Lifehack logo

My Fiskars

The Best!

By Peg LubyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

I love my Fiskars! They’re the best scissors in the world — and I can prove it! Having said that, I don’t know if you’re gonna laugh or cry when you see what I do with them. But before I get into the unorthodox use of my Fiskars, let me show you some of the more traditional ways I use them.

My last name is — was Kraft for more than thirty years before I remarried. With a name like that you’d almost have to be crafty, wouldn’t you? And I do have a love for crafting!

I’m the proud owner of four pair of Fiskars scissors plus one Fiskars scissor sharpener, and that was bought to sharpen a no-name brand of scissors. My Fiskars hold their edge well and seldom need to be sharpened.

Four pair of Fiskars and a Fiskars Sharpener

You see those little blue-handle scissors? The Fiskars for kids? They are the perfect thing to carry in my purse. They have a round nose so they won’t poke through the lining. They’ve come in so handy over the years. They’ll cut your coupons while you’re standing in the grocery store aisle and they’ll cut off a hospital wrist band when you bring your husband home from the hospital. I even bought some to give to my girlfriends. They make a great — and practical — gift.

I keep my Fiskars heavy fabric shears for cutting material only! I’m very protective about that. I bought them in 2015 to cut up layers of old t-shirts. I’d go to the thrift stores and get bags of t-shirts for next to nothing, bring them home and cut them into strips to make crochet yarn.

This is our Baby Blue and she was always trying to help me with my projects.

Baby Blue Helping

When I found out how much cats love these little rugs, I started making and donating them to the local animal rescue. And Baby Blue was my in-house expert consultant.

Testing Out the Product

Our older cat Missy loved her rug so much she would drag it around with her!

Missy Takes Her Rug With Her

All this happiness brought about with the help of my Fiskars.

This past year, with the COVID 19 outbreak, I pulled out my trusty Fiskars and made face masks for friends, family, and my church brothers and sisters. I can’t even guess how many masks I made and gave away but it was a task I wouldn’t do with any scissor other than the best.

Making Face Masks

It might not surprise you that I have a cutting machine. You might not think you need scissors when you have one of those, but I do! Let me explain. Part of what gives me joy in crafting is sharing the things I make.

When my daughter wanted to decorate her daughter’s bedroom, I made stickers for the walls. We lived in two different states. I would make things, cut around the backing paper, then tape them to my wall to show her what I’d made. She loved them and dreamt of where she would put them all. When the time came, I pulled everything down, took the tape off, and mailed them to her.

Using Fiskars to Cut Out Stickers

Unfortunately, my daughter was killed in a car accident before she was able to complete the project.

I continue to make things with my cutting machine and my Fiskars. These inspirational stickers would never have been possible without the help of my Fiskars to shape them.

Shaped by Fiskars

Even today Fiskars are a big part of my life. I have a pair that are designated for multi-use. They live in a crock on my craft table which is in my kitchen. Crafting is such a big part of my life that I can’t separate it from my life. Living with your craft station across from your kitchen counter wouldn’t be everyone’s cup o’ sunshine but for me, and my Fiskars, it’s heaven on earth! Whether you need to open mail or a pack of crackers, you can count on Fiskars to be there and get the job done — and woe to anyone who doesn’t put ‘em back where they belong!

Where my Fiskars Live

And now, here’s the part that will either fill you with wonder or make you cringe. Recently I’ve been using Fiskars to make tin can flowers.

“Fiskars for making tin can flowers‽” you exclaim.

I know, right! You would never think so, but I find them invaluable in creating beautiful art to share with friends and family.

Making Flowers

I start out using tin snips to do the rough work. When it comes time to shape and trim, that’s when I need my Fiskars. I can get a better, more precise cut with my scissors than I can with the tin snips, and it doesn’t leave those evilly sharp little needles behind!

A coat of spray paint makes them pretty enough to give away or hang on my garden wall.

Tin Can Flowers

While working with the tin one day, I wondered if I could make a giant ladybug. I drew a pattern on cardboard and cut it out with my Fiskars. Despite the fact that I sorely abused them cutting tin, they are still wondrously sharp and cut out my ladybug pattern with no problem at all.

Cutting Out Cardboard With My Fiskars

Smudge helped.

Smudge Helps

I used coil stock for the ladybug. My Fiskars came in handy to trim off the sharp needles left behind by the tin snips. I used my cutting machine (and Fiskars) to make the spots for my ladybug.

Fiskars Helps With Many Projects!

With a smile on my face and joy in my heart, I gave the ladybug to someone I knew would love and give it a good home, my best girl, friend and neighbor, Miss Rosie.

Miss Rosie and Her New Ladybug

I don’t recommend you use your Fiskars to cut tin cans with but if you do, they can handle it. Fiskars are tough, durable, and reliable. They’ll take on any job you throw at them and keep right on cutting. I love my Fiskars! They’re the best scissors in the world!

crafts
Like

About the Creator

Peg Luby

I've been chronicling the story of my life a week at a time for the past 23 years. I talk about the highs, the lows, and everything in between. After all, there are no secrets between friends, right?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.