Lifehack logo

Threading the Needle

Memories stitched in the chest

By Zarinabanu ZarinabanuPublished 3 years ago 17 min read
1

My memories of sewing go back forty-five years at gas speed .... It was time to move to street in Chennai .... It was time to move to Chennai as my mother got a teaching job at Thana lakshmi Middle School where my father worked .... Until then My pinch legs wandering in the soil of the time when I set foot on the unpaved Madras tar roads without getting caught .... It was time to call my grandmother, grandfather, aunt, uncle, aunty and measure me with my relationships. ..
A sewing machine in the main room of the house, except for some cooking utensils that my mother brought with me .... Usha sewing machine that my father bought after listening to my mother's request .... It is not for sewing for my mother's entertainment ... To fix the financial deficit of the house .... Then the teaching work, the sewing work throughout the evening ... the tuition children around the mother on the side ... the mother's legs and arms to run on the sewing machine, the vision is to look at the students .... until the night Dad returns home, the sound of the sewing machine will continue to sound ... Attracting customers to mom's sewing job is addictive ....
My mother would automatically teach me to sew underwear, short skirts, sleeveless tops, and lace sewn gowns .... because I was a little fat .... Started .... In a few days, Taylor became the property of the people in the neighborhood ..... During
Diwali and Pongal, they would stay up all night sewing .... That would cover the small expenses of the family ..... .... paralyzed at home for some time in motionless silence ....
Then Usha Company released a new sewing machine .... After sewing ... the upper part of the machine can be tilted inside and placed inside a box-like structure and covered with a wooden board horizontally on it, it can also be used as a desk .... They waited for hours and bought it .... everyone at home was so happy to see it ....
What to do with the old machine .... Parents do not have the habit of selling anything .... So it was donated by a distant relative who was abandoned by her husband and raised her only daughter struggling alone ... The new sewing machine was initially in operation for a long time ... As the days went by the pulse subsided, and that too was paralyzed in the corner of the newly built “elixir” house ... turned into a place to put folded clothes and notebooks ...... sewing was one of the occasional fresh hobbies of my childhood .... so dusty , The machine parts were repaired and I came back to life with that sewing machine ... I sewed easy clothes like skirt, sunsuit first .... Mom's old silk sarees transformed into skirts for me ...Later I trained with a tailoring teacher Mrs. Vairamati who worked at Thanalakshmi School and sewed blouses for myself .....
I'm halfway through everything .... sewing is no exception .... Adien lost interest, so the sewing machine went back to deep sleep .... Mom's student Lilavati, who just lost her father, mother who works as a nurse at Stanley Hospital ... often with her daughter to pity her heart He would come to my mother .... whenever he came he would gaze at this sewing machine .... it felt like it was meant for mom .... the next day the sewing machine was handed over to the nurse sister ... dad didn't ask anything about it .... I agree with that a bit No ... I had a fight with my mother ... My mother replied that being idle would be useful to anyone ....
Occasionally there is a split in the husband's shirt pants and son's tracksuits, sewing by hand ... running to the tailor's shop for small jobs .... that sewing machine comes to mind ... the desire to buy one prevails .... but, that too some Days will be paralyzed in the corner, what is this unwanted desire of yours? ”I will immediately change my mind that this is true ... just as
street food stores today protect the livelihoods of many women, as well as this sewing industry that once gave a hand to many helpless women ....
Designer blouses, formerly worn by upper-class women and actresses, adorn the laity of today, so today the tailoring industry has grown into a lucrative business ....
“Half man clothing half” is not just a proverb .... it is also a fact that I have seen in practice .. .It's my policy that even if you die, you'll still shine.
A sewing machine in the main room of the house, except for some cooking utensils that my mother brought with me .... Usha sewing machine that my father bought after listening to my mother's request .... It is not for sewing for my mother's entertainment ... To fix the financial deficit of the house .... Then the teaching work, the sewing work throughout the evening ... the tuition children around the mother on the side ... the mother's legs and arms to run on the sewing machine, the vision is to look at the students .... until the night Dad returns home, the sound of the sewing machine will continue to sound ... Attracting customers to mom's sewing job is addictive ....
