Lifehack logo

Urban Green Witchcraft Essentials

For Those Who Live in the Urban Jungle

By Dani AshPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
1

For anyone of any belief, I think we all can agree that when we live in a city, it is easier to get caught up in the negative and stressful energies that surround a busy life. We can end up feeling disconnected from those around us, disconnected from our own environment. We all deal with it differently, and for green witches that is especially true. This list is made up of five things that have helped me in my practice. For each and every witch our practices are different, so keep that in mind as you read this. Also, if you are new to the practice you need to figure out what works best for you and your environment.

1. Succulent Plants

Succulents and cacti are very resilient, beautiful plants. They are perfect for a beginning green witch who lives in the city. I live in an apartment that has a good amount of sunlight, but it's still not the best. Herbs really struggle in my apartment because of the weird situation with the sunlight. Succulents and cacti don't need to be watered super often, and they are great companions. They work as great connectors to the Earth, even in my second story apartment I feel much more connected to the Earth and her positive and healing energy. For me, they are friends who give you just as much power and love as you give them. I highly recommend putting them all over your home or apartment.

2. Local Crystals

I try to go on walks a lot. I feel like it's important for all kinds of your help: physical, mental, and spiritually. On these walks, I have collected a lot of local crystals. I feel like it is a common misconception that crystals always have to be amethysts, quartz, or clear like those. But that is not the case. You can practice with any kind of crystal. I have a very simple process for finding my crystals to practice with. I walk around with a bag and when something catches my eye, I pick it up. At certain times, I stop to sit down with my new crystals. I usually pick up one or two a walk, but I do not always bring them home. Either way, I feel out the energy and what the crystal feels its job is. When I do take them home, I place them in a spot that feels right. Then since they're local, I'm more connected to my environment and the nature that I am surrounded by, which is so important in my practice.

3. Journal

This is a tip I got fromThe Green Witch. The author recommended that you take a journal with you on walks, and write out what goes on and how you feel. You can write down spells and practices and rituals you have. It's like a grimoire. I also use it to take notes on common properties of herbs, crystals, and other stuff like that. This is a tip I want to pass along to you as well (also I highly recommend reading The Green Witch, it's a really good starting point and it's very informative). Use your journal for whatever you want and do not worry about how it looks. This is for you and your practice only.

4. Reusable Bags

I have quite a few reusable bags. Since becoming a green witch, I've really tried to cut down on my plastic use (will it solve everything? No, but it still helps our Earth). On top of that, I did buy one of my reusable bags from 4Ocean (this also funds their mission and removes 2 lbs of trash). I use this bag to pick up trash around my local parks. This is a practice I use to create better relationships with my local nature. There is a creek by my apartment and I make sure to keep her clean, along with other parks. This is a great practice that works very well for me, and I highly recommend you try it as well since it is so hard to connect with nature when living in an urban area. Either way, having some reusable bags around to carry things and cut down on your waste is perfect!

list
1

About the Creator

Dani Ash

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.