Lifehack logo

Pre- & Post-Travel Depression

Recommendations to keep yourself from feeling blue before and after your adventures.

By Crystal A. WolfePublished 2 years ago 6 min read
3
Photo by Gabriel on Unsplash

I love traveling, and I keep a countdown timer on my phone for my next adventure and when it's time to book a new one. Traveling is personal for me, and each time I book a trip and return from one, I can not help but feel a blanket of depression wash over me.

The road to a consistent mental-health situation has not been easy. Like others, I experience "highs" and "lows." By some miracle - or resiliency - I remain upbeat and do my best to stay on the optimistic side. However, I have to contribute a lot by looking forward to something.

For me: It's travel.

I have been to ten countries (so far), and I still have many more to go. I am not sure what next adventure I will choose, but the one thing that I can count on is depression. This is not "normal" depression. You know? The kind that leaves you walking around with a constant feeling of emptiness? Instead, I am referring to the specific pre- and post-travel types of depression.

NOTE: I am not a subject matter expert nor giving medical advice as I am only commenting on my observations and behavior.

You can practically set your watch to my mood before and after traveling: I turn into a mean person approximately 30 days from vacation. It's shocking how easily I get angry at stupid things around this time when I usually wouldn't bat an eye at them. Overall, you can count on me being:

A. Easily annoyed

B. Often agitated

C. Forgetful

D. Losing sleep

E. Having an unending desire to leave

F. All of the Above.

Most likely, it's F: All of the Above.

I'm very predictable post-travel, and the moment I unpack my luggage, a flood of sorrow rushes over me. Dread fills the pit of my stomach at the idea of returning to work, and the enthusiasm I had, now feels like it was a dream.

As sad as it sounds, I am depressed in both situations: Counting down to my next adventure and post-travel when I wonder, "Where will I go next?"

Realizing that I was depressed before and after traveling has been eye-opening. Now that I am aware of this behavior, I have adopted ways to cope and help make this mental pattern of life a little more tolerable.

Pre-Travel

1. Always have the next trip booked.

Although I am (very likely) sad, feeling stuck in the grind until I can quench my next wanderlust, it gives me something to look forward to - at a minimum.

2. Rebuild that piggy bank for your next vacation.

Ideally, you want to save the money first and then book. However, if you're confident you won't dig into a financial hole, you can consider flip-flopping the order and making payments. Regardless of which order you choose, seeing the balance owed ticking down (or seeing the money in your savings adding up), will give you a boost of enthusiasm that you're one step closer to your next adventure.

3. Turn your travel photos into digital wallpapers.

Go through the pictures of your last trip and select your favorites. Save one image on your iPad or tablet, another on your phone, and another on your computer. Feel free to use them as screensavers too! You'll remember how happy you were and how you'll find comfort knowing you'll feel like that again soon.

4. Keep a picture of your latest adventure in your workspace or in your car.

Not everyone works at a desk or has a corner carved out at work, and this is where saving your pictures on your phone can benefit you even more. If you do not have a dedicated workspace (like a desk), plant your picture in your work locker, tucked inside your work badge, or taped to your car's dash. That way, you'll subconsciously know what you're busting your ass for and what you are working hard towards each time you clock in.

5. Do NOT keep a countdown to your next vacation.

This might be surprising to some, but I find that keeping a countdown drives me insane and fuels my depression. On previous trips, I would look at my countdown only to see 1-2 days have clicked by when I feel like it has been a least a week since the last time I looked. However, when I choose not to have a countdown, it feels like time moves faster when I am not keeping track of it, and it feels like a tiny surprise each time I realize how many days closer I am.

Post-Travel

1. Take 1-2 days off, if you can, after returning from your trip.

For many of us, work is already considered a soul-sucking task that no one wants to do. It would help if you had time to readjust to your usual grind. For me, jumping right into the work routine worsens my depression. However, everyone is different and might prefer "Ripping the bandaid off," but that is going to be up to you to figure out. Taking this reprieve can be a valuable time to unpack, check your mail, meal prep some healthy lunches, do laundry, and relax. This is also a great time to readjust your sleep schedule if you are facing jet lag.

2. Spend the next 3-5 days on a healthy eating schedule.

Vacations don't always equate to "eating healthy." During this time, many of us splurge and overindulge. Once your travel is over, give yourself a digestive reset and get some nutritious food in your gut. After all, studies support that a poor diet directly contributes to depression! By doing a hard reset on your eating with a re-balanced diet, your mood (and eventually mind) will bounce back. The sooner you can, the better you'll feel.

3. Get back to the gym.

There is no doubt that working out does your mind and body good. If you took extended time off, you might also have missed a good portion of regular exercise. As a result, you might notice you can't lift as much weight or jog noticeably slower. That's 100% okay, and you'll build yourself back up in no time, and your body needs to readjust.

4. Talk about your depression.

If you already have someone to talk to, make an appointment with them. Better yet, have an appointment already made before you return. This can be whoever you prefer, such as a psychologist, counselor, chaplain, BFF, significant other, etc. It doesn't have to be anything formal either and can be as simple as FaceTime or arranging to have a cup of coffee. In the end, this person will be your best cheerleader to get you to the next adventure as sanely as possible.

Depression already sucks, so spare yourself having to go through it alone. Even a small support structure can go a long way.

It sounds a bit cliche, but travel is my therapy.

The most significant piece of pre- and post-travel advice I can give is always having something to look forward to; even if you don't have that next trip booked. Choose something small, and it can be whatever you want.

Perhaps it's...

... a cup of coffee;

... a few kind words;

... a tip from a Medium or Vocal reader

... a random phone call from a loved one;

... or a pathetic joke that still makes you chuckle.

"Those who move forward with a happy spirit will find that things always work out.” - Gordon B. Hinkley

If you have some pre- and post- travel recommendations, let us know what you do by telling us in the comments! What works for you?

If you like this story, consider giving these articles a read! 👇

Hearts ❤️ and tips ️💸 are always welcome and much appreciated as they help support my writing! 🙏

travel
3

About the Creator

Crystal A. Wolfe

Blogger | Creative Writer | Traveler | Full-Time RVer

You can find all of my articles on my blog as well on Medium where I'm most active in Humor, Lifestyle, and Travel. I've self-published one fantasy fiction with the sequel in the works.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Pro Villa2 years ago

    Fabulous travel story!!!👏👏👏

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fabous travel story!!!👏💖😊💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.