Lifehack logo

What it would be like to be brainwashed by insurance.

Insurance companies have two very important meetings

By KurandaPublished 2 years ago 10 min read
Like
What it would be like to be brainwashed by insurance.
Photo by PiggyBank on Unsplash

These days, I have been invited as a guest speaker to deliver two sessions on revenue generation for an insurance company. Some of the audience may be unfamiliar with the term "revenue generation meeting", so let's explain.

Insurance companies have two very important meetings: one is called a production meeting and the other is called a revenue generation meeting. What are they? Product presentations. The business model is a financial seminar, a one-to-many sales model. The creation meeting is a presentation on entrepreneurship.

This is a job fair. Of course, it's not accurate to say recruitment, because most insurance companies use an agency system. It's called a recruitment drive within the insurance company.

So for simplicity's sake, let's say it's recruitment, that's what it means anyway. This model of recruitment in the insurance industry, and the management associated with it, is often described as brainwashing. Brainwashing, of course, is not a good word, is it?

I first came across it from a friend of mine, before I graduated, who was telling me about his work experience. His first job was in a healthcare company, and the company's business model was a bit like Amway's.

He felt that this company treated its sales staff like brainwashing. But he was not a salesman himself and had not been brainwashed. His position at the time was the special assistant to the president of the company, the first secretary to the top management of the company, which you could feel was a very promising position.

Insurance keys

But he didn't like the brainwashing culture and eventually chose to leave the company. Two years ago, I read that the company was doing well in South East Asia and that it was getting bigger and better, while my friend was getting worse and worse.

In his second job, he joined a state-owned enterprise. This is related to the construction of electricity and is also a good place. He left his job because he wanted to go to graduate school. As a result, he did not pass the exam, and once again looked for a job in an old state-owned enterprise.

The period is repeated many times in the examination of civil servants, who also did not get on, and are now in another state-owned enterprise. This state-owned enterprise than that old state-owned enterprises, the benefits of it, some good. But because he can't get a formal establishment, this development is also general, right? I heard that he even got divorced last year.

This is a person who has always refused to be brainwashed, who has never been brainwashed, but in the end, he was brainwashed by life.

Then just today at noon, a young man came into my office selling credit cards. I said to him, "Do you want to consider doing insurance? I introduced him to the insurance business model, and before I could finish, he said after only two or three sentences: I know that insurance is all about that.

I laughed in my heart: people always think they are too smart, so they miss out on a lot of things.

For example, I would have liked to say more to him, more things that I thought would be useful to him. But his comment, which I know is true in the insurance industry, made me end what I was going to say in a hurry and then talk in a non-salty manner.

He said: How about this, you get me a credit card and I'll be your agent. I laughed and I said to him: Boy, I am introducing you to a career. To give you a chance to make your life better. You don't make conditions with me.

After he heard that, he said, very helplessly, "All right then. Then he turned around and went out. I watched his back as he left, and I thought: It should be a probable event that I would earn more than him, maybe even several times more than him.

Someone who earns several times more than he does, and I am much older than he is. Why was he not willing to listen patiently to me, someone who had had a better life compared to him?

I don't know what you think when you hear this. But I think that some listeners might think that I am brainwashing him. It is also possible that some listeners may think that I am a person who has been brainwashed very thoroughly. Or maybe some people think that I'm not good enough at brainwashing.

Whatever you think, I don't know how you understand the word brainwashing. In this Baidu encyclopedia, brainwashing is described as an act of indoctrination. It is the use of external influence to indoctrinate others with particular ideas that are different from ordinary values, to conform to the wishes of the manipulator.

Brainwashing has the following characteristics: exclusivity, circular argumentation, prothe mise of benefits, incantation,ritualization,d repetition. The essential meaning of brainwashing is to use all means to insinstilllse and spurious perceptions and ideas that are in one's interest.

The key to distinguishing between brainwashing and not brainwashing is not the process of indoctrination, but whether the perceptions and ideas that are indoctrinated are in bye truth and science. If the indoctrinated perceptions and ideas are not in line with the truth and science, then it is brainwashing. This is what Baidu explains.

Note his last sentence: The key to distinguishing brainwashing is not the process, but the content. If the content is wrong, it is brainwashing. If the content is correct, it is not brainwashing.

As we have said many times before, when it comes to the big issues of right and wrong, the most basic common sense can make a difference.

If the insurance industry had been brainwashed and deceived with false knowledge, how could the industry have existed for so many years and how could it have expanded at such a great ra?e.

