Lifehack logo

The Place of the Way

My Corner of the Planet

By RJPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
The Place of the Way
Photo by Philipp Berndt on Unsplash

I’ve learned multiple lessons in my life, usually twice and three times over. But eventually, they stick and get added to my playbook. A principle that keeps rearing its ugly head is the value of my environment. It’s the reason your elementary school teacher demands your desk remain pristine. It’s also why your parents made you make your bed just to get back in it later. Your physical space dictates your mental space.

This lesson first appeared to me in 2018. I was working at my local Walmart, cutting my teeth in the retail jungle. My supervisor opened every shift with a meeting about how we sucked and needed to work harder. She was a short blond woman with piercing green eyes and a curt southern accent. She had a way of motivating you to give more effort while deteriorating your self-confidence on the side.

By Markus Spiske on Unsplash

I wanted to impress her; no one seemed to be able to. So I did work harder. Soon my body was stiff and aching. I was exhausted every day, and I went to bed every night at a prompt at 7 pm.

When I was on shift, my supervisor would give me praise and demean me, usually keeping me beyond my scheduled hours. Nothing was enough, and I eventually took to avoiding her. Even so, I spent my workday terrified of seeing her and my personal time dreading my workday. She dictated my thoughts and polluted my mental health.

This job at Walmart was the most money I had ever made. It didn’t matter. My environment mattered more because of its weight in my life. Only after I realized that did my perspective shift.

Today, in 2021, I live in a 262 square foot studio. The bathroom and balcony mostly eat up that space. Leaving one room for the kitchen and....well everything else. Across from our cooking space in a small corner of the room, shaped like a pizza slice-exists my functional dojo.

Why should we build very large spaces when they are not necessary? We can design halls spanning several kilometers and covering a whole city, but we have to ask, what does it really make? What does society really need?

-Frei Otto

Dojo is a Japanese term that means “place of the way.” I sleep, meditate, workout, write, relax, eat, and repeat in this dojo. With a few tools, this corner of the room can transform to fit my every need. I’m able to bottle up the experience of living in a big home, and bring it to a less than 100 sq. ft. space.

Tools for Space Building

By Katie Rodriguez on Unsplash

1. Ikea FRIHETEN Couch

This couch is the anchor of the space. It can switch from a couch to a bed and has storage to house our bedding during the day. I found it one afternoon while I was taking out the trash. Someone had thrown it away and left out the screws, but I ordered them through Ikea and that easy I had a brand new couch (and bed).

This couch creates a divide between sleeping and daily life. Before having the sofa, it was hard to seat guests and there was no distinction between off mode and work mode. This couch solves that issue by functioning as multiple pieces of furniture and storage.

2. Convertible table

By Abel Y Costa on Unsplash

We also utilize a table that can lift up and down to serve as a coffee table, but also a dinner table. The surface of the table can even extend to seat more people when needed.

By using one piece of furniture to fit the needs of two we open up our space and make the small area look (and feel) bigger than it is.

3. The Art Wall

On the west corner of the room we've created an art wall. There we display pieces from friends, bought from shows, and original creations. It's a great way to make use of vertical space and make the area our own.

People are visual and if you see things that reinforce the identity you want to have it improves your sense of well being. It says "this is a safe space where you can be yourself." Use decorations that speak to that.

Parting Words

Illustration by Malini Basu

I'm happy with all the different parts of my life existing within the same four walls. I can make it different and new feeling every day if I wanted. I have the basics that allow me to customize my corner for any activity or desire. If I need a refresher it's so easy to move the staple pieces and create a completely new feeling room.

"Changing up your space’s layout can have positive impacts on your overall health. Getting more natural light can increase serotonin production in the brain, boosting your mood and helping you feel calmer."

-By Julia Greene,

I can escape into the stories I write. I travel to different universes, while staying motionless typing on my lap top. The outside world is there for me to take over, but when the noise grows too loud, I know the perfect place to retreat to. Somewhere to rest, or sleep, to read, or write. To recharge and feel safe. The place of the way- my functional dojo.

house
2

About the Creator

RJ

Find me on Instagram at @awriterwhodraws

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.