't hurt me.

-0-

To anyone who read this whole ramble, thank you. I'm sorry if this was depressing at all. Generally speaking, I don't like talking about myself because why would anyone care? But I wanted to get this off my chest, since it's been a tough go today and I've been really ruminating on everything discussed here.

I genuinely hope you all have a wonderful day, and remember, it costs nothing to be either kind or cruel. But the latter can damage people so deeply that they spend have to spend years trying to get over it and then rant about it on Vocal lol.

Your earnest Canadian,

Alex

WisdomIssuesHealthGeneralEmpowermentCONTENT WARNING
10

About the Creator

Alexander McEvoy

Writing has been a hobby of mine for years, so I'm just thrilled to be here! As for me, I love writing, dogs, and travel (only 1 continent left! Australia-.-)

I hope you enjoy what you read and I can't wait to see your creations :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Naomi Gold3 months ago

    There’s honestly so much I want to say in response to this, but I don’t want to take away from what you said. I’ve thought about your original essay on being bullied often. The same thing happened to me in childhood, but also here on Vocal. In terms of visibility, I stand above many like a giant. I guess that’s why the Vocal staff allowed it to go on. Nobody believes you can bully someone “bigger” than you. I will say it disappointed me to see you praise an antisemitic poem written about me by the ringleader of my brutal harassment on this site. I get that you’re “friends” with that person (as much as we can be friends with a total stranger we know nothing about, other than whatever they choose to tell us, which may be utter lies). But I just expected you to understand better than anyone why it’s not okay.

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    You couldn't help being the nail that stood out, but they could have done something about being the hammer. You have every right to feel stuff about it all, and vent those feelings. Just choose not to live there ❤

  • Sara Wilson3 months ago

    It's good to get things off your chest. I used to journal for that reason, but people would often find my stuff and read it without my permission and get upset if I spoke "badly" about them. So, I just started putting my thoughts right out in to the open for everyone to read lol. I tell them, if they want me to speak kindly about them, then they should act accordingly. It's crazy how rude the world can be without ever wanting to acknowledge it. Some of the people you speak of in here remind me a lot of people I have also dealt with- including teachers. I remember a boy in elementary school (5th grade) his name was Brandon. I didn't like him, but I actually told a friend of mine I thought he had really nice eyes. They were blue with some green in them. Well, that friend went and told him what I said as well as I had a crush on him- which was a lie. Anyways, he got overly excited because he thought I was "out of his league" and didn't believe her- so she brought him over and confronted me about the entire situation. I was such a shy person back then (kinda still am if I'm being honest) that I couldn't deny the crush. Even though I knew it wasn't true. So somehow, we became "boyfriend and girlfriend". I tried to take on the role of girlfriend and we carried our "relationship" into the 6th grade. I remember I wrote him a "love letter" on a card for Valentine's Day and bought him some stuff. He opened it in front of a bunch of his friends- gave them the candy I got him, threw the stuffed animal away, and opened up the card- laughed and tore it in half, then threw it on the ground. I was so embarrassed. That day I learned that I would NEVER have a boyfriend that I didn't absolutely feel something for. It didn't work out though- because at 15, I made the same mistake with another loser lol. Sometimes lessons come in the form of people, so even the crappy ones teach us something. I'm sorry for the things you experienced, but I am 1000 percent sure all of those things just make good people better... and the miserable ones will always be miserable.

  • Always good to vent at times. Very tough how some people seem to face many rough patches, through no fault of their own and others sail through calm waters… typically they don’t have the same depth of character in the long run though. Hope you are encouraged by fellow Vocal writers’ responses to your honest writing.

  • Please Alex, you never ever have to apologise for needing to vent. You can always vent here, anytime you want! That Japanese saying about the nail that stands out gets hammered on hit me so hard. It felt so relatable and made so much sense. I'm so sorry for how you were treated by all those people especially the girl that cheated on you and the one that wanted expensive gifts. So sorry you had end your relationship from Bumble as well. I'm so glad you're focusing on self love now. It's always better to be alone than to be either in a relationship or friends with people who don't see our value. You don't need people who don't need you! Don't cross oceans for people who won't cross puddles for you! So yes, just wanna let you know again that you can always vent here. If anyone says anything against you, let me know. I'll end them!! Also, just so you know, Naveed is an AI fraud. He only posts either AI-Generated comments or vague general comments like the one below on everyone's posts without reading our stuff

  • Mackenzie Davis3 months ago

    Wow. I just read your first one and now the sequel has become another tragic and painful gut punch to read. 😢 (Also, are the people in your area like the lowest of the low, or what? I'm baffled by these villains.) Your resilience is a thing of beauty. I greatly admire it, and you. I'm so glad to read that you're working on loving yourself; that truly is the only way to heal from the horrible hurt that you've experienced. It'll take time, but I also know that it's already gotten better (per one of the comments you left on my story) so hooray for that! Here's to seeing it get even miles and miles better this year. I'll be cheering you on, alongside Donna and all the rest of your friends here on Vocal, and off the platform, as I know you have some great people in your life, from what you've said in our conversations.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)3 months ago

    Alex... My heart aches for you. No matter how many times you tell this tough tale of your past I never get tired of reading it. I'm sorry for how much hurt you feel and have experienced but if it at all helps, I can see now why you are so strong. I'm proud to call you my friend and I am proud of YOU for coming out the other side of this. I hope writing this allowed you to process and feel the feelings you needed. I am so excited to watch you continue to grow not only as an author but as a person that has learned to love himself! I am all in on being here for this journey for you and can't wait to continue to cheer you on!! Good luck win your journey my friend and please know that you are not alone!! 💚

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.