Marriage logo

What does "I Love You," mean?

A spontaneous thought.

By Miguel A. MorenoPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

One of the most important people in my life asked me a question this morning. . . "What does, 'I Love You' mean?" I had never heard this question before. Never heard it, never read it, never even crossed my mind, let alone ever had to explain it. My first thought was about how this phrase has been used throughout history, in plays, books, short stories, long stories, novels, films letters. . . Telegraphs?

. . .

And now-a-days, text messages, e-mails, calls etc. . . It made me wonder how humans evolved from elderly communication methods such as morse codes or letters, to phone/video calls giving us the ability to hear/see each other's voices/faces over long distances, but then we regressed to the simple text message communication method. Further distancing each other from human interaction. In someway devaluating the meaning of this archaic phrase. "I Love You." Although not being related in any manner to a way of answering this question it all dashed through my mind within a fraction of a second. . .

-"Love is the one thing that we're capable of perceiving that transcends dimensions of time and space." - Dr. Brand (Anne Hathaway), Interstellar, Christopher Nolan and Jonathan Nolan, 2014. [Amazing Movie!]

I also pondered at the actual question and how to answer it. I realized that the phrase "I Love You," has different meanings for many different people. It also holds different values to and for everyone. Some use it as a form of attracting a partner. Some never use that phrase. Some are able to chuck that phrase around to anyone that crosses their life path. In spite of that, I believe that only a very selected few, (basing my hypothesis on the world population) are able to genuinely portray those words. Through eyes and mouth. Through touch and caress. Through actions and thoughts. At a spiritual level, through unexplainable ways that "transcend dimensions of time and space." Only very selected few know what value that phrase holds and are able to direct its power in the direction that they choose. For example, the target I chose was my house plant. I've repeated that phrase to it and it's been growing fruitfully. All of this dashed through my mind within a fraction of a second. . .

Finally, the moment to answer this question had arrived. After merely half a second of staring this person in the eyes. I did not want her to think that I was stalling in anyway, it was just that the question had caught me off-guard. I knew that the phrase did have meaning and value to me, but until then I had never given it any thought. . . To me, for me, and through me. The phrase "I Love You," is a conglomeration of many, many, many experiences, thoughts, feelings, memories and learning. . . Growing. Whether positive or negative, everything falls under this phrase. If it has been a positive experience, thought, feeling or memory, due to this experience, thought, feeling or memory, I am able to speak this phrase to you. Towards you. If it has been a negative experience, thought, feeling or memory, despite this, I am still able to direct this phrase to you. Towards you.

The phrase, "I Love You," means that you are my favorite everything. You are my favorite scent. You are my favorite touch, my favorite person. In the case of my plant, it means that he/she is my favorite plant, (I only have one plant.) It means that there are many other people in this world coexisting simultaneously. However, you are the only one that I want to comprehend and understand. You are the only plant that I want to water and watch grow from the closest distance. It means that there are many universes within other people, but yours is the only one I want to navigate. It means that I would like to travel and explore YOUR universe and fill it with flowers and colors. . . By your side. (No other universes are merely as attractive or warm or cozy as yours) The phrase I love you means that there are other pairs of eyes through which to stare, but yours are the only ones that I want to peer and cautiously glare into. It means that many people can cause me pain but yours is the only pain that helps me learn and grow. That your hands have the only fingers that can comfortably interlace with mine. It means that you are the only person to which I want to present myself the way I truly am and be completely vulnerable next to. The only person with an invitation inside my mind and inside my universe.

The phrase "I Love You," means that you are unique in every way, and that only you hold a single space within my thoughts and feelings. You are the one that holds the only vacant spot in my existence's "teammate" slot. It means that you are the only person who can help me power my spaceship, and that you are the only one who I would imagine/allow to occupy the passenger seat.

The phrase "I Love You," means just that. . . I Love YOU.

proposal
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.