Lifehack logo

Why Choose Cotton

Practical Fabric

By Brenda Lee Lord-HingerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Why Choose Cotton
Photo by Rod Long on Unsplash

Did you know that cotton played an important role in the history of India, the British Empire, and the United States?

Cotton continues to be an important crop and commodity. I bet you didn’t know that the first place for cotton to be spun into thread, and used in the creation of fabric was in Pakistan back in 3000 BC.

The tools they used such as combs, hand spindles, and primitive looms, would’ve had to be invented first.

I don’t know about you all, but I find this bit of history to be interesting and intriguing.

The only clothes I personally wear are made from cotton material. My reason for this is because I am allergic to most other fabrics. Especially wool and fleece.

Cotton on the other hand is a chemically organic fabric. It doesn’t contain any synthetic compounds.

It is derived from the fibres surrounding the seeds of cotton plants, which emerge in a round, fluffy formation once the seeds are mature.

I have discovered that there are four varieties of cotton, but there could possibly be more.

One being the Short-Staple cotton. The second one being the Long-Staple cotton. Third one being the Extra-Long-Staple cotton. The final one being the Egyptian cotton.

I just love learning new things don’t you? I have also learned that cotton fabric is known as - Prima cotton, Supima cotton, and as previously mentioned -Egyptian cotton.

I wear cotton clothing not only because I am allergic to most other materials, but also because cotton is breathable! Even during the hot summers days here in BC Canada, cotton tops, skirts, dresses, pants, and shorts, allow me to feel comfortably cool. It’s an excellent choice if your menopausal! Know what I mean ladies?

Guess what? I hate ironing! Another reason why I choose cotton material. To save on my hydro bill-I put my clothes in the dryer for a few minutes, and then hang dry. My cotton clothes are never wrinkled! Love it!

Unless it’s a small stitch or button job, I do not sow! However, when I worked at Walmart some years backs, I did my fair share helping out in the fabric department.

More than any other material, women were purchasing cotton. Many told me that cotton is easy to work with, and is the least expensive.

Cotton is not just worn in the way of shirts and summer dresses. It is commonly used in the making of blouses, sweaters, pull-overs, underwear, and socks

Let’s talk sheets.

In doing my research for this article I found that there are quite a few companies selling cotton sheets, and sheet sets.

One of these companies is called“Brooklinen”. They provide what they call ‘Luxe Cove Sheet Set’. The set includes a flat sheet, fitted sheet, and your standard two pillow cases. The same as what most companies offer.

They use a 480 thread. At this particular time brooklinen is offering a 10 percent discount, and they offer a deal where you can make four interest-free payments with after-pay.

Their cotton product is 100% Long Staple Cotton, and are certified for chemical safety. Brooklinen was rated best overall sheets in 2019 by Good Housekeeping.

“Mayfairlinen” - This company uses 100% ‘Long Staple Egyptian Cotton’. With 100% satisfaction, life time guarantee, and warranty.

They specialize in no pilling or shrinkage. A dependable option that works for a variety of needs. This company uses the thread count at 800.

Beautiful sheets one would expect to see used at the fanciest hotels. As these sheets are known for their softness and to be luxurious.

The “PB Classic”. Is well known for being the most organic. One can purchase these sheets through “Pottery Barn”. They are 100% Organic Cotton Percale”. Using 400 thread count, and are eco-friendly.

The best valued cotton sheets would be found at “Amazon Basics”. They use 400 thread count. They offer wrinkle free, fade, and stain free. They normally have a large arrangement of colours. At this time period they are out of stock.

I enjoy crawling in between my soft and cool cotton sheets at night, and my cat Breanna can always be found snuggled on top of our light cotton blanket.

Instead of feeling hot and weighed down this summer - consider wearing cotton clothing, and enjoy cool sheets, and a light fluffy cotton blanket.

By Brenda Lee Lord-Hinger

BLBLOGWRITINGNEWS1 ( KMZ2OL)

[email protected]

clothing
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.