Marriage logo

I'm Getting Married!

Intro to me, my fiancé, and how we got engaged.

By Victoria A RodriguezPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
shot taken by my aunt in our DIY engagement photoshoot

Hello, there!

I'm Victoria and that man in the picture is my fiancé, Josh.

We are both quite the opposite pair in our likes and dislikes. Shoot, even some of our personalities are quite different. Josh is very into country music, the rustic scene, loves his guns and knives, and is extremely patriotic. Whereas I am into 30-50s music and classical, the 30-50s vintage aesthetic, I love being creative, and am very into singing hymns. He's an ambivert, meaning he can be either extraverted or introverted depending on whom he's around. I, on the other hand, am a big introvert.

We met online back in 2016 when we were both freshmen in college. We began dating soon after and have been growing in Christ and love since. Which brings us to now...ish.

On November 26, 2020, Thanksgiving Day, I was coming home to California with my mom, grandma, and one of my sisters from Kansas.

Some background on that... My parents got a house out there so that my mom and grandma could be close to my sister as she attends college there. Due to covid-19, my final class was held online so I was able to go be with them for that semester.

Anyway, we had been driving for two days straight for 10+ hours each day. We had finally made it home at 11:30 pm and boy was I grumpy.

When we parked the car lights suddenly lit up on our porch.

"Oh look, it's Josh," my mom said with sleepiness in her voice.

I got out of the car and went up to hug him looking like a wreck, mind you. My hair was in a messed up braid, hairs sticking out at every twist, and I didn't have the cutest of outfits on.

In our embrace I let him know that I am grumpy and he laughs.

"I've missed you. Victoria, you're my best friend, the love of my life, and I never want to be apart from you again."

He pushes me back, gets down on one knee and pulls out a lovely ring.

"Will you marry me?"

I was in utter disbelief of what had transpired before me and I began laughing and crying at the same time.

I asked if this was "for real" and he reassured me that it was. I really am engaged and it still boggles my mind. Needless to say, I was no longer grumpy after that!

Now, it's not the most elaborate story of an engagement, but it is our engagement story. I wouldn't have it any other way.

This isn't a long post, but it is my first time writing anything like this. So I bid you a farewell until next time!

Thanks for reading!

All my love,

Victoria

proposal
Like

About the Creator

Victoria A Rodriguez

Hi!

I'm getting married 12.12.2021, so I'm going to be writing about that.

I'm 24 and still trying to figure out what God has planned for my life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.