Lifehack logo

Weaponized Cuteness

my self care olympic team

By Sterling Finney Published 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Surgical Shears? -check! Sewing scissors?-check! Ok bring in the next cutie please?

Before I begin operating on my fuzzy friends, I sit down and examine each patient and select the best candidate for the job at hand. I lay out my tools and supplies while they all gather round. I make sure my surgical shears are nice and sharp, and I have plenty of rocks for fill, bamboo fluff, rice, abd gloves to protect my hands from drying out. Tiny sewing scissors come out the bag first and like a surgeon I line my tools up exactly how I need them. Spools of thread, pins, scissors and a little lamp, crystals, and plenty of essential oils.

I suffer from chronic pain and recently agoraphobia popped up with a few other annoyances I don’t wish to elaborate on here. My point in telling you all is because I have stepped up my self care routine over the pandemic. I call it my olympic training and take my athletic status seriously. During the pandemic lockdown I became very isolated and lost my support system. I teamed up with my gang of stuffed animals and came up with a plan. Each one has been modified to fit a specific need now and there is room for more in this group of fluffy misfits.

Let me introduce you to the consortium of cute. First volunteer is BunZy. He is a sweet young tan rabbit who can only see out of one eye. He wears an eye patch and loves to go on adventures with me around town. He sits in my backpack with his head sticking out and he is quick to make people of all ages laugh. His ears are sparkly gold and he wears a red ribbon with a glass bell around his neck. BunZy is my travel bunny. I removed all of his original fluff filling and replaced it with lavender infused memory foam. His paws are now weighted with small pebbles I collected from a creek. I smile when I think about the huge quartz crystal that fills his belly and makes him the perfect weight. Quartz can be very grounding and protective so having him carry my special stones makes me smile just thinking about him. He was the first team member to join and I love how happy he makes me and everyone he meets.

Now that you understand my weaponized cute friends are batteling invisible monsters with me I hope they make you smile too. This brings me to my next patient. Hami (Hamilton) the sleepwalking dino baby. He is a light blue baby dino with closed sleeping eyes. His special ability is snuggles. He has his own little blue baby blanket and I filled him with aromatic Jasmine rice, a cotton fluff soaked in essential oils to promote rest and a pleasant well being. Hami, like most Dinos, is a fantastic dancer. He is always sleeping and completely care free. It really shows on the dance floor for sure. When it comes to his snuggle ability I have made it so you can heat him up safe in the microwave and rest his weight on the spots that hurt. He weighs about five pounds now and smells delightful always. When the rice is warm it over powers the essential oils just slightly with a hint of popped corn.

Now onto Unicornelious. My most fabulous unicorn friend and pillow pal. They are so stylish with pastel pink and blue spots, pearls draped around Their neck and sparkly pink hooves. I have not altered his insides but I did string his pearls into prayer beads that I wear around my wrist as a fabulous reminder to stay true to my sweet and gentle heart. He is also the judge of the group and if it doesn’t get the Unicornelious stamp of approval it does not happen. Their Jurry consists of four inside out cats. One side is a sweet little black and white ball of a cat that flips inside out to become a skeleton cat. All four cats must agree to flip yes or no on any decision that is brought to Judge Unicornelious. The Cats also serve as traveling crystal holders part time. When traveling I worry that my small balls of rose quartz, obsidian,petrified wood and jasper will get knocked around. So placing them safely inside the cats inner pouch works perfectly for me.

I can’t wait to see who will be my next patient at the consortium of cuteness. Practicing my sewing skills and weaponizing cuteness has been such a relaxing hobby. It really helps me step back and embrace being playful and silly. Life is so hard these days we could all use a little extra silly with a dash of magic. Do you believe in magic? Well let us get back to the hearing of Bees vs Farts so I can go about the rest of my day. These inside out cats can never decide on this topic anyway.

crafts
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.