Lifehack logo

Paper Pusher with a Twist

Paper crafting fun!

By Lacy HallPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

The definition of paper pusher has always had a kind of negative connotation to it. The common meaning is someone who does paperwork for a living. Well, I was a paper pusher of sorts working as an administrative assistant for a computer company. I was asked by a coworker to help her create a diorama for her son’s school project. That was when I discovered you can really build just about anything out of paper. We built a Shakespearian theatre that is located in England. It turned out very well, so I started experimenting more with paper craft. As a member of our social committee at work, I was in charge of decorating cubicles for coworkers and managers birthdays as well as other special occasions. For one such occasion, I created a Hawaiian themed tiki hut. For another, a sunflower garden complete with a white fence and a flower garland complete with butterflies. All of this was done with paper! I continued experimenting over the years and have come up with many different types of paper craft projects. When I was working in the office, I always wished for more time to dedicate to creating artwork. My life changed dramatically a couple of years ago when I was diagnosed with a degenerative disease. I am currently disabled and no longer working, so now I have even more time to enjoy creating these unique art pieces. I have found it to be true that every cloud has a silver lining.

Since I began paper crafting experimented with different kinds of paper: regular colored paper, tissue paper and card stock. I learned which paper is best for the project I am working on. I also taught myself how to shape the paper and form it into three dimensional objects. The longer I worked at this, the more complicated projects I attempted and found success.

The most fun thing about paper craft for me is to make gifts for others. I love the looks of amazement I get when people discover that these creations are all out of paper. My favorite things to create are flowers and decorated frames that are colorful, cheerful and personalized.

I also teach others how to make these paper craft projects. For the moment, I am living in an assisted living facility getting some physical rehab. During arts and crafts, I led a group of ladies and we created a paper flower. They had a really good time and asked to do it again sometime. It is also fun for kids. Several years ago, I taught art at the elementary level. For one class project we created a jungle mural and for another, an ocean mural. Nothing was drawn or colored; al the forms were made from paper and glued to the background. The kids and I had a blast making them, and the school displayed them for everyone to admire. Another class paper craft to decorate their classroom door for a Christmas contest and won hands down. There are many creative applications with this technique, and I am sure many more yet to be discovered.

I have used many different art mediums such as oils, watercolor and charcoal. Even though all these mediums each have their own merits, I have realized that paper craft is my favorite. It is both engaging, relaxing and sometimes challenging. Since I am no longer able to work, I am loving the time I get to spend doing this and it gives me a sense of purpose in my current situation. I continue to experiment as I create. I continue to discover ways to make my pieces more three dimensional in structure. I uploaded a picture of one of my recent projects so you can see an example of one of the forms of paper craft that I do. Should you decide to take up paper crafting, all you will need is a table, some colored paper, card stock, scissors, glue and a little imagination. There are no rules, so relax and have fun!

crafts
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.