Lifehack logo

The Joy of No Bottle

My Laundry Obsession Continues

By Paula ShabloPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
A new way to wash clothes

If you've followed my social media in the last few months, you may have formed the opinion that I have an obsession with laundry.

I don't know if it's an obsession. I just know I can't seem to get from step 3--fold, to step 4--put away without having someone stand over me with a whip. "Hee-yah!" Snap! Crack! "Put those clothes away!"

I kind of hate laundry.

I'm kind of obsessed with it, too, I guess.

I am also a raving insomniac, and sometimes I look at my Facebook page, reading memes and hoping to bore myself to sleep, which is how I found a product I couldn't bring myself to pass up. Toss a sheet in the washer; no pouring, no measuring; no big, bulky plastic bottles taking up space! No plastic waste in the landfill!

I still wasn't sleepy, but I wasn't going to shop in my half-awake state, so I shared the ad on my Facebook feed so I would be able to find it again.

I asked questions and did some research. Read reviews. Discussed it with a couple of people.

I don't usually put this much thought into a purchase, but it could last awhile, so it took me a while.

Then I spent my money. Ordered. Done. No take backs.

Now I wait. And then, I suppose I will see what I will see.

Here's my...what? Excuse? Justification?

Why did I order this product?

It's true, I wasn't looking for laundry detergent. I was mindlessly scrolling and praying for sleep. I have three bottles of detergent in the laundry room this very minute.

But I don't care. I did laundry today, and just the experience from this morning pushed me into gear. I searched my Facebook feed and opened the link.

I need a product like this.

I'm getting old. I have arthritis in my fingers and wrists, and lately I have been having trouble with lifting and pouring and even opening the laundry bottles. My wrists cry out in protest every time I measure out a cup of liquid soap.

More than once, I have dropped the bottles. What a waste! I can get the floor clean with a lot less detergent than that mess! And to be perfectly frank, if I wanted to mop, I wouldn't start in the laundry room!

Everytime I empty a bottle and rinse it out to put it in the recycle bin, I'm reminded that plastics can be recycled once, only once, and then those bottles just sit there in landfills. Forever.

Over many, many years, they break down into tiny bits, but they never biodegrade, and those bits of plastic are in everything. Your food. Your water. Your body.

What could be better, I reasoned, that a product that is 100% biodegradable, stores in a space the size of my Kindle and doesn't hurt my hands? It's a win/win/win: I decrease my carbon footprint, maximize storage space and save my fingers.

It would be all-around better for my health, my mother's health, your health and the health of the planet for me to buy this product.

Earth Breeze comes in scented and unscented formulas and is hyperallergenic. They don't test on animals. They are a Vegan product.

It's also economical.

I ran the numbers, and I'd spend a good deal less money for it than I do the liquids. I can get a subscription and save even more. And it's delivered right to my door.

Another few wins.

So...Click!

Honestly, I feel pretty good about myself right now.

Of course, it remains to be seen if I will like it. Will it smell good? Will it get my clothes clean?

Am I honestly feeling a little buyer's remorse right now?

Uh oh.

No!

I'll never know if I don't try. And if it turns out to be a great product, I will absolutely follow up and let you know!

product review
3

About the Creator

Paula Shablo

Daughter. Sister. Mother. Grandma. Author. Artist. Caregiver. Musician. Geek.

(Order fluctuates.)

Follow my blog at http://paulashablo.com

Follow my Author page at https://www.amazon.com/Paula-Shablo/e/B01H2HJBHQ

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.