Lifehack logo

Planning For The Future

My Plan for 2022

By FEHINPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Planning For The Future
Photo by Luba Ertel on Unsplash

Growing up my family moved around a lot. I vividly remember the apprehension I often felt in the pit of my stomach each time I transferred to a new school. Easy to say…I hated it. As a result the more I grew older, the more I made less of an effort and lost all interest in making friends or meeting new people. Over the years I became introverted, shy and lacked confidence in myself as a result.

That was until my sophomore year of high school. My family had just moved to Harlem, New York from Woodstock, Georgia and it was once again my first day at a new school. I was sitting in my sixth period world history class counting the minutes until dismissal and the time until I would be free to go home.

I remember suddenly feeling a hand tap the back of my shoulder and as I turned around I came face to face with a young girl asking me what my name was and whether I enjoyed listening to K-Pop. Visibly confused as to how the young girl would know that information, I replied confirming that I do love K-Pop. The young girl introduced herself as Issa and said she was able to tell my love for K-pop due to the keychain I had attached on the side of my bookbag and that she too loved K-pop. Needless to say, from that moment on Issa and I became the best of friends. We bonded over our mutual admiration for K-Pop and found that there were many other things we had in common. Eight years later as we reflect on the day we met, Issa told me how during the time she noticed how I was sitting all alone and wanted me to feel included. Simply based on Issa taking that first step to approach and show me kindness by allowing me to feel included, she has shaped my outlook on many things in my life. Till this day my best friend, Issa, doesn't realize the full extent of how much she has impacted my life and has become such a blessing in my life. Therefore, since this day I have made it a goal of mine to always make sure everyone is able to feel included and comfortable.

The steps that I plan on taking in 2022 to continue to foster the same kind of kindness and inclusivity showcased to me through my community and with everyone I may come across is to not be fearful to put myself out there and to not be afraid to introduce myself and get to know new people. I believe that this would not only increase the person that I'm getting to know sense of belonging and purpose, but it would also have the potential to allow for that person to experience a feeling of happiness and improve their self-confidence and self-worth. I plan to also utilize inclusive language. This to me is extremely important because inclusive language acknowledges and respects the diversity in each individual, which in turn would allow for a more comfortable environment for everyone. Lastly, I plan on being mindful in the way that I communicate with individuals. This is a crucial notion because I believe that the best way for people to communicate with one another is if they are aware of making a conscious effort to listen. This would allow for people to not only hear what is being said to them but to also take it in, digest it and comprehend that information. This to me would make the experience of communicating much more enjoyable for everyone involved.

list
Like

About the Creator

FEHIN

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.