Lifehack logo

My Top 5 favorite things about Autumn

From the girl that loves Autumn

By Jamie LeePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

1. The Weather and Scenery

By Fall equinox, the temperature drops, which is a relief for people that don't enjoy hot summer weather. What a wonderful excuse to wear my favorite sweater to go with my boots and scarf! As a child, leaves on the ground were fun to kick around and be surrounded by. As I got older, I enjoy driving around with my Autumn playlist playing in my car just to see the beautiful scenery. For photographers, it brings them brilliant ideas for their project for Autumn lovers to admire just like a lot of people admire artwork, such as Mona Lisa and Starry Night.

2. Halloween

As a child, my favorite thing about Halloween is dressing up and trick-or-treating. After my childhood, I rewatch all my favorite Halloween films, such as The Addams Family, Halloweentown, The Nightmare Before Christmas, Trick r Treat, The Craft, Corpse Bride, Hocus Pocus, Beetlejuice, Rocky Horror, and other Tim Burton films. I also like to rewatch my favorite seasons of American Horror Story. Two of my favorites are Coven and Hotel. Still to this day, I enjoy dressing up and buying candy to fill my stash. And let's not forget the Halloween tunes, such as Ghostbusters, Monster Mash, Spooky Scary Skeletons, The Time Warp, and so much more.

3. Hot Cocoa

Yes. I prefer hot cocoa over pumpkin spice latte. One, I march to the beat of my own drum. Two, I love the smell of pumpkin spice, but I don't like the taste of it. Three, I love chocolate. Especially when it's warm and topped with either marshmallows or whipped cream. It's like a big warm hug in a cup. My favorite combinations with hot cocoa is chocolate chip cookies and oreos. When it comes to coffee and chocolate, I do drink white chocolate mocha with hazelnut syrup. When I go to a coffee place to order either a hot cocoa or white chocolate mocha, I always add hazelnut syrup to make it sweeter. Oh, and did I mention that I miss the toasted graham latte from Starbucks?

4. Thanksgiving

It's a wonderful holiday to spend with your family. It's more than filling your plate with all your favorite sides to go with turkey. It's also being thankful for everything in your life. My favorite dessert for Thanksgiving is chocolate cake and homemade sweet potato pie (much better and sweeter than pumpkin pie). My favorite side with turkey is baked mac & cheese. What I'm most thankful is my family, boyfriend, my small circle, my job, and a roof over my head. Remember to always count your blessings on this holiday while enjoying your meal, the company of your family, and watching football afterwards.

5. Pumpkins

Pumpkins are my favorite decorations for Autumn. In fact, this year was my first time going to a pumpkin patch where I took home a free pumpkin to have as a centerpiece for my house. Pumpkins remind of the Charlie Brown Halloween special called It's A Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown. I like to carve or paint pumpkins, depending on how I'm feeling. I remember scooping out the inside of the pumpkin (the fun and messy part) and extracting pumpkin seeds for roasting. However, I can't seem remember the taste.

As I've mentioned before, I love pumpkin scents, whether it be candles, air fresheners, body wash, bubble bath, hand soap, or perfume. Every year in Autumn, I get excited about the scents that Bath & Body Works put on the shelves prior to Fall equinox. The first time I shopped for something with Autumn scent I bought Sweet Cinnamon Pumpkin. That has been my favorite from Bath & Body Works ever since.

HAPPY FALL, Y'ALL!!

list
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.