Lifehack logo

The Zookeepers Wife: 2 Stars

Book review of Diane Ackerman's book, The Zookeeper's Wife

By Leah Lawrence Published 2 years ago 3 min read
3

"The Zookeeper's Wife" by Diane Ackerman is a true story that takes place in Poland during the Holocaust. Being is a brief summary of Ackerman's book as well as my overall thoughts and reasoning for the 2-star review.

Summary

The story of The Zookeeper's Wife is a true account of Polish Zookeepers, Jan and Antonina Żabiński. The Żabiński's used their Zoo as a front for an underground operation hiding Jews during the Holocaust. Using their empty animal cages, the Żabiński's would use code by referring to their guests by using animal names and their animals by using human names.

They did this in order to create confusion among the German officers who frequently visited the Zoo. They also had a constant stream of non-Jewish guests visit their house in order to increase confusion among the German's. With so many people going in and out of the Żabiński house, it became easier for more jews to enter without raising suspicion.

Throughout the novel, the Żabińskis encounter close calls with the Germans that threaten to uncover the entire underground operation. However, with Jan's confidence and Antonia's intuitive behavior, the Germans proved to be no match for the Żabińskis.

This story tells accounts of many Jewish families trying to survive and how the Żabińskis put their life on the line in order to help them. Throughout this story, Ackerman recounts the struggle of a growing family, the stress of constant secrecy, and the result of bravery, strength, and determination to save as many lives as possible.

My thoughts

Before I get into my review I'd like to make it clear that my low rating has nothing to do with the actual story. Jan, Antonia, and their son were extremely brave and cunning throughout the Holocaust. Their story is remarkably inspiring. My low rating is in regard to the way it is written/conveyed. I do not think the way this story is written gives justice to the incredible true story.

I started this book over a year ago. I got about 3 chapters in before I put it down and moved on to another book. However, the description of the book had caught my attention and it seemed like a story I would like so I kept the book on my list, determined to finish and hoping it was simply a slow start.

The Zookeepers Wife has everything I like in a story; mystery, history, danger, suspense and it was a Holocaust account I had never heard before. All signs pointed to me being a fan of this book.

However, once I picked it up again and immersed myself in the story I once again, lost interest.

I found myself getting lost in the drawn-out and precise descriptions used to describe the animals. Although the story is called "The Zookeepers Wife" I wasn't quite prepared for the endless detail of animal behavior that was conveyed throughout the pages.

Based on the description I was expecting more information and a stronger storyline about the process in which the Zoo acted as the underground operation for Jewish people hiding from the German's. I would have liked more intimate detail especially when it came to the face-to-face encounters and close calls the Żabińskis had with the Germans'.

For me, this story gave too many details in the areas I had little interest in and lacked details in the areas where I was eager to hear more.

I have read some glowing reviews for this story so perhaps I am alone in my opinion of "The Zookeepers Wife." While not my favorite book, I still encourage you to give it a read and draw your own conclusion.

Thank you for reading my book review of "The Zookeepers Wife" by Diane Ackerman. Stay tuned for more reviews coming soon!

Leah Lawrence

book reviews
3

About the Creator

Leah Lawrence

An avid reader, book reviewer, and storyteller. Sharing my stories, experiences, and book reviews.

Follow me on IG: @leah.m.lawrence

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.