Lifehack logo

Why Would I Go to an Estate Sale?

Here Are Some Reasons to Consider (Including that many now offer all their goods for your perusal online)

By M. MichaelPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Why Would I Go to an Estate Sale?
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

I've never felt the need for ever-changing visual surroundings and I’m not a collector of anything. In fact, I live in a small space without room for collecting. Yet, discovering estate sales changed my life. "Estate sales," the uninitiated may ask, "how could someone with limited space and uninspired by decorating or collecting find them useful or interesting?"

Meeting Interesting People

Many a Friday morning, I’ve enjoyed sipping my single, tall, mocha, while chatting with other, more serious estate salers (a whole group of new and interesting people,) about their lives and passions.

I’ve met doll collectors. I learned a lot about my antique doll inherited from my Grandmother that became a more meaningful gift for her Great Granddaughter.

There was the record collector (an Audio Visual expert by trade) he brought me up to date on the latest technology for those who give presentations - my career.

The life-long watch collector was an interesting guy. I learned about the watch on a chain inherited from my husband’s German relatives. I tucked the information away with the watch in the safe deposit box; it will be a special addition when it becomes a family gift.

And, the 'serious' estate salers opened my eyes and taught me a lot about using the alternate and convenient shopping and selling universe called eBay.

Great Gifts

At one estate sale I hit gift pay dirt. I needed to buy gifts for a new baby in the family, I needed a gift for the baby shower of a friend's daughter, and Christmas was near. I found a beautiful pastel ceramic Merry-go-round-horse music box and several brand new baby outfits to send. I found two collector dolls still in their boxes one became a Christmas gift for a niece and the other a gift for the upcoming new baby of another friend. I bought a large humorous stuffed animal, as part of a fun Christmas gift for a hard-to-buy-for, teenage nephew. I found two large crystal serving platters in a modern design for holiday gifts to friends. They had been marked the first day of the sale at $75. I got them for $12.50 each on the sale’s last day.) My husband's hobby is cooking. Estate sales are amazing for books in general, but cookbooks in particular. Because of my new hobby, he now has a kitchen full of enviable cooking accoutrements, my favorite acquisition being a like-new, full size Krups food processor for $8.00 (now at least 10 years in our possession and still working great.)

Love of Organization

I find all sorts of things that help me extend the space in my very small dwelling. I found a three shelf, rolling metal cart that has attractively extended the storage space in my small kitchen.

Have you ever dreamed of having a Tupperware® Lady come over and customize your cupboards and refrigerator? I had, but couldn't afford it. If you open my cupboards or refrigerator these days you'd be amazed, everything has its own container (Tupperware pieces are generally fifty cents, at most a dollar.)

My husband’s sport coats and suits even hang on expensive wooden hangers (twenty five cents each) neatly covered by zippered suit bags (ten cents) above a like-new black leather and cloth designer suitcase had for almost nothing.

A Killer Wardrobe

At my very first estate sale I came across three large closets full of odd- sized men's clothing that just happened to fit my odd-sized husband perfectly. These were not just average clothing, they were like-new, custom-made designer clothing; clothing so nice you wanted to pet them. My husband’s wardrobe grew with six beautiful sport coats, a tuxedo, two suits, fifteen shirts and a box of designer ties all for merely $200 (I was hooked on estate sales forever.) Below those coats sit his brown suede Bruno Mali loafers and black designer tasseled loafers from Spain - you've got it, estate sales. At a later sale I found 3 gorgeous leather jackets for $25 a piece, to winterize his killer wardrobe.

Eliminating Storage

If I had discovered estate sales years ago, I would not have stored away so much stuff that turned into junk. Estate sales have taught me you can replace anything for very little and save so much, especially when you consider monthly storage bills.

A whole new mixture of wonderful kitchen implements now sits atop our stove in a beautiful heavy cut glass vase. Older and cheaper kettles and pans are long gone. At each sale I enjoy a treasure hunt, chatting with interesting people, bringing special treats to my husband and friends and becoming more organized.

There’s something in estate sales for everyone.

(Side note: many estate sales are now held online, each item open for bids. If interested, look up the estate sale companies in your area and get on their mailing lists.)

house
Like

About the Creator

M. Michael

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.