My mother would automatically teach me to sew underwear, short skirts, sleeveless tops, and lace sewn gowns .... because I was a little fat .... Started .... In a few days, Taylor became the property of the people in the neighborhood ..... During
Diwali and Pongal, they would stay up all night sewing .... That would cover the small expenses of the family ..... .... paralyzed at home for some time in motionless silence ....
Then Usha Company released a new sewing machine .... After sewing ... the upper part of the machine can be tilted inside and placed inside a box-like structure and covered with a wooden board horizontally on it, it can also be used as a desk .... They waited for hours and bought it .... everyone at home was so happy to see it ....
What to do with the old machine .... Parents do not have the habit of selling anything .... So it was donated by a distant relative who was abandoned by her husband and raised her only daughter struggling alone ... The new sewing machine was initially in operation for a long time ... As the days went by the pulse subsided, and that too was paralyzed in the corner of the newly built “elixir” house ... turned into a place to put folded clothes and notebooks ...... sewing was one of the occasional fresh hobbies of my childhood .... so dusty , The machine parts were repaired and I came back to life with that sewing machine ... I sewed easy clothes like skirt, sunsuit first .... Mom's old silk sarees transformed into skirts for me ...Later I trained with a tailoring teacher Mrs. Vairamati who worked at Thanalakshmi School and sewed blouses for myself .....
I'm halfway through everything .... sewing is no exception .... Adien lost interest, so the sewing machine went back to deep sleep .... Mom's student Lilavati, who just lost her father, mother who works as a nurse at Stanley Hospital ... often with her daughter to pity her heart He would come to my mother .... whenever he came he would gaze at this sewing machine .... it felt like it was meant for mom .... the next day the sewing machine was handed over to the nurse sister ... dad didn't ask anything about it .... I agree with that a bit No ... I had a fight with my mother ... My mother replied that being idle would be useful to anyone ....
Occasionally there is a split in the husband's shirt pants and son's tracksuits, sewing by hand ... running to the tailor's shop for small jobs .... that sewing machine comes to mind ... the desire to buy one prevails .... but, that too some Days will be paralyzed in the corner, what is this unwanted desire of yours? ”I will immediately change my mind that this is true ... just as
street food stores today protect the livelihoods of many women, as well as this sewing industry that once gave a hand to many helpless women ....
Designer blouses, formerly worn by upper-class women and actresses, adorn the laity of today, so today the tailoring industry has grown into a lucrative business ....
“Half man clothing half” is not just a proverb .... it is also a fact that I have seen in practice .. .It's my policy that even if you die, you'll still shine.
A sewing machine in the main room of the house, except for some cooking utensils that my mother brought with me .... Usha sewing machine that my father bought after listening to my mother's request .... It is not for sewing for my mother's entertainment ... To fix the financial deficit of the house .... Then the teaching work, the sewing work throughout the evening ... the tuition children around the mother on the side ... the mother's legs and arms to run on the sewing machine, the vision is to look at the students .... until the night Dad returns home, the sound of the sewing machine will continue to sound ... Attracting customers to mom's sewing job is addictive ....
My mother would automatically teach me to sew underwear, short skirts, sleeveless tops, and lace sewn gowns .... because I was a little fat .... Started .... In a few days, Taylor became the property of the people in the neighborhood ..... During
Diwali and Pongal, they would stay up all night sewing .... That would cover the small expenses of the family ..... .... paralyzed at home for some time in motionless silence ....
Then Usha Company released a new sewing machine .... After sewing ... the upper part of the machine can be tilted inside and placed inside a box-like structure and covered with a wooden board horizontally on it, it can also be used as a desk .... They waited for hours and bought it .... everyone at home was so happy to see it ....
