Lifehack logo

Why Do I Always Save up Money?

Even When There’s Nothing I Want to Buy?

By Terri AllenPublished 6 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
2

Currently, I have two jobs and each time I get paid I love to transfer some of my wages into my savings account. I love to see those numbers pile up each week. I love it! I look forward to the day I can hand over the money for a new PS4 and the newest Fallout game that’s coming out!

So I’m just trying to spread my “wisdom” of how I save and let you all into my lifetime of saving up.

How do I save?

Well as I said before I have two jobs so whenever I get paid I get to put a small fraction into savings but I need to get the train into work. I save on travel by buying myself a 16-25 railcard for £30 a year which saves me a huge amount on travel as I’m on the train five days of the week. The normal ticket price from where I live to work would be £5.75 but my railcard takes it down to £3.75. So, for a one time payment of £30, I save way more than that amount on my travel expenses.

I also prefer to pay in cash for everything so after considering if I need to withdraw a tenner from my bank, I take all the change that I would otherwise not use and save it up. When I get enough of a certain type of coin I put it in one of those clear money bags from the bank and deposit it right back in my account.

Why do I save?

I save up my money constantly, I’m always thinking about saving and I’m always counting my money to see what I could save. Why? Well, I think I have an answer. I’m addicted to saving up my money! No wait... I’m being serious, I know it sounds silly but it’s the only option. I’ve been doing it for years and before I could save up for myself, my mother opened an account for me and saved up for me until I was old enough.

When I was younger, I was about 12 and on holiday in Greece, I vowed I would always save up so that the future Terri could have everything she wanted. This was shortly after making my first withdrawal from my bank account so I had money to spend on my holiday. I felt so bad, it felt like I was stealing from myself.

However, now I just think of each saving as a step towards a personal goal. Saving up that pound would go towards a new car in a couple of years, saving up that tenner would go towards the PS4 I want for an early birthday present this year. Simple stuff like that, making a slight restriction so I could treat myself like a Queen in a month when I had enough for something I wanted.

There’s always something you will want, always. If like me you have to save up for the tiniest thing you’d like to buy, make it a personal challenge! Work out how fast you can do it and try to beat it. Make it easy to reach and not completely ridiculous, such as “I want to save up £1000 by next month” from scratch when you haven’t got a well-paying job or haven’t got a job at all. It’s good to have goals but it’s annoying when you don’t reach them when you wanted to so make everything you do achievable.

Always have a goal, always.

how to
2

About the Creator

Terri Allen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.