Lifehack logo

My Invisible Grille Adventure

From Skeptic to Convert

By Daz LowPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 2 min read
Like
Casement windows with invisible grilles

Hey there, fellow condo- and apartment-dwellers!

You know, when I first heard about invisible grilles, I was absolutely sure they were just another one of those condo fads. I mean, come on, how can something be both invisible and secure? But after actually living with them for a good while, boy was I wrong. Let me spill the tea.

First Impressions

When I saw them being installed on my neighbour's balcony, my first thought was, “What’s the point?” I mean, they were nearly invisible. That’s the point, duh! It was like they had their cake and ate it too; they enjoyed their gorgeous, unobstructed view AND ensured their little kiddo didn’t do a daredevil stunt off the balcony. It’s a win-win, really.

The Aesthetics

I've always been a bit of a design snob. (Okay, a lot.) Those thick grilles most condos use? They're a visual distraction, if you ask me. But the invisible grilles? They're sleek, they're modern, and they're – well, practically invisible. I genuinely feel like my living space got an upgrade just because of them. And guess what? No more bars making me feel like I'm in a gilded cage.

Safety

Despite their sleek look, I've found them to be incredibly sturdy. I did my research and learnt that these bad boys are made with high-tensile cables that can withstand quite the force. There's a peace of mind knowing that my pets won’t accidentally tumble out, even with their usual antics.

Maintenance

Okay, here’s where I had reservations. I thought, “Fine, they look good, but they must be a pain to clean, right?” Nope! They're surprisingly low maintenance. A simple wipe-down every once in a while, does the trick. No rusting, no wear and tear, and definitely no regrets.

Anti-birds

Birds. Without seeing the grilles, our feathered friends occasionally think they can just fly right through. But alas, the vertical invisible grilles stop flying birds and afford no place for them to perch on and break into the house.

The Downside

Like everything, they’re not perfect. One minor gripe? Installation is permanent. Unlike the regular iron grille where it can be opened if ever needed, it’s not possible to do that with invisible grilles. Cleaning could be a problem with the narrow gaps between the wires. It'll be hard to open and close your windows as well.

To Grille or Not To Grille?

Honestly, if you're contemplating invisible grilles for your space, I'd say give it a go. They blend security and style in a way that traditional grilles just can't. Not to mention, the uninterrupted views are chef’s kiss.

Would I recommend them? In a heartbeat. I love looking out at the city without feeling confined. And isn’t that why we all opted for condo or apartment living in the first place? Views, vibes, and a bit of vertical luxury.

To invisible grilles and the friends who don’t believe they’re there till they touch them (true story)!

Until next time.

house
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Daz Low is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.