Lifehack logo

My Favorite House Plants for Beginners.

Great starting plants for those looking to get into the hobby

By erinhastoomanybooks2.0Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
My Favorite House Plants for Beginners.
Photo by Scott Webb on Unsplash

In one of my earlier posts, I talked about the rise of house plants during the lockdown. Indoor gardening is far older than the pandemic. However, the boost in popularity means new people want to know a good place to start. I'm not an expert in botanical affairs, but I have taken care of plants long enough to tell you what works for me.

  • Golden Pothos

Also known as Devil's Ivy, the Golden Pothos is a type of vine. I've had mine for two years and have noted that it requires very little maintenance. I find that it can survive both indoors and outdoors but will need a break from constant sunlight every once in a while. It grows like a weed. Besides the occasional pruning, not much work goes into caring for the plant.

  • Begonia Maculata

These are also known as the Spotted Plant. There is a lot of overlap with that common name, so be careful. The Begonia Maculata is a flowering plant with dark green leaves with white spots. The backsides of these leaves are a deep red when healthy. The contrasting colors make this plant a great accent piece.

Mine needed to be transferred once. Previously, mine was in a plastic pot. It's adjusted to a terracotta pot wonderfully. Pruning can be necessary, but these guys put out so many new leaves that I wouldn't stress too much. The growth of these plants is incredible. The Begonia Maculata needs support stakes as new stalks sprout, so keep that in mind when positioning the foliage. I keep this plant indoors often to help it recover from excess sun. The leaves burn easily, so be careful with light exposure.

  • Snake plants.

Snake Plants also have the moniker of "Mother-in-Law Plants" (no, I'm not kidding) so keep an eye out. I've kept mine in a fabric pot, and it has thrived for almost two years. Snake Plants can handle low light conditions, but the occasional sunlight exposure isn't a bad thing. It has bright and beautiful colors. The hardiness of this plant is also something to rave about.

My Snake Plant was one of my first plants and has been very forgiving to my gardening blunders. The Snake Plant will tell you when something is wrong. The stalk-like leaves will droop, meaning that you should water them. I have lost the leaves on some of mine, but the roots are still growing. Soon, the plant itself will regrow.

  • The Florida Beauty.

These guys look like a lighter version of Begonia Maculatas. They have light green leaves with smaller, more scattered white dots. Florida Beauties require medium light, which is why I keep mine on top of my bookshelf. I got mine a little over three months ago. So far, I've only had to prune away the dead leaves. I have noticed a pretty decent amount of growth within a short period. Like Snake Plants, Florida Beauties will droop when they need water.

  • Succulents.

This one is a broad spectrum, which is why I love it so much. There are so many different sizes, shapes, and colors of succulents out there. Their reputation proceeds them in terms of their hardiness. Every plant is unique, but succulents are low maintenance. They are meant to endure dry climates, so keep that in mind if you live somewhere with high humidity. Succulents also have a slow growth rate, making them perfect for apartments and dorms.

The market for plants is as diverse as the plants themselves. Every organism has different care requirements that factor in its hardiness. It's important to understand the adaptability your plant has to the environment you keep it in. With that being said, I hope you enjoyed looking at some of the best house plants I've taken care of.

house
1

About the Creator

erinhastoomanybooks2.0

Hello! Welcome to my page where I love posting about crystals, design, writing tips, and more! You can find me on Instagram @erinhastoomanybooks2.0

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.