? told this statistic at the creation conference: in these 12 years from 2004 to 2016, the average annual growth rate of the banking industry was 18%, the securities industry was 23% and the insurance industry was 24%. Among the three major financial sectors, insurance is the fastest.

Our country's GDP grew at an average rate of 14% over the same period. In other words, even the banking industry, which has the slowest average growth rate among the financial sectors, is growing faster than our national average, and not just a little bit faster.

I often empemphasize my staff that when they come into contact with a new thing, they should keep an em empty-classicality and look at it with an accepting attitude, so that they can see it cls Luo Zhenyu has said before: do not make judgments about things. Once you have made a judjudgmentou will look for supporting evidence for your judjudgmentt is a human instinct. Then you won't see the other half.

I said at the conference: "I don't need to tell you if you want to join the industry, I'll give you an example.

If there is a security guard in this industry who is doing a great job and is the best in the country. Would his boss offer him a salary of 30,000 a month? Maybe, but the likelihood of that is very, very low, very slim. Because the average salary in this industry is just not that high.

Not to mention the fact that it is very unlikely for a person to be the best security guard in the country, and there is only one best. I have no intention of denigrating the security industry, on the contrary, I respect them. They have made a significant contribution to social stability. I am just giving an example.

When choosing a career, you have to look at the average of the industry. In an industry where the average income is high, you can have a good income if you go with the flow and achieve an average.

The internet has made it easy to access information, and you can also search the internet to find out which are the top 10 highest paying industries. Which industries can you get into? Then you have to do everything you can to join this industry, and this is the right choice. It's a responsibility for your life and you are responsible for your family.

Do you still think this is brainwashing? Of course, it is. We in the insurance industry are also responsible for being misunderstood by others as brainwashing. I remember one time ah. Someone touted the benefits of joining the insurance industry, talking about a whole lot of things like freedom of time, freedom of work, uncapped income, good benefits,d so on.

When a senior in the insurance industry saw this kind of publicity, he rhetorically asked: If it was so good, why did so many people leave the insurance industry? I? think this senior asked a very good question

Perm against such propaganda for the insurance industry. I think one can treat insurance as a career or a profession.

If you do it as a career, then what you want to achieve here is your life value, it is not so free, not so easy, you will be very tired, and you will be very busy. You will grow up quickly and growth itself is a painful process.

But if you treat it as a profession, you can live a little more dashingly, a little more casually. You can have morning meetings in the morning and the rest of the day free to complete minimum assessments. Whether it's free and easy or not is up to you to decide where you want to be.

A chicken soup saying: the kind of life you choose, the kind of trouble you will have.

At the beginning of last year, a young man in Nanjing contacted me after listening to my show. He said he was an IT professional and was originally very reluctant to take out insurance. But an accident to his family made him realize that insurance is still of great importance to a family.

So he started learning about insurance until he contacted me after listening to my proprogramsking me for advice on joining the insurance industry. I introduced him to work for an insurance company in Nanjing. A few months later, I went to Nanjing on a business trip and met him and his manager.

His manager, on the other hand, complimented him on how hard he worked and how it took him over an hour to travel to and from work every day. Then at the end of the year, he sent me a red packet (using WeChat). He said to me: "Ms. Ch.en, thanks to your introduction, I have been successfully promoted to supervisor.

You see it must not be an easy profession, but it is a profession with clear quantitative indicators. The promotion rules, how to be promoted, and the promotion rules are Sletten in the management system of this industry.

What you do. It is up to you to decide what kind of result you want to achieve. That's what life is all about, isn't it? Many people have listened to my show and asked if I should join the industry.

I used to talk about insurance expertise. I've given a lot of talks on financial management, and I've seen them all on big and small occasions. I've spoken at banks, insurance companies,d wealth companies, but I've never spoken at a conference before.

But I've never given a talk before, but I've given two recently, and they've given me a deeper insight. Today. For those who want to join the industry, I can't answer you.

I can't give you a positive answer, I can only give you some reference to my thoughts, just like I did at the talk, I can only objectively disclose some data from home and abroad, ad my interpretation and opinion of these data and facts. Ultimately, the choice is up to you.

If you read to join the industry, I would like to give you a piece of advice: on the first day you join, take a picture of yourself. If you can keep it up for 3 years, yes. Only three years.

Take another picture after three years and I guarantee that you will look younger in three years than you did the first day you joined.

how tolistvintage
Like

About the Creator

Kuranda

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.