Lifehack logo

My Slice of Heaven

A Room

By Tonya Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

The fireplace is warm and crackling in the early morning wisps of light, the smell of freshly brewed coffee trickles down the hallway, and into our recessed great room, the room that I can call my favorite place in our whole house. We rent my childhood home from my parents and making their home into my own has been an interesting process to say the least.

This modular home was purchased just as I finished up middle school and my sister and I got to help pick it out.

After our trailer house was hauled away to make room for the foundation to be laid we would stay in our garage, sleeping on our stored couches. School days were the exception, that is when we stayed at my grandmas house just up the road.

The beginning of my freshman year, just in time for Christmas, the house was laid onto the foundation. My sister and I watched that foundation get poured, as we peeked out from the garage, whispering about how great it would be when it was ready.

My family spent years looking at houses. We looked at houses that were already built, we also considered building one ourselves, but a modular wound up the home of choice in the end.

We went from sales lot to sales lot until the perfect floor plan showed up on our radar. A three bedroom two bathroom home with plenty of living space it had a foyer, a recessed great room, and a family office space built in. We chose the carpet color and the linoleum, and piece by piece we selected every aspect and created a home of our dreams. Twenty is years later this home is where I am going to raise my children.

The recessed living room has always been my favorite place to settle in for coffee. After settling into my favorite chair by the fire I breathe in deep the aroma of my medium roast arabica coffee from my oversized mug and prepare for my day. Once I have unwound and found peace then I will begin my journaling.

Gratitude journaling in my favorite place is the best way to start my day. It always leaves me feeling bright and hopeful for what the future holds. My journals help me to appreciate my life and this beautiful alcove of peace that I have created here inside my heart and inside my home.

This room, my recessed great room, has an open concept and is filled with an oversized sectional, and bean bag chair in a charcoal gray color. My sectional is adorned with some handpicked 90s themed throw pillows that I waited months to receive and the gas fireplace is flanked on each side by beautifully lit oversized built in bookshelves and a recliner that sits comfortably in front of these.

Twentyish years has done its damage to the carpets, once so blue, but the time shows it’s face here and there. This home is still the wonder to me that it was new, so my plan is to replace the carpets with hardwood and to repaint the walls, but other than that this room needs very little work to create my dream corner, inside of my dream home.

My parents worked so hard to build this dream for us and I am grateful every single day that I am blessed enough to wake up and bask in the joys of their hard labor. It is my sincerest hope that I can create this same sense of peace and hospitality on this property for my children in their future and their families to come.

house
Like

About the Creator

Tonya

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.