What to do with the old machine .... Parents do not have the habit of selling anything .... So it was donated by a distant relative who was abandoned by her husband and raised her only daughter struggling alone ... The new sewing machine was initially in operation for a long time ... As the days went by the pulse subsided, and that too was paralyzed in the corner of the newly built “elixir” house ... turned into a place to put folded clothes and notebooks ...... sewing was one of the occasional fresh hobbies of my childhood .... so dusty , The machine parts were repaired and I came back to life with that sewing machine ... I sewed easy clothes like skirt, sunsuit first .... Mom's old silk sarees transformed into skirts for me ...Later I trained with a tailoring teacher Mrs. Vairamati who worked at Thanalakshmi School and sewed blouses for myself .....
I'm halfway through everything .... sewing is no exception .... Adien lost interest, so the sewing machine went back to deep sleep .... Mom's student Lilavati, who just lost her father, mother who works as a nurse at Stanley Hospital ... often with her daughter to pity her heart He would come to my mother .... whenever he came he would gaze at this sewing machine .... it felt like it was meant for mom .... the next day the sewing machine was handed over to the nurse sister ... dad didn't ask anything about it .... I agree with that a bit No ... I had a fight with my mother ... My mother replied that being idle would be useful to anyone ....
Occasionally there is a split in the husband's shirt pants and son's tracksuits, sewing by hand ... running to the tailor's shop for small jobs .... that sewing machine comes to mind ... the desire to buy one prevails .... but, that too some Days will be paralyzed in the corner, what is this unwanted desire of yours? ”I will immediately change my mind that this is true ... just as
street food stores today protect the livelihoods of many women, as well as this sewing industry that once gave a hand to many helpless women ....
Designer blouses, formerly worn by upper-class women and actresses, adorn the laity of today, so today the tailoring industry has grown into a lucrative business ....
“Half man clothing half” is not just a proverb .... it is also a fact that I have seen in practice .. .It's my policy that even if you die, you'll still shine.
A sewing machine in the main room of the house, except for some cooking utensils that my mother brought with me .... Usha sewing machine that my father bought after listening to my mother's request .... It is not for sewing for my mother's entertainment ... To fix the financial deficit of the house .... Then the teaching work, the sewing work throughout the evening ... the tuition children around the mother on the side ... the mother's legs and arms to run on the sewing machine, the vision is to look at the students .... until the night Dad returns home, the sound of the sewing machine will continue to sound ... Attracting customers to mom's sewing job is addictive ....
My mother would automatically teach me to sew underwear, short skirts, sleeveless tops, and lace sewn gowns .... because I was a little fat .... Started .... In a few days, Taylor became the property of the people in the neighborhood ..... During
Diwali and Pongal, they would stay up all night sewing .... That would cover the small expenses of the family ..... .... paralyzed at home for some time in motionless silence ....
Then Usha Company released a new sewing machine .... After sewing ... the upper part of the machine can be tilted inside and placed inside a box-like structure and covered with a wooden board horizontally on it, it can also be used as a desk .... They waited for hours and bought it .... everyone at home was so happy to see it ....
What to do with the old machine .... Parents do not have the habit of selling anything .... So it was donated by a distant relative who was abandoned by her husband and raised her only daughter struggling alone ... The new sewing machine was initially in operation for a long time ... As the days went by the pulse subsided, and that too was paralyzed in the corner of the newly built “elixir” house ... turned into a place to put folded clothes and notebooks ...... sewing was one of the occasional fresh hobbies of my childhood .... so dusty , The machine parts were repaired and I came back to life with that sewing machine ... I sewed easy clothes like skirt, sunsuit first .... Mom's old silk sarees transformed into skirts for me ...Later I trained with a tailoring teacher Mrs. Vairamati who worked at Thanalakshmi School and sewed blouses for myself .....
I'm halfway through everything .... sewing is no exception .... Adien lost interest, so the sewing machine went back to deep sleep .... Mom's student Lilavati, who just lost her father, mother who works as a nurse at Stanley Hospital ... often with her daughter to pity her heart He would come to my mother .... whenever he came he would gaze at this sewing machine .... it felt like it was meant for mom .... the next day the sewing machine was handed over to the nurse sister ... dad didn't ask anything about it .... I agree with that a bit No ... I had a fight with my mother ... My mother replied that being idle would be useful to anyone ....
