Marriage logo

The Hubby Said

Why does it take women so long to say everything?

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2
The Hubby Said
Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

I just had something come up that I wanted to tell my hubby and after I said it, he said, “Why does it take women so long to say everything?”

A friend of mine said, “I thought it was just my husband. Even husbands that talk more than many others will ask that question. Unless of course, they are looking for favors. Then they can be very attentive!”

Yes, I said, when you are first dating, you wonder if they were put on earth to be your friendly listener for life. It definitely can change once they have caught you though!

She said, “I can tell when my husband misses me as he is so attentive and doesn’t just want to hear what I want to tell him, but he wants more than I intend to tell him.”

And this is what came up for me — I was so surprised that I missed something I thought was very important. I wanted to share it with the hubby. Mistake.

I said, I was just in my bank account, and saw a check for $300 deposited recently. I didn’t think I had gotten a check for 300 from anyone, so I investigated, and it was from Peggy.

I thought she was taking off the Tupperware I bought from her, but apparently, she didn’t. I just stuck the check in my purse without looking at it and when I deposited it, I just signed the back and gave it to the clerk, again without looking at it or the receipt.

So, she didn’t get paid for her Tupperware. Now I have to call her and apologize for not paying for the Tupperware. And I said a few more things.

That is when he said, “I don’t know why women have to say so much when they could just say a few words.” He is always in front of the television while in the house, so I suppose I interrupted what he was watching.

I then said, well, what would you suggest I say? He said, “How about, Peggy didn’t take the price of Tupperware off the check she gave me, and I have to get that straightened out with her now.”

Sometimes he says, “Can this wait, I am in the middle of something?” I say it won’t take long. And he says, “Everything can and most often does turn into a story!” I say I would have been done telling you by now. He says, “Okay, go ahead.”

I say, too late as I forgot what I was going to tell you now!!

I haven’t but I like to teach him to listen when I ask the first time, so if it is super important, I will tell him later.

I have been thinking about this episode all morning and decided that this could be one or more of several things. What do you think?

1. Is it that my husband is not Native American, but he was raised on a reservation with Native American friends? There is less talking going on with Native American people than with others. Especially if they don’t know you.

2. Television is more important than listening to your wife?

3. Women do talk too much?

4. The guys only listen closely, like they are interested when they want something in return?

I will usually have the hubby read what I write about him before publication and I had him read this to point 4. I said that he could be helpful and add a few other points or comments that may have occurred to him while reading. I told him I wanted it to be just about 50 words more.

He said, “It is number 3!” Then when I said, I don’t want to know what you think about those choices. And he said, “Of course, you don’t. But that is my contribution to this story!” Then he said, “I have no doubt you can easily write another 50 words! No problem!”

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

First published by Everything Fun on Medium

grooms
2

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Britt Blomster about a year ago

    Wonderful piece! Communication is key!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.