Lifehack logo

Say Hello To My Little Hand-Warming Friends

if you got constant cold hand syndrome and love cute things these handwarmers are for you

By yanina maysonetPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4
the toasties, photo by me

Yes, these are plushy toasts with happy little faces on them that you wear as gloves while you type to keep your hands warm. No, I regret nothing.

The technical name is 5V USB Powered Fingerless Heated Toast Gloves but I prefer to call them my cute toasties.

I first saw them on Instagram though not the way you may expect. It was not an ad but a friend of mine had purchased them and was showing them off in a picture. I immediately fell in love with their cute little toasty faces.

I am one of those people that constantly suffers from cold feet and hands. I might as well be a white walker from Game of Thrones because when I touch people they freak out about how cold I am. Socks resolve half of that problem but wearing real gloves while typing is a little overboard for me.

This winter was a cold one but was I really willing to pay $18.99 plus shipping on Amazon for these adorable companions? I told myself no! Yet I also innocently put them in my wish list. Perhaps one day I would purchase them so I did not want to forget about them. They have a four and a half star rating on amazon and all the reviews are from happy customers.

They were constantly on my mind though. My main concerns were would they get overwhelmingly hot while wearing them? Did I really need something so unnecessary but so cute? Would I even use them often or would they sit in the box they came in for all of time?

I think I lasted maybe a week or two before I caved. I bought them and three days later they arrived.

useful box for keeping them, picture by me

They came in this adorable little box and, after some screaming, I immediately put them on for a test run. THE CUTENESS IS SO OVERWHELMING. They are toasty warm of course, ease off on their own so they do not overheat, and have a long range actually with the chord so you are not feeling like you are wearing warming handcuffs. I would say it was definitely worth its adorable hype.

Something I was not expecting or even considered was how extremely soft they are. I have pretty sensitive skin so having something comfortable that does not affect that was a plus I did not even know I wanted but was happy to receive.

I was clearly meant to be a hand model, picture by me

This is what they look like on the palm side. It has a space for your fingers so they are never encumbered thus free to type away without any issue. I thought the chord might get in the way but it is built in a way that it sort of floats next to your hands as you type. All in all, this little precious handwarmer set is made for convenience and comfort.

The one con I can find is that they are not machine washable so you have to make sure to keep them clean and away from any spilling drinks. One review I saw said that the product had lasted them several months without issue so I definitely look forward to the warm-hand days ahead of me.

I would 100% recommend them for people with constant-cold-hands. It is something easy to wear, easy to use, and is extremely cute. I have had them for a month and use them nearly every day. Spring may be approaching but for those of us with constantly cold hands all year round this is a reasonably priced gift that arrives rather quickly and you may get many uses out of.

Here is a link for where you can purchase these toasties!

clothing
4

About the Creator

yanina maysonet

I love to write fiction stories of the supernatural, romance, high fantasy, or science fiction variety. A bit of a baby, a bit of a rolling stone, just doing my best to avoid getting arrested. @ziggyer5 on the instagram.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.