Lifehack logo

Spending My Seasons with Fiskars

A Craft for Every Season

By Melissa Medved DavidsonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

When the hazy warmth of summer starts disappearing, and I can smell the crisp scent of autumn leaves in the air, I put away my sandals and lawn furniture and pull out my knitting, crocheting and needle craft supplies. My favorite part of the cozy fall and winter months has always been crafting! I pass my spare time on cold snowy days with a cup of steaming hot chocolate in one hand and a pair of Fiskars scissors in the other. My projects range from knitted dog sweaters or hats that I can finish in an afternoon, to Afghans that spend an entire season draped across my lap or couch until complete. Between September and February, my hooks and needles are feverishly moving to make seasonal dish cloths, holiday gifts, and items to donate to charitable causes in my community.

Piles of yarn in the various rooms of my house rival the piles of snow the accumulate in the yard. Skeins of thread line my shelves in every color from crimson red or pine green to winter wheat and ice blue. The colors of yarn on my hooks change with the colors of the months outside my window.

Because this has been my passion for so long, many of my patterns are memorized. They are patterns my mother taught me at a young age. Like many people have old recipes in their minds, I have patterns in mine! When I need something new, I just search for something creative to keep my projects fresh. One tool that never changes through the seasons, however, is scissors! A pair of Fiskars scissors is always in my hand or at my side while creating any project. The scissors are reliable and comfortable to use and have snipped hundreds of yarns ends and thread knots when the pattern calls for a new color or stitch design. The Fiskars are my one constant-- the final tool in my hand when I tie off my yarn or thread, take a deep breath and relish in the accomplishment of another completed project.

Just like I have different types of yarn for different projects, I have different Fiskars for each craft, as well. The consistent performance of my orange handled Fiskars along with their lightweight design make them more than my everyday favorite. They are also my choice for travel shears. When I find myself away from home with a moment or two to spare, I add a few stitches to an unfinished project. Fiskars are always in my bag to help me complete the task. My fine point Fiskars allow me to snip threads close to the fabric to conceal the loose ends with care. When working with embroidery floss or crochet cotton threads, I reach for the larger shears. Their seemingly ever-sharp edge can trim the bulky weight yarn with ease. They are the best to shape a perfect fluffy pom pom for the top of a winter hat!

On occasion, when I am crafting in a group someone asks to borrow my scissors for their own craft project. I hesitate and don’t immediately offer up my pair of Fiskars. Instead, I ask “what will you be cutting?” Once they respond, I reach into my craft bag and offer them a spare pair of Fiskars scissors for the job. I love that Fiskars offers multi-pack specials from time to time because it allows me to give away a few pairs to help others in their crafting needs. Because they cut most craft materials with ease and last for years, I’ve given away Fiskars to quilters, scrap-bookers, collage makers and other artists over the years. They make the perfect gift.

Once the fall and winter indoor crafting seasons have passed, my passion for doesn’t stop, it just shifts. After a long snowy winter, I’m craving warm rays of sunshine. This is when I gather up my handmade embroidered gardening apron and my cross-stitch garden flag and reach for yet another pair of Fiskars to pursue my spring and summer passion-- gardening. With my Fiskars 23" Power-Lever Softgrip Hedge Shears in hand, I head outdoors to clean up. The overgrown brush is no task for these shears with the extendable handles for hard-to-reach areas. After the pruning and trimming in my flower gardens is complete, I can enjoy the beautiful backyard landscape on my patio. The scent of lilac or lavender wafts through the air as I place my fresh glass of Lemonade on an embroidered Sunflower placemat I made in December, and smile. I can now sit back and look out at my beautiful flower garden. A few minutes later, I’ll reach in my bag, take out my shears, and begin a new needlepoint project while sitting in the sunshine.

Thank you, Fiskars, for providing me, an avid indoor and outdoor crafter, with a quality line of shears for every task. You brand offers an exceptional warranty and your products handle the most intricate tasks with ease, yet still conquer the rugged outdoors, covering all of my crafting and hobby needs.

crafts
Like

About the Creator

Melissa Medved Davidson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.