Lifehack logo

Thank You Insta!

How social media made my shopping addiction worse

By A.A.C.Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Thank You Insta!
Photo by Tamanna Rumee on Unsplash

Hi, I’m Aaliyah and I am a shopaholic. I can’t help it, I love and thrive on shopping. It gives me my cardio, I am able to go outside and most importantly, I was able to know for sure if something was the right fit (no pun intended). However, my shopping days took a break last March and I thought that I would never get that thrill back again. That is until I joined Instagram last April. I found relief on Instagram because I love to take pictures. I thought “it couldn’t get better than this”...until I seen ads. At first, I thought “Wow didn’t expect to see ads”. However, I started to see some pretty interesting products that caught my eye.

So, one of the things that I love to do is shop for other people. It gives me meaning to buy gifts that I know my love ones will love or find unique. So, for my sister, she loves things that are unique, memorable and earthy. Basically where you put thought into it. I had seen something that I know she would like: A Birthdate Candle. So this candle is basically a horoscope candle that not only puts her horoscope but the date of birth as well as the meaning of those born on that day. She as well as most of my family are into horoscopes and this seems perfect. I had mentioned that her birthday is late August and I needed it here before then. I was able to pick a date and what did you know, it showed up on time. I honestly was surprised since literally everything that I ship or buy online never comes the day they say. I opened it and it was awesome. It was the type of gift that you would keep for a long time. While the candle was nice, I didn’t want that to be her only gift, so I got her something else: A Send-A-Cake. I was sold as soon as I seen the video of people’s reaction to getting these. Basically, it is a box in the shape of a “present” and you can pick any design of the box. After you pick your box, then you pick you cake flavors: red velvet, carrot, chocolate, etc. Finally, you can also pick what other things you want inside. Something that will literally explode out of the box when you opened it. I choose the butterflies since it is my sister’s favorite. The Send-A-Cake shipped and not only was I able to get the shipment on whatever day I wanted, but it seems that they can also come in a day! The Send-A-Cake arrived but I didn’t want to open yet because I didn’t want to ruin her gift so I waited...

August 23 finally came and my sister of course loved the candle and she was so hooked, she bought me one as as well! Then the Send-A-Cake. I was nervous because I hoped that it wasn’t a scam because sometimes things don’t appear like they do in real life (hello Instagram models! JK), but she opened it and she always wanted a Send-A-Cake but wasn’t sure if they were “the real deal”. So she opens it and...she loved it! I was relieved that she loved it and it was perfect. So I bought the exact same gift for my brother-in-law a few days later, except his Send-A-Cake box was a beautiful blue and instead of butterflies coming out, candy came out of the box. He was just as amused as my sister.

Finally, my last shipment came from Hollywood HairBar. So, one thing that I aim to have is long and voluminous hair. However, I am a little more skeptical with hair products because as a black woman, we cannot just put anything in our hair. Before I bought the product(s), I looked into the comments and I seen every woman talk about how their hair grew from the products and made their hair texture improve. I also looked into the videos and the people who use it religiously. I decided to give it a shot. I bought the product and tested to see how my hair would turn out. Within a week, I noticed my hair had growth and was silky. I decided to buy the product again and even got my mother, a professional hair stylist, into the product. I bought both the oil and rice water. I immediately felt my hair change for the better. The products also smelled really good as well. It was like a minty smell.

Overall, I finally found passion again in shopping. If you had told me that I would do majority of my shopping online, I would have not believed you. If you told me that the shopping online would get my shopping from Instagram, I think I would have been more confused. However, Instagram gave me a new excitement because now I can explore many new and unique products that I have only heard of. Now excuse me while I go add more to my shopping cart!

clothing
Like

About the Creator

A.A.C.

I want to see if I have a career in writing and put it to the test

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.