Marriage logo

I Want to Be Someone’s Best Man at a Wedding Just One Time

Then I will know I’ve made it, and our friendship will never ever be torn apart.

By Noah NelsonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
I Want to Be Someone’s Best Man at a Wedding Just One Time
Photo by Kats Weil on Unsplash

I love weddings.

I mean, who doesn’t, right? It’s a time for all of us to dress nice, eat free food, do a little dancing and come home with some of our favorite memories.

We have all been to at least one wedding before now. If you haven’t, then you are missing out big time. Nevertheless, one part of it all is always my favorite.

The Best Man’s speech.

When the Maid of Honor speaks about her friend, she always ends up crying and hugging the bride soon after. It looks like it was staged for a show on TLC.

But the Best Man’s speech is the best. No pun intended.

Normally, the man tells a funny story about the groom, has the whole room rolling on the floor with laughter, and proceeds to finish with the best joke. Sometimes he’s sentimental but not really.

Maybe that’s why it’s my favorite part.

Anyway, the Best Man always seems like he’s having a blast giving that speech. He’s doing so to his best buddy, the groom.

I want to be able to do this one day. Then I will know I have made it as a friend.

I Can’t Wait to Do This Too

Over the years, I’ve been friends with a lot of guys. Whether from sports, band, a club or anything else, I’ve always had at least one guy friend.

We become close for a while. Or sometimes, we just know one another through our club or sport and only talk about that and nothing else.

But friends face like the end of a movie sometime. It’s happened to me many times over the years.

We’re friends for a while then the friendship fizzles out. We never argue or refuse to speak to one another. We just slowly disappear from each other’s lives and soon act like we’re strangers.

It’s weird at first for sure, but after a while, you get used to it. I’m never mad at it. It’s all a part of life really.

I’m a firm believer that everything happens for a reason, including all of the ones in our lives at any given point. Sometimes, when their role in your life is done, they slip away into the mist never to be seen again.

We move on. We have other interests. We just weren’t supposed to be friends forever and ever.

Luckily, as a current senior at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, I’m fortunate enough to have a lot of guy friends. We hang out all of the time.

They’re genuine friends, and I don’t think they’re only in my life for a short time. They’re in it for the long haul.

They’re all true friends. But one thing keeps bugging me about them.

Which one of them will choose me as the Best Man at their wedding? Will I ever be able to give the Best Man speech?

Man, I hope so.

If So, I Know I Have Made It

When anyone is asked to serve as the Best Man or Maid of Honor, it truly is an honor. That person wants you specifically part of your special day.

How cool is that?

But if I’m ever chosen by one of my buddies to be their Best Man, I know I will have made it as a friend.

It will prove that we are true friends and he wants me at the wedding more than anyone else. Plus, I will make the best speech anyone has ever heard.

I will promise him that.

If I ever am chosen for that special honor, I will be humbled and grateful. It’s on my life’s bucket list.

And I really do hope it happens one day.

Closing Thoughts

What are the best parts of weddings in your opinion?

  • The cake
  • The cash bar
  • The dancing
  • The unforgettable memories?

Everyone has a different opinion on this. And so do I. The best part of a wedding for me will be being the Best Man on their special day.

It will prove that we are true friends, and nothing will ever tear us a part. That is the moment when life is truly magical.

I hope it can be for me too one day.

grooms
Like

About the Creator

Noah Nelson

I’m currently pursuing a Master of Science in Journalism at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. If I’m not reading or writing, I’m probably at a concert or playing acoustic guitar.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.