Lifehack logo

Sensory Friendly Clothing

Chronic pain, chronic injury, and autism make shopping difficult. Here are some tips.

By Caroline MckennaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Sensory Friendly Clothing
Photo by Kinga Cichewicz on Unsplash

I have fibromyalgia, three chronic injuries, and ASD. I am a college student, so spending hundreds of dollars is not an option. I like fashion, but I often find I cannot wear current trends or certain pieces because of sensory and physiological needs. After researching and trying different things for what has now been years, I have compiled a list of comfortable, current, and not ugly pieces, so you don't have to.

None of this is in any way sponsored. This is based on my experience as someone with chronic pain and sensory issues trying to find clothes that look nice and feel good. I have worn and owned every piece. The recommendations are all my own opinion.

Aerie's "OFFLINE Flare Legging"

OFFLINE By Aerie The Hugger High Waisted Foldover Flare Legging- These are the only pants I can wear in public right now. Soft, thick material provides support but does not feel too constricting. Any of Aerie's OFFLINE leggings or yoga pants (called flare leggings) are made from thicker material than other brands. They feel like actual pants and are "squat proof." The foldover waistband provides light support through the low back and pelvis. Unlike most pants for women, these pants have deep pockets. And for as comfortable as they are, they are insanely flattering. They cost about $50, but Aerie runs clearance and sales frequently, and I bought my first pair for $25.

Duluth Trading Company's "Dang Soft Bralette"

Women's Dang Soft Bralette by Duluth Trading Company- Thick band and straps provide minimal support. Most comfortable bra I own. It is so soft and does not pinch anywhere. It has no cups or underwire, so I would not recommend it for larger chests or high impact. Runs about $20-$30.

Brooks' Adrenaline GTS 22

Adrenaline GTS 22 by Brooks- Support running shoe. Arch support and heel support make this a very comfortable shoe. I use them for running, when I can, and hiking. I have a scar around the lateral malleolus on my ankle (the bony ball on the outside part of the ankle), but these shoes avoid the scar, which is a major bonus for me.

Gap Dress Pants

High Rise Recycled Pull-On Pants by Gap- I will apologize and forefront this by saying that these are $80 pants. They are soft, made of polyester, rayon, and spandex. Stretchy, but still a dress pant. They have a slight suede feel to them, but not extremely so. Stretchy waist and decent pockets in both the front and the back. I personally have some issues with Gap and Old Navy, but they do run sales frequently. This oatmeal color is the only color offered.

Oofos' Adjustable Slides

OOFOS OOahh Sport Flex- These are my house slippers and favorite summer shoe. I have two pairs. Oofos makes several different styles, but the adjustable slides are my favorite since I can adjust them. I could not recommend these enough. They are American Podiatric Medical Association (APMA) Approved, made of foam, are water-safe, and have traction soles. My grandparents, sister, and mom all wear them as well. My mom is a runner and uses them as recovery shoes and my grandfather plays golf and wears the company's slip-on tennis shoes while golfing. My grandmother has chronic pain as well, hers including arthritis and edema. These are easy to get on, although not the most attractive, depending on the look you are going for.

Birkenstock clogs

Boston Soft Footbed by Birkenstock- I know, I know. These shoes are hella expensive, but I firmly believe they are worth it. Birkenstock provides a certain level of arch support that most sandals or clogs do not have. I would recommend the linked clogs or any of their sandals.

Other advice- this may seem silly, but try wearing your socks inside out. This gets rid of the annoying toe seam and any other little strings. Soft undershirts are a must, especially if work requires a more professional appearance. My wardrobe is mostly t-shirts, but I have a ton of sweaters for less casual circumstances. I like wearing a turtle neck or a tight tank top for support underneath sweaters, but also to place a barrier between myself and the knit fabric, which usually begins to irritate me. For other undergarments, I recommend boy shorts without a crotch seam. Tomboy X has a lot of great options for everyone. Aerie also has some cute, soft options in a typical panty. Lastly, silk bonnets have made my life 1000x easier. I don't have to do my hair as frequently because the bonnet protects it and it eliminates the annoyance of having my hair in my face or in a ponytail while I sleep. I bought mine from an Etsy shop two years ago, so I do not have the link anymore.

clothing
Like

About the Creator

Caroline Mckenna

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.