Lifehack logo

Sparkle

A journey through social media and your shopping cart

By Ewa RitchiePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Sparkle
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

I’m a window shopper. To make it even worse, I’m a cyclical window shopper. One of those people that chooses something, hangs onto it as they continue to wander around the shop. That scenario repeats itself on social media. The only difference is that my shopping arena expands quite dramatically. Does it sparkle? Does it go zero to 60 in 4.2 seconds? Does it come in many sizes and colours? Does it bark? The discovery of something new, outside your comfort zone, is exhilarating, something I would recommend for anyone to try!

My splurge, the next level of window shopping, has to fulfil a number of requirements. A very important way of making your way through the maze of colours, sounds and illusions.

One, does the image reflect what the item is? Once I get past the instant infatuation with the item, I have to assess. Clicking on the image to see all angles, all views and zooming in, then zooming out, and then zooming in again. Click back and click forward, and again. Item assessed!

Two, put it in my cart. This step makes it real. I can almost feel the packaging as I rip it open. Seeing that number change in the top right corner. Sometimes, if your lucky, it may even make a noise. As if the angels were singing.

Three, does it stay in the cart? Once a review of the site is started, more things are added. Some in triplicate; some just on its very own. As the cart expands to double digits, I reassess again. I wander off to another site, view a couple dozen more stories and slowly make my way back. This is like a walk around the shop and trying to talk myself out or into the purchase. This could take minutes, hours and sometimes days. Screenshots can be taken, just in case. Like a selfie of the item; seemingly like a quick romance.

Four, has my cart refreshed back to zero? Do I have the energy to go ahead and refill. Is my heart really into it? I take that moment to see what sparked my interest initially. What made me look at it in the first place? As fingers click through all the delights, I once again am captivated by that one item. It must be mine. Quick, before I change my mind, back in the cart it goes.

Five, the money is taken. I know that once I start entering my payment information, I will actually move from window shopper to full on shopper! I must admit that as I pay for the item, my heart flutters and the excitement starts to build. The confirmation number is the seal on the transaction, an end to the twirl.

When you use social media, especially Instagram, it brings window shopping to an epic level. The way in which items are presented feels like a glossy magazine, without the reflection. The images capture a sense of wonder, beauty and access that are missed elsewhere. Most do not feel like ads, they feel like a lifestyle you can attain. Have your card ready and waiting.

I have clicked through cars, bags, leisure wear, shoes, rings, rings and more rings. The sparkle, the shine; I knew I needed one of those. Now we click. How do I get one? I splurged! Using my window shopper methodology, I placed these beautiful stackable rings into my cart. I needed them and I wanted them! Seeing the detail of each curve, each reflection, made the ring seem supernatural.

Many have said that you only live once. There are things you see online that change your perspective, change the direction in which you see yourself. Things that you thought were beyond your reach now seem a click away. Not all of them have to be tangible items. You can participate in actions that could change the world, really change the direction of the way the world is now. That sparkle could appear from adopting a whale, participating in creating learning kits for kids in need or donating your time to empower any individual..

Finally, the delivery, by post or email. The feeling of a special gift you forgot you ordered. Like magical unicorns and rainbows all at the same time, a quite feeling of happiness. My journey is complete.

When all of these things come together, especially if the item is better than expected, the entire process seems worth every click. As I type this story with sparkly, stackable rings on my fingers. Now, what’s next? What sparkles for you?

social media
Like

About the Creator

Ewa Ritchie

A Canadian in Scotland with stories to tell ..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.