Lifehack logo

The Time Has Come

To get that mess in check!

By Elle LunakPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
The Time Has Come
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

I’m the most organized disorganized human being you will ever meet. I’m so disorganized yet I still know exactly where everything is throughout my cluttered apartment that you would almost be fooled! But this year I have decided to change it all!

Now, I never usually know where to start when it comes to cleaning. Especially now (I really let my apartment get away from me). It got to the point where, even though I could still navigate the messy rooms, I realized it was feeding into my depression and I didn’t even want to come home to my own apartment because how disgusted I was with it and in turn myself. So, now is the time. THIS is my moment. The moment where, my entire 750 square foot apartment gets a makeover.

Utilizing the help of Better Home and Gardens Magazine Spring 2021, Pinterest, shopping on Shein and watching a TON of home shows on HGTV, I found hacks for not only getting organized but also ideas on how to make your apartment feel brand new! The first hack I am dying to try is creating your own storage unite. As pictured below, Home and Gardens magazine (pg.28,29) walks you step by step on how to DYI an open storage unite and I’m in love with the idea. This project suggests getting to hallow cabinets at each end, holding up a long slab of plywood. Creating a back to your storage unite you can then add hooks making easier access to coats, bags etc. I love this idea, especially for tight spaces and just having lack of storage in my home. I love the DIY because you can add your own ideas to it! Not only do you have a sleek, beautiful built-in looking storage space, but you also get to have bragging rights! As much as I love my magazines, with having computers in our pockets and craving more ideas I decided to also look to Pinterest.

Secrets OF Getting Organized Better Homes and Gardens Spring 2021

Pinterest comes and goes out of my life. I usually only use it for modeling posing, photoshoot ideas, etc. Until I realized how great it is for organization advice! I started creating boards for organization as a whole as well as broke it down by room (follow my Pinterest at ellelunak to see all my saved Pinterest to help with your own organization needs). One of my favorite article I have found is called "13 Organization Hacks You’ll Love” (https://pin.it/2qEX6IA) Shared by My Tidy Corner. If ya’ll are anything like myself, I’m always on a tight budget so I really enjoyed all the ideas they shared, organization with out breaking the bank. And the ideas aren’t only for in the home either! One of my favorites they put in there is number 4. $1 Mobile Trash Can. Not only are you now going to get some hacks for keeping your home organized with their thrifty suggestions but also your car! I’ve read the magazines and searched the web but I do also enjoy getting ideas from HGTV.

https://pin.it/2qEX6IA

My favorite show to watch on HGTV is their show about container homes, and tiny homes. Luxury Tiny Homes, is probably my number one favorite to watch, followed close by Container Homes. The reason I love going to the TV for my ideas is mainly for one reason. Inspiration. They’ll show ideas on how to organize a room that you maybe would have never even thought of! I love watching the interior design people work and create such beautiful rooms and I almost always find something I want to copycat or recreate. Speaking of interior design, now that you’ve gotten everything all organized and tidied up, it’s time for a make-over.

You may have heard of the online store called Shein? It’s one of my favorite stores to shop on, their clothing is reasonably priced and people give really great reviews that I almost always find the perfect fit every time. I used to only go on their app to shop for clothing or accessories to have fresh items to model in, until I actually took time to look through all the categories they sell and discovered they sell items for your home as well! Not only are they also an amazing option for cheap, on a budget storage items they also sell home decor, bedding, lights, and my personal favorite wall stickers! My ideas to give my apartment a new feel, is to buy their wall paper stickers. They have plain solid colors, marble and tile looks, wood looks; basically, any color or pattern look you’ve dreamed of achieving in your home. I love the idea that it just sticks on to your walls also! This is great for apartment living especially if you’re like me and aren’t allowed to paint your walls! And because the wall paper is a giant sticker, you don’t have to commit! Want to change your walls like you do your clothing?! Now, you can!

Shein Home Décor

Living in small spaces can be tough, and getting reorganized after being in such disarray for so long definitely can feel almost impossible. But if there’s anything I have learned, you feel better once you get your home picked up and clean. So get DIYing, cheap organization hacking or watch your favorite show on HGTV and lets Spring into organizing together.

house
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.