Lifehack logo

Producing a Formal Document with Dyslexia

A Helpful Article to Assist Dyslexics with Formal Writing

By Adam MaxtedPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to read this article. I do hope you find it interesting.

I have been asked on many occasions “Adam, if you are dyslexic, does it take you ages to write anything, and how are you able to write them so well?”

So this has lead me to write this article, to share the tools I have learned and which I put into practice to assist my dyslexia. I use the word “assist” because I believe dyslexia can’t be fully overcome but it can be assisted.

Please note that having dyslexia does not always mean you will make spelling and grammatical errors—it can be number-based, memory-based and take many other forms. My dyslexia means I struggle to translate what is being said in my head into what I want to say in writing. There are a number of jumps and hurdles that the translation takes before it reaches the end.

So how do I produce formal documentation?

1. Produce a bullet point plan.

I know in my mind, tasks and words just buzz around like a mess. So writing a quick plan helps me concentrate on each topic. I can create the correct order in which things need to be written.

2. Handwrite a first draft.

I handwrite a first draft and whilst doing so I speak out loud as I write. This is a very important stage and technique for me. It helps my concentration and the flow of ideas. Once I have written out my piece I start reading it back to myself. I may spot some mistakes as I read which helps me learn and understand for future reference.

3. Type up the document.

The next step is to type the document up. Again, I read out loud as I type. Hearing them said out loud helps me spot mistakes easier. I may identify a better way of describing something or have a further brainwave or add more information.

Then I print off the document and read through the hard copy. Speaking out loud so I can hear how it sounds. Listening to the words is a great tool for someone with dyslexia or anyone else as you can hear how others will hear and read it.

Remember, being dyslexic is an advantage as you think about topics in a different way. You approach information differently. Your readers will feel like you have created a great new insight to the topic of discussion.

Always have belief in your intelligence, knowledge or content as dyslexia has no impact on this.

4. My final step is to have someone check over my work.

A fresh pair of eyes goes a long way. I have a few people I ask for help, these can be a family member, a friend and a mentor.

Always get your work checked. It is nothing to be embarrassed about. Find someone you are comfortable with and see how it makes your amazing piece even more amazing.

A Few Quick Tips

  • Speak as you write
  • Speak as you read
  • Re-read
  • Avoid words such as: And, Always, Because, & This is. These words are what I call filler words and nine times out of ten, not necessary. My mum used to cross out near enough all of these words from any of my homework I had done, until I learnt to do this myself.

I hope you found this post useful.

Remember Dyslexia is just a different thought process, and we can create ways to assist it.

Please let me know your thoughts or if you have any further tips.

Thank You

how to
Like

About the Creator

Adam Maxted

Hi thanks for visiting my bio. My name is Adam I am what I call a random writer / blogger, whatever pops in my head I get it written on paper. I am happy as long as I make one person smile ☺️

J

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.