Marriage logo

So, cousin,” said the cheerful

So, cousin,” said the cheerful

By YouTHPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

So, cousin,” said the cheerfulSo, cousin,” said the cheerful voice of Richard to Ada behind me. We ‟ ‟

are never to get out of Chancery! We have come by another way to our

place of meeting yesterday, and—by the Great Seal, here’s the old lady

again!”

Truly, there she was, immediately in front of us, curtsying, and

smiling, and saying with her yesterday’s air of patronage, The wards in ‟

Jarndyce! Ve-ry happy, I am sure!”

‟You are out early, ma’am,” said I as she curtsied to me.

‟Ye-es! I usually walk here early. Before the court sits. It’s retired. I

collect my thoughts here for the business of the day,” said the old lady

mincingly. The business of the day requires a great deal of thought. ‟

Chancery justice is so ve-ry difficult to follow.”

‟Who’s this, Miss Summerson?” whispered Miss Jellyby, drawing my

arm tighter through her own.

The little old lady’s hearing was remarkably quick. She answered for

herself directly.

‟A suitor, my child. At your service. I have the honour to attend court

regularly. With my documents. Have I the pleasure of addressing

another of the youthful parties in Jarndyce?” said the old lady, recovering

herself, with her head on one side, from a very low curtsy.

Richard, anxious to atone for his thoughtlessness of yesterday, goodnaturedly explained that Miss Jellyby was not connected with the suit.

Ha!” said the old lady. She does not expect a judgment? She will still ‟ ‟

grow old. But not so old. Oh, dear, no! This is the garden of Lincoln’s

Inn. I call it my garden. It is quite a bower in the summer-time. Where

the birds sing melodiously. I pass the greater part of the long vacation

here. In contemplation. You find the long vacation exceedingly long,

don’t you?”

We said yes, as she seemed to expect us to say so.

‟When the leaves are falling from the trees and there are no more

flowers in bloom to make up into nosegays for the Lord Chancellor’s voice of Richard to Ada behind me. We ‟ ‟

are never to get out of Chancery! We have come by another way to our

place of meeting yesterday, and—by the Great Seal, here’s the old lady

again!”

Truly, there she was, immediately in front of us, curtsying, and

smiling, and saying with her yesterday’s air of patronage, The wards in ‟

Jarndyce! Ve-ry happy, I am sure!”

‟You are out early, ma’am,” said I as she curtsied to me.

‟Ye-es! I usually walk here early. Before the court sits. It’s retired. I

collect my thoughts here for the business of the day,” said the old lady

mincingly. The business of the day requires a great deal of thought. ‟

Chancery justice is so ve-ry difficult to follow.”

‟Who’s this, Miss Summerson?” whispered Miss Jellyby, drawing my

arm tighter through her own.

The little old lady’s hearing was remarkably quick. She answered for

herself directly.

‟A suitor, my child. At your service. I have the honour to attend court

regularly. With my documents. Have I the pleasure of addressing

another of the youthful parties in Jarndyce?” said the old lady, recovering

herself, with her head on one side, from a very low curtsy.

Richard, anxious to atone for his thoughtlessness of yesterday, goodnaturedly explained that Miss Jellyby was not connected with the suit.

Ha!” said the old lady. She does not expect a judgment? She will still ‟ ‟

grow old. But not so old. Oh, dear, no! This is the garden of Lincoln’s

Inn. I call it my garden. It is quite a bower in the summer-time. Where

the birds sing melodiously. I pass the greater part of the long vacation

here. In contemplation. You find the long vacation exceedingly long,

don’t you?”

We said yes, as she seemed to expect us to say so.

‟When the leaves are falling from the trees and there are no more

flowers in bloom to make up into nosegays for the Lord Chancellor’s

gifts and registry
Like

About the Creator

YouTH

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

YouTH is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.