Lifehack logo

Sleep Resolution

Guide to Healthy Sleep Habits

By VORPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Sleep Resolution
Photo by Megan te Boekhorst on Unsplash

What is rest? Year after year New Year's Eve comes around and I think the new year will be different. I went into January 2021 with a resolution of writing more and finally graduating from nursing school. During this year I’ve hardly had time to write as I am tackling nursing school, which will be over in June 2022!! So as it turned out, even though I am close to graduating my nursing program, I wrote less, if hardly at all. I only had time for the numerous papers that are due, and the group projects, and exam after exam.

Nursing school has completely taken over my life, and has brought my anxiety to the surface in ways I didn't know existed in me. The more I learned, and the more challenging the program became, I began to realize that I need to take care of myself. I need rest! So my resolution this time around will be to manage my time better to get through the next six months of nursing school in my healthiest self, mind, body, and spirit. I am feeling empowered to live my healthiest life, and to maintain true adequate rest. So to help anyone who like myself find the demands of life makes it seem impossible to get true rest, I decided to share some tips that I feel may help me balance rest and strain of my day to day demands.

The first thing I am going to do is set a bedtime, and set a goal to wake up the same time each day. I know as an adult it may seem silly for me to have a bedtime, but it is a start on my journey to wellness and maintaining adequate rest. Secondly, I am going to stay out of my bedroom. I will stay out of my bed especially. I want to begin to train my brain to associate my bedroom and with sleep and rest. I am also going to avoid exercise within 2-3 hours before my set bedtime. I am going to make a concious effort to avoid screen time at least 30 minutes before my set bedtime as well. My next task I am going to avoid eating, especially heavy meals within 2 hours of bedtime ( I am considering fasting from 11am-7pm). I will especially avoid any food that I know may cause any upset stomach or any other G.I problems. I am going to eat healthy year round.

My last step to maintain rest and wellness is that I am going to avoid unecessary stress this year as much as possible. During my studies to become a nurse, I have learned so many things about the human body, one being that our body has an automatic response to stress. It is called our fight or flight. Our body release hormones and so many responses to get us ready for the fight of our lives, or stress, or excitement, even when we are experiencing embarrassment. This natural response is a great thing, however unresolved, and excess stress keeps our body in fight or flight mode, which does its damage to our body physically, if not resolved.

I hope these small changes that I am begining can also help to start me on my journey to make sufficient rest a priority. I hope that once I begin to achieve true rest that it empowers me to further my goals, and resolutions throughout the next year in such a uncertain time in the world. I vow to be good to myself, and to know that my health is my wealth, and that adequate rest falls into the healthy category! I vow to have Happy New Year and may all my resolutions come true!

how to
Like

About the Creator

VOR

Writer.

Follow me on Instagram and facebook @writtenbyvor

Tips welcomed and encouraged.

All inquiries email [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.