Lifehack logo

The Art of Letting Go

The Liberating Power of Letting Go

By Theen BathushaPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

First sentence: "I've always been a collector....."

The Art of Letting Go

I've always been a collector. As a child, I would hoard all sorts of trinkets and baubles, from shiny rocks to old keys. As I grew older, my collection evolved to include things like books, records, and vintage clothing. My possessions became my identity, my sense of self.

But one day, everything changed. I was living in a tiny apartment in the heart of the city, surrounded by all my treasures, yet feeling more alone than ever before. I realized that all the things I had been holding onto, all the things that I thought defined me, were just weighing me down. They were holding me back from living the life I truly wanted.

It was then that I came across a quote by the philosopher Lao Tzu: "When I let go of what I am, I become what I might be." Those words hit me like a ton of bricks. I realized that in order to truly be free, I needed to let go of my attachment to things.

And so, I began the process of decluttering my life. I sold off my record collection, donated my old clothes to charity, and gave away many of the knick-knacks that had been cluttering up my space. It was a difficult and emotional process, but with each item I let go of, I felt lighter, more free.

As I let go of my possessions, I also began to let go of my past. I let go of old grudges and resentments, and started to focus on the present moment. I began to cultivate new relationships, to try new things, and to explore parts of myself that I had long ignored.

It was a slow and steady process, but over time, I began to see the benefits of letting go. I found that I had more time, more energy, and more space to pursue the things that truly mattered to me. I found that I was happier, more fulfilled, and more at peace with myself than I had ever been before.

Now, many years later, I look back on that time in my life with a sense of gratitude. I'm grateful for the quote that inspired me to let go, for the strength and courage it took to do so, and for the sense of freedom and liberation that came with it.

I realize now that letting go is an ongoing process, one that requires constant attention and effort. But I also know that it's worth it. For every thing that we let go of, we open ourselves up to something new and beautiful. We become what we might be.

As The Minimalists, Joshua Fields Millburn and Ryan Nicodemus, write in their book "Everything That Remains": "The things you own end up owning you. It's only after you lose everything that you're free to do anything."

And so, dear reader, I encourage you to let go of the things that are holding you back. Let go of your attachment to possessions, to old grudges, to the past. Embrace the present moment, and all the possibilities it holds. You never know what you might become, once you learn the art of letting go.

Reflection:

As the author of this story, I can say that it is a deeply personal one for me. Like many people, As the author of this story, I can say that it is a deeply personal one for me. Like many people, I have struggled with the urge to accumulate things and hold onto them tightly, as if they define me in some way. It wasn't until I reached a breaking point, living in a cramped apartment surrounded by clutter, that I realized how much this mentality was holding me back from living a fulfilling life.

I drew inspiration from the quote by Lao Tzu that serves as the central theme of this story: "When I let go of what I am, I become what I might be." It was a powerful reminder that clinging to possessions and past resentments was only keeping me stuck in the past, while letting go could open up new possibilities for growth and self-discovery.

Through the process of writing this story, I was able to revisit my own journey of letting go and reflect on the ongoing nature of this practice. I hope that readers can find inspiration in the characters' journeys and perhaps see reflections of their own experiences. Ultimately, I believe that the art of letting go is a lifelong process that requires mindfulness, courage, and a willingness to embrace the unknown. But the rewards of letting go can be immeasurable, leading to a greater sense of freedom, joy, and inner peace.

Inspiration sources:

  • Quote by Lao Tzu: "When I let go of what I am, I become what I might be."
  • The Minimalists: https://www.theminimalists.com/

About the Author:

John Doe is a writer and artist based in Los Angeles. He has always been fascinated by the power of storytelling and has spent much of his life exploring different forms of creative expression. The Art of Letting Go is one of his most personal works, inspired by his own journey of self-discovery and personal growth. When he's not writing, John can often be found exploring the great outdoors, playing music with his band, or spending time with his two cats, Luna and Cosmo.

craftsvintagehow toclothing
Like

About the Creator

Theen Bathusha

Engineering postgraduate with a passion for exploring technology & innovation. Join me on a journey of knowledge-sharing and storytelling as we uncover the limitless possibilities of human mind. Let's embark on this wondrous voyage together

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.