Lifehack logo

What I Learned About Crafting by Watching YouTube Videos

"Old dogs" can learn new tricks

By Marlene AlexanderPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
What I Learned About Crafting by Watching YouTube Videos
Photo by Jo Szczepanska on Unsplash

When the pandemic cancelled production of new TV shows, I turned to YouTube for an entertainment fix. I'd never given YouTube a lot of thought in the past, but discovered old TV shows, classic full-length movies and something else I never expected.

I discovered a myriad of crafting videos on YouTube.

Now, I have been a crafter since before 2006, when my website Dollar Store Style came to be. But, despite my years, I pride myself on being able to learn new things. And let me tell you, I learned a thing or two, or three or four..., just by watching these talented YouTubers create.

YouTube introduced me to dozens of skilled dollar store and thrift-flip crafters. These talented people opened my eyes to possibilities I'd never previously thought about.

Anything Can Be Repurposed

I turned this pumpkin plaque over and used it to make a fall house number sign. - photo by author

I discovered that there isn't much that can't be made over to create something completely new.

You can remake a wood sign by turning it over and using the back of it to create something completely new.

Two or more wood signs of the same size can be joined together to make a larger sign.

Anything Can Be Painted

"Staining" a plain wood box - photo by author

Go ahead, paint a cardboard gift box, a store bought frame or paint a ceramic figurine in the colour of your choice! I once watched a crafter paint a rabbit-shaped eraser for an Easter craft she was making!

Don't like the colour of the letter or number stickers you want to use? Paint 'em!

I also learned that you can use regular craft paint as a stain by adding water to it. You just brush it on and wipe off the excess to bring out the natural wood grain. Cool!

A Blow Dryer Can Be a Useful Craft Tool

Using a blow dryer to dry paint quickly - photo by author

You can use a blow dryer to dry craft paint quickly between coats. Some crafters invest in a heat tool but others have found that their blow dryers, set on high heat, works just as well.

You can also use a blow dryer to loosen the glue on stubborn stickers so that they can be more easily removed.

As I haven't used my blow dryer for its intended purpose for years, it now resides in my craft room.

Popsicle Sticks Can Be Used in So Many Ways

Join two smaller signs together using popsicle sticks, so you can turn them over and make a larger sign.-photo by author

The humble popsicle stick, can be used in more ways than you can imagine. Also known as craft sticks, they come in various sizes, from the regular frozen treat variety, to tongue depressor size, to jumbo. As such, they have so many uses.

I've made the mistake of trying to glue flat wood pieces together along their thin edges. The hold was tenuous, at best, and it was messy. However, I've since learned that craft sticks can be used to hold flat pieces together by gluing them over where the seams meet. The larger the pieces to be held together, the larger the craft sticks.

I recently watched a YouTube crafter glue dozens of small popsicle sticks together to create large beautiful geometric wall art. Wow.

Dollar Tree's Tumbling Tower Blocks - More than a Game!

A coaster made from Tumbling Tower Blocks - photo by author

These little wood blocks are Dollar Tree's knock-off version of Jenga blocks. You find them in the toy aisle at that store. A common use among crafters is to use them to build coasters.

But, who knew? I had no idea you could use these blocks to do everything from building picture frames to crafting wood lanterns and candle holders!

I Learned How to Stencil the Right Way

Using a paint dauber - photo by author

I found out the hard way that, if you brush paint over a stencil, the paint will bleed under it and ruin your design. But, by using a sponge dauber, you "mostly" avoid that problem. You still have to be careful that the stencil lays perfectly flat and that you don't have too much paint on the dauber.

Working on it!

I'm Learning How to Decoupage

Decoupage, for those unfamiliar with the term, is the art or craft of decorating objects with paper. I've mostly seen this done using patterned tissue paper or paper napkins. The medium of choice for attaching the paper is Mod Podge, which is also serves as a protective sealant.

Use the Right Glue for the Job

Using wood glue - photo by author

There are so many types of glue out there, from regular craft glue, hot glue , fabric glue, super glue and on and on. It's important, if you want your projects to hold together, to use the glue most appropriate to the job.

Mod Podge is a great glue/sealer that's popular with crafters. Hot glue is also a favourite and practically the only glue I used for years.

However, I've learned that, if you want a permanent hold, you should use something like E6000 or Gorilla Glue. And, when working with wood, wood glue will give you the best long-term hold.

More Tips and Tricks I've Learned So Far

  • Hairspray can be used to seal glitter on a project, so it doesn't flake off and make a mess.
  • Sponging paint with a dauber onto something like a flower pot can sometimes give a nicer finish than brushing the paint on in the usual way.
  • You can remove glitter from dollar store signs by using a paint scraper, wide blade and/or sandpaper so you can remake the sign.
  • Nail polish remover containing acetone will easily remove the painted-on letters from the glass in most dollar store frames so you can add your own message or simply leave it blank.
  • You can use rope, ribbon, twine, or strung beads as hangers on pictures and plaques, depending on the weight of the piece.
  • ****

    I'm gratified to know that I can still learn and implement new ideas. These tips and more have helped me to become a better, more creative crafter. And it's all thanks to the talented people who share their creations and tips on YouTube.

    crafts
    1

    About the Creator

    Marlene Alexander

    Marlene is a craft blogger and creator of dollarstorestyle.com. She enjoys mysteries and miniatures and lives with her tortoiseshell cat, Aggie, in Ontario, Canada.

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments

    There are no comments for this story

    Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sign in to comment

      Find us on social media

      Miscellaneous links

      • Explore
      • Contact
      • Privacy Policy
      • Terms of Use
      • Support

      © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.