Marriage logo

The View from here

Take the long road don’t go home

By Chacha JaramilloPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
The View from here
Photo by Jairph on Unsplash

As I sat in front of my computer pen in my mouth and glasses on, I noticed there was a bunch of emails coming in. Maybe time to get into business - I thought. The long weekend was approaching, and my need for drive far to a magical place was taking form. Gary and I, both enjoyed traveling down south to explore the West Coast of California, take the dogs for a walk, Gary wind surfing. I always loved to take with me a sketch book and some art supplies for quick sketching of the beautiful scenery this side of the world had.

It has been a year and 8 months since we last met. Then we both had to travel overseas, Gary to music gigs and myself to participate at art galleries to present my works of art. I was invited to participate, to which I could not denied. My works got featured in a very important magazine, offers started to pop up requesting more of my art pieces to be taking participation in more art galleries.

Gary got some time off, and agreed to go on the next long weekend, just after his birthday. He loved my paintings as well, so I decided to paint about his favourite place - Carmel Beach - Carmel by-the-sea, his favourite beach, the wide expanse of sparkling white sand, the deep blue sea, and the windblown Monterey cypress trees give this beach a distinctive appearance that's unique to the Northern California coastline.

His first time going to that beach got him mesmerized. Of course he says, you have to see the night sky, where the starry nights look like diamonds in the sky and the moon so clear and bright, it makes you think you are in one of those fantasy movies.

Based on his comments and descriptions, I decided to put his thoughts on my canvas. I carefully packed the new paint and securely placed it at the back of his blue (same as his beautiful) eyes), FJ Cruiser. The dogs hopped in the blue two tone FJ Cruiser and voila,pp we were all on our way to that magical place.

Gary loves to go camping, so he had customized the roof top of his FJ Cruiser to accommodate a camping tent. That became our 2nd house for our adventure trips.

I’m Food? Yes fishing was good there, so I took part on the cooking. Got some extras for the dogs. Done.

I carefully packed a red velvet cake- his fave and a candle for him to blow and make wishes before blowing the candle.

We were still young, we both loved nature and scape from the busy chaotic world.

When we arrived, a couple of hours before sunset, I could understand his mesmerizing comments.

The view from here was mesmerizing, the sun, huge perfect round, full of life, slowly disappeared in the horizon, giving the moon and stars an opportunity to show off their beauty. The night was so clear, we could literally see the Milky Way. Every now and then, the scenery would get disturbed by a commercial flying plane or a shooting star. I closed my eyes and made a wish. I noticed Gary did too.

I giggle.

Time came to present dessert, and his birthday gift. I told him to cover his eyes, to what he followed.

I said - ok open your eyes now.

Surprise!

He looked surprised, his bright blue eyes opened

and looked at the paint and smiled and asked; have you been to this beach before?

I said no, this was my first time. I just did the paint from the mesmerizing descriptions you told me. Gary hugged me thanking me for the gift.

Oh man he gives huge strong hugs.

He said after we hugged- you know today is my birthday. Thanks for coming today and be a part of this wonderful trip.

You’re very welcome I responded.

I’m glad you like it.

There was a moment of peace. It seemed that the waves stopped waiting for the next move to do.

We were used to travel together and share the same tent. Gary hugged me and said - you know, we have been traveling together many times. Which we enjoyed very much. Every time I was far on my trips I thought nothing but you. I noticed that there was something in you that made me miss you and wanting to see you more often. Many nights loosing my sleep made me missed you more. I realized I need you. My days and nights were not complete if I didn’t see you.

Gary says- I’ve got something for you from my last trip. Hope you enjoy it.

This little box carefully wrapped caught my attention. The moon for some time kept shining for us, setting up a romantic environment. Gary goes; don’t be shy, go ahead open it.

To which I followed.

I opened the little suspicious box, the moon seemed to bright at its most revealing the magic the suspicious gift had.

It was a ring.

I was shocked, Gary looked at me, waiting for an answer. I looked back at him, and said; yes of course.

Gary hold my hand to put the ring on and kissed me. I thought of nothing, just wanted to enjoy that kiss I was many times expected from him. He stopped and looked at me directly into my eyes, like trying to find a reason why this was happening to him, just right now, at the beach with a beautiful view we could see from here, under a beautiful night sky, accompanied by a beautiful full moon, bright stars and soft waves breaking down when hit shore.

The view from here was amazing, a starry night, a stunning moon and of course the lovely smile of the man I was to share the rest of my life with.

At the end of the year the wedding was planned, at the beach were we met, under a mesmerizing black starry sky, where the mesmerizing view from here made two hearts stay together as one.

Oh - I forgot to mention- our dogs Scout and Sally made a fantastic entrance. They got trained to bring the wedding rings to us.

And they did a great job!

proposal
1

About the Creator

Chacha Jaramillo

Nature, music and great food lover. Dreaming of having a blog to help people overcome life’s challenges. Born Latin-Chinese, my stories relate how resilience helps you overcome life’s obstacles.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.