Marriage logo

Nine lives to die

maybe not

By Masil GPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like

Honestly, I don't want to spend another $35.00 on this website to meet my future husband. I was married and didn't last or have the enchanted adventure as I expected. Poor little Cinderella.

Lulu can't stop laughing, and everything I said made her laugh louder and louder.

With my excellent luck I will find another handsome man like the last one but this time perhaps on the other side of the planet. The last one was only 2 hours away by car. He had a hard time making an effort to come to visit me. And when he did, we had a splendid and romantic evening, candle lights, great meals, great conversation a glass of Merlot in our hands.

He took me home, gave a kiss on my forehead, and I never see him again,

Lu, please stop laughing this is a really serious matter. Did I told you that I saw a black cat and I freak out, Jess was with me and I told her that a black cat is a sign of bad luck, as a Christian I don't suppose to believe in these things! She gave me a speech, about black cats, It's his fault to be black? why don't you think of it as a beautiful animal?... It only matters if the cat crosses your path? or is also bad luck if on a window sill, and you spot it from a sidewalk? what about if the cat is on a roof? is that also a strike of bad luck?

A few hours later Jess and I, we spot another black cat, but I mentioned to her that this one has white shoes, Jess almost fell off to the ground, and this time she can't stop laughing.

I forgot to tell you, I left my Crown next to my bed, when I got the umbrella from behind the door, I didn't look around, the rain was impetuous as usual in the month of August. I remembered it at the airport. But I thought, It's fine, my new Prince will get me a new one. Yes, my dear, the one I got from my ex-husband was made of thorns. My head still hurts.

Yes ok, I'll pay the $35.00 and I'll let you know. My future husband is out there, somewhere not too far from my dreams, I'm positive, but remember I can get a nice pair of Sperrys with that money. Please stop laughing, enough, because you have 7 years already living with your amazing magazine cover husband and you meet him online you believe I should give it a second try.

You will own me dinner and dessert if after 30 days I can't find a potential candidate. To repair my broken heart, now I'm the one laughing, I love you, my friend, we'll keep chatting and next time maybe about a wedding. Lu and I laughing, I was almost in tears.

I hang up, and I had a sour flavor in my mouth, the incredible, incredible color of his emerald green eyes came back to my memory and the strong feeling of his arms around me when he kissed me. All gave me a sensation of hope, not him, he is too far away, by my Prince is near and will help me forget all these painful memories. The problem was all the time we spend calling and texting each other. Can I call this feeling love, This time will be more physical, more tangible.

Uhhh I want my money back, this is insane, this guy obviously is lying, and this one, oh no a picture with 40 pounds, and 40 years less, where is honesty, oh yes at the supermarket, that cute little juice box HONESTY, is the only honesty we can find nowadays.

Is ok for tonite, I'm going to bed, I need to rest, in 10 days the website will expire and maybe a miracle will make me find a wonderful man.I can't believe I'm being alone for all these years, (brushing my teeth) and thinking) what I'm being thinking, me dating at this age, old guys likes young girls and young guys like young girls. Who will choose a woman at 48 and with 3 kids? Have to be a really nice guy or a crazy one.

Good night Planet...!

Ups I forgot to check the web, only when I see a nice old couple holding hands is when I want it for me.

The hours at work, the patients, the phones, the schedules, my schedules, the traffic, my errands, honestly I don't have time for too many activities, especially the fun ones.

When was the last time I went to the movies, without children, when was the last time I sat in a restaurant without worrying about noise or crying or spills? When was the last time a man hold my hand or kissed me?

I keep thinking that living alone is better or alone I'm happy. My happiness is not with a man. But I have that insolent desire of having someone to talk to, and to laugh, to communicate with. To share everything with. I'm doing the right thing or I should stop right now and turn this computer off...

Saturday, I love Saturdays, I'm going out, I'll ride my bike at least 5 miles and I'll be feeling very strong and with a great sense of relief, from all this hectic past week, the day is perfect, Spring in New England is so pretty.

I feel renewed, I need to concentrate on other things, maybe if I volunteer or I start a new hobby or to join a book club. Forget about men. I'm strong, I don't need any more headaches.

Someone favorite me? another gross guy sending messages to tell me how beautiful I am, or requesting my phone number because his account is about to expire.

Or maybe is my Prince...let's see, Ummm nice picture, I don't like a full bear but this guy looks clean and fine. Green eyes? really, this is crazy, let's say Hello to Mr. SCpr62...what kind of name is it?

Lulu, hello my dear friend, I found a real gentleman, a Prince, yes a British Knight, stop laughing and listen, he is coming Saturday, he asks me out on a date, no I'm not worried about anything, I don't think he is lying. He seems to be honest. He sounds honest, now we are communicating by email, his account expired, and mine also. No, no I'm not paying any more money.

I'm going to meet this gentleman and I hope he is a real gentleman.

7 pm doorbell ringing...

6 years later.

Lulu, too many things happened, half of them I didn't tell you.

The Court case is closed, he got arrested, a violation of Court Orders. No, I don't know anything about him for almost 10 months. Since we got a divorce. I can't believe how my life changed. I thought I was getting married to be with a real man forever, I know marriage can be very difficult and challenging.

Lulu, last weekend I drove 2 hours, I went to see him. Yes him I had six years without seeing him but we talk from time to time. about anything, I never told him I got married. And I never told him I am a widow. But I sat with him to talk for almost 6 hours, we kissed and hug each other with so much, love.

He asked me to go to see him and I did, I told him before I got in the car that I don't look the same, he told me, Me neither, and we start laughing.

We kissed like never before, he told me how excited the moment made him feel. I was so confident and relaxed, his business is a gorgeous place, everything is modern and with so much class. I got there exactly at 5:02, The time that he told me 5 pm. I was so happy to see him and those incredible emerald green eyes and that smile that used to make me smile also.

He told me, the distance was the reason, for me was more than that, my job, my children, my shitty life, I told him everything, we got in his car to the near restaurant and order to go, we eat cheeseburges and He opened a bottle of Merlot, not any brand, the Best one, I told him about the time I almost die on the beach, the surgeries I had, my career changes, my life changes, How I overcome so many obstacles, my children, grown-ups the three of them now, he remember them as kids, we smile, we giggle, we laugh like mad people, we cried together, I told him about my difficult divorce, he asked me for the British Knight, I told him a lot, he understood all, to get married to an alcoholic is a great deal and a bad one, I survived. I told him about the Nine Times I took him to Er, to rehab, to counseling, I fell, I did, as a partner, but he told me it wasn't my fault.

He told me everything about him growing up, his life adventures, the things he likes, he can't stand Country music, we listen to few songs from his favorite collection, he is very humble, kind and a sensitive man, he never lies to me you know he is a widower for almost 20 years. He is my best friend.

On the wedding day, we left from the reception, leaving behind 200 hundred guests and also wearing my wedding gown, sitting in front of the ambulance, and the paramedics trying to revive him, 2 miles before we got to the Hospital the driver told me, he is back, he is alive. So many times I had to leave work to go home or to a hospital to be with him, with all the anxiety, pain, and sorrow, like a cat, he had 9 lives to live or to die, only God knows.

I told him, I'm free, I'm alive, I'm strong, and I smiling and I'm moving near you.

He looked at me with those incredible green eyes, and serve me another glass of Merlot, he kissed me again and again and told me, that he loves me, I raise my glass, and I told him "For life because guide me to you again" and is when he put his glass of Merlot down on a table, and on his knee he looked at me, and said, Will, you marry me"

proposal
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.