Lifehack logo

The Thrifted Jacket of Dreams

If I was a cartoon character, I would be drawn wearing it

By Alexandra CPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

We all have that one item of clothing we always reach for regardless of the occasion. It could be a pair of jeans that seem to have been sewn just for your body; or that pair of shoes that just go with anything; or a trusty shirt that you nailed all of your most important interviews in. It’s like a very special and close relationship it puts you at ease, complements you, supports you in any decision you would take that day. Just like cartoon characters are always drawn in the same outfit, you would be dawn wearing this item. It is the red shorts for Mickey Mouse, the white shirt for Homer Simpson, the sparkly red dress for Jessica Rabbit. The garment is part of the character.

For me, this item of clothing is a brown country-style jacket that I was not looking for and did not expect.

My friend told me about an event that was happening in our town that summer weekend. It was a Vintage Kilo Sale and I managed to get one of the last tickets in the morning. I had been to a few of these events before and I have always felt that it’s better to go early just in case all the good stuff gets snatched up. I always feel it is similar to going to some weird cool club when I go to these events, everyone in the queue looks so cool trying to show off their best vintage outfits, you get your wrist stamped at the door and you tend to make friends on your way in. And once you are inside, it’s madness. Everyone is rummaging around going through hundreds of garments. The whole experience is so fun for me I love the treasure-hunt and the endless possibilities that these sales offer, and I found a few cool jumpers and fun patterned shirts along the way. My friend and I laughed as we picked up things that were so ridiculous for us and made-up scenarios where we would wear them. We were there for a good time and hopefully to find some cool and sustainable clothes. There were a few people around us who were being very serious about the thrifting, pushing around very full bags of garments they were obviously going to try and sell on Depop or on their vintage online shop. There were also lots of teenagers who really want to impress their friends with their cool thrifted designer t-shirts. For us two in our mid-twenties it was all about having a way to feed our shopping addiction in a sustainable way.

It was at this bustling event that I found my coat. It was truly love at first sight. I was immediately attracted to the deep brown colour and I remember being very nervous someone will pick it up while I was waiting my turn to look through the coats. But they didn’t because it was somehow meant to be mine. I picked it up and looked at it admiringly. It has dark brown corduroy collar and cuffs and is made from a lightweight denim. It has two sets of large pockets that hold everything I need. It is large though and I am a small size 6 but I took it to try anyway because I thought it was just lovely.

There are no changing rooms at these events. They usually have a couple of changing tents with mirrors next to them. You have to get changed in the tent and then come out to see yourself wearing whatever you picked while the people in the queue usually will give you compliments and advice on whether it suits you. I didn’t have enough patience to wait in the queue to try on this coat though, so I just tried it on in a corner while my friend kindly held my phone camera for me as a mirror. It was oversized in the most perfect way and I felt like I found my armour, that made me feel cool and comfortable at the same time.

I now reach for this coat on most days as it seems to just go with everything. I love wearing it while going on long walks because it makes me feel like I’m nailing the country-chic style. I have also worn it for dates even though it’s not the most romantic or sexy look, but it makes me feel safe and comfortable and beautiful and that’s the best way to feel.

This Jacket is of course not the only think I ever bought at one of these events, even though it is my favourite. I think it’s worth mentioning some other items that I got at these kilo thrifting sales. Firstly, there is the most amazing black and white jumpsuit with this cool art print, I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything quite like it.

I also found the perfect pair of jeans. I remember when I tried these on, I thought they had been made for me. They are a think stiff denim that will last forever and I feel they will never let me down.

The final honourable mention is my favourite floral shirt which makes me feel like a true vintage queen. It has the cutest little ditsy flowers on a ruched material.

I already have my ticket for the next vintage sale event, and I can’t wait to see what I will fall in love with next.

clothing
Like

About the Creator

Alexandra C

I'm a 28 year old designer, painter and aspiring writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.