Occasionally there is a split in the husband's shirt pants and son's tracksuits, sewing by hand ... running to the tailor's shop for small jobs .... that sewing machine comes to mind ... the desire to buy one prevails .... but, that too some Days will be paralyzed in the corner, what is this unwanted desire of yours? ”I will immediately change my mind that this is true ... just as
street food stores today protect the livelihoods of many women, as well as this sewing industry that once gave a hand to many helpless women ....
Designer blouses, formerly worn by upper-class women and actresses, adorn the laity of today, so today the tailoring industry has grown into a lucrative business ....
“Half man clothing half” is not just a proverb .... it is also a fact that I have seen in practice .. .It's my policy that even if you die, you'll still shine.
A sewing machine in the main room of the house, except for some cooking utensils that my mother brought with me .... Usha sewing machine that my father bought after listening to my mother's request .... It is not for sewing for my mother's entertainment ... To fix the financial deficit of the house .... Then the teaching work, the sewing work throughout the evening ... the tuition children around the mother on the side ... the mother's legs and arms to run on the sewing machine, the vision is to look at the students .... until the night Dad returns home, the sound of the sewing machine will continue to sound ... Attracting customers to mom's sewing job is addictive ....
My mother would automatically teach me to sew underwear, short skirts, sleeveless tops, and lace sewn gowns .... because I was a little fat .... Started .... In a few days, Taylor became the property of the people in the neighborhood ..... During
Diwali and Pongal, they would stay up all night sewing .... That would cover the small expenses of the family ..... .... paralyzed at home for some time in motionless silence ....
Then Usha Company released a new sewing machine .... After sewing ... the upper part of the machine can be tilted inside and placed inside a box-like structure and covered with a wooden board horizontally on it, it can also be used as a desk .... They waited for hours and bought it .... everyone at home was so happy to see it ....
What to do with the old machine .... Parents do not have the habit of selling anything .... So it was donated by a distant relative who was abandoned by her husband and raised her only daughter struggling alone ... The new sewing machine was initially in operation for a long time ... As the days went by the pulse subsided, and that too was paralyzed in the corner of the newly built “elixir” house ... turned into a place to put folded clothes and notebooks ...... sewing was one of the occasional fresh hobbies of my childhood .... so dusty , The machine parts were repaired and I came back to life with that sewing machine ... I sewed easy clothes like skirt, sunsuit first .... Mom's old silk sarees transformed into skirts for me ...Later I trained with a tailoring teacher Mrs. Vairamati who worked at Thanalakshmi School and sewed blouses for myself .....
I'm halfway through everything .... sewing is no exception .... Adien lost interest, so the sewing machine went back to deep sleep .... Mom's student Lilavati, who just lost her father, mother who works as a nurse at Stanley Hospital ... often with her daughter to pity her heart He would come to my mother .... whenever he came he would gaze at this sewing machine .... it felt like it was meant for mom .... the next day the sewing machine was handed over to the nurse sister ... dad didn't ask anything about it .... I agree with that a bit No ... I had a fight with my mother ... My mother replied that being idle would be useful to anyone ....
Occasionally there is a split in the husband's shirt pants and son's tracksuits, sewing by hand ... running to the tailor's shop for small jobs .... that sewing machine comes to mind ... the desire to buy one prevails .... but, that too some Days will be paralyzed in the corner, what is this unwanted desire of yours? ”I will immediately change my mind that this is true ... just as
street food stores today protect the livelihoods of many women, as well as this sewing industry that once gave a hand to many helpless women ....
Designer blouses, formerly worn by upper-class women and actresses, adorn the laity of today, so today the tailoring industry has grown into a lucrative business ....
“Half man clothing half” is not just a proverb .... it is also a fact that I have seen in practice .. .It's my policy that even if you die, you'll still shine.

crafts
1

About the Creator

Zarinabanu Zarinabanu

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.