Men logo

My Wife Told Me There's a Way to Park For Free at Golf Courses and Breweries For Free

I figured there was a catch but discovered this is a good deal!

By Brenda MahlerPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 4 min read
1
Image a selfie taken by the author

I live by the philosophies, "Read the small print, and "If it seems to good to be true, it probably is." So I often doubt before accepting new ideas. When Brenda first suggested we get a Harvest Host Membership, I figured it was easier to agree than argue. We signed up, but I made her add the golf stays to our membership. If we were going to do this I should get something out of the deal.

In the back of my mind I questioned this deal - actually most of my questions were in the front of my mind. Eventually, I even got brave enough to speak them aloud. My wife say I didn't ask questions; I just complained. I stated negatively why I thought a Harvest Host membership would be a bad idea. 

Parking will be a nightmare!

Well, we have had to drive down gravel driveways a couple of times but never to far, but parking has never been a problem. In fact, since we are usually the only RV at the site, there is plenty of room to turn around and space is not a problem. 

At Schneiter's Bluff Golf Course, we drove to the end of the parking lot to the large gravel area where the maintenance equipment is stored and parked beside the course. Loved the view. 

My wife took this picture of where we parked at Schneiter's Bluff Golf Course.

At Pal's Brewery there was space for several RV's to park comfortable and the beer was exceptional. I had a pumpkin ale to toast the fall colors. When we sat on their patio, they even let me use my Bug-A-Salt gun to shoot flies while we drank our beer.

Picture taken by the wife. I think she is trying to prove a point.

There will be no place for the dogs to run!

To be honest now-a-days most RV parks don't have dog parks and require that animals be on a leash. Harvest Host locations often have leash requirements, but we have found some that are dog friendly. Pal's Brewery welcomed dogs to play in the grass. 

At Heritage Wine Cellars, they requested dogs remain on a leash but they welcomed them on the deck. In the evening, we walked behind the winery and strolled through a cemetery to stretch our legs and exercise the pups.

Brenda captured this cool shot from the deck of the winery.

They are going to try to get money out of us one way or another!

I got this one right but discovered I liked the result. When we stay at a Harvest Host, they request a purchase be made to support their business. So we choose to stay at places we would spend money anyways, this is not a problem. Our evenings have resulted in some new discoveries and we have met some great folks.

Back at Pal's Brewery, Brenda fell in love with the blackberry beer, and I always love it when she loosens up a little. At the winery, they offered free samples of six different types of wine. We both loved the fuzzy peach and left with a bottle to enjoy later on our trip. Sometimes we will eat a meal, and it is never an imposition to golf a round. 

In a couple of days we will stay at Mount Washington Cog Railway where we plan to take a trip up the mountain. The next day we park at Bragg Farm Sugar House which sounds like I will be rewarded with some sweets. What's not to like? 

There are no hookups so we will be uncomfortable!

I got her on this one because there is no electrical or water available. Though this has not been a problem because our holding tanks carry enough water to last us a couple days. The generator is available though so we haven't need to turn it one because the inverter is working great.

We do plan to stay at Harvest Host sites when the weather is cooler when we want to leave the dogs in the motorhome for awhile. Leaving them in the heat without air conditioning would never be tolerated by my wife - or me but don't tell her I said that. Also, by arranging to stay at HH on days that involve more time on the road, its a win-win because once we arrive, I don't want to be dragged around town to look at stores.

My objections for not renewing our membership with Harvest Host have always been met with logical answers so I've stopped complaining. In fact, I've started recommending them because from my experience, they have a lot to offer RVers.

  • Quieter than a bustling RV park
  • No dogs walking back and forth in front of our rig tormenting our dogs
  • I get to eat something other than my wife's cooking
  • Golf
  • Beer and wine
  • And when we pull in I don't have to hook anything up. Just set up the chairs and relax.

If you wish to know where we end up each day during our journey, follow us on RVing in Retirement on Facebook - subscribe to our stories on Vocal Media - or join our blog on Medium, RVing in Retirement.

GeneralLifestyle
1

About the Creator

Brenda Mahler

Travel

Writing Lessons

Memoirs

Poetry

Books AVAILABLE ON AMAZON.

* Lockers Speak: Voices from America's Youth

* Understanding the Power Not Yet shares Kari’s story following a stroke at 33.

* Live a Satisfying Life By Doing it Doggy Style explains how humans can life to the fullest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.