Lifehack logo

Meaning through storytelling

The art of creating characters

By HaseenaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
8

We all have a story to tell, and this brings value not only to ourselves but also to others and the world. The character or story someone identifies with, can be the key to unlocking their strength and power. Journeying through that story allows space to draw parallels to our own life. Myths and fairy tales have more secrets to unlock than is often realised. The stories we say to ourselves are what form our internal reality. Changing the lived narrative can bring hope and healing.

We all are affected by the environments we work in and can unknowingly pick up the emotional distress of others. Even with boundaries of time and space, you can often carry this within yourself. I find it therapeutic to transform painted paper and shapes into characters and stories. In doing so, something within me shifts. On an unconscious level the stress of the day is digested and retold. I feel within me a joy that unfolds. My heart melts and feels free. I can give more from this place from which I receive.

Painting on paper and using swirls of imagination, I create a background that will be divided into shapes. As I cut and define this coloured canvas, it mirrors my own journey in this human form of mine. I relax my hand and turn inwards and am guided by rhyme over reason. An invisible force moves my hand and I let it run wild. The images that I seek spring up from the page, a distant memory from the paper from which it originally came. Each character unique, only the scissors all-knowing of what is truly meant to be said. Traces left by this snaking effect. It can only be cross referenced by snips and shreds.

Snip, snip, snip, and clip, clip, click. This is a different rhythm to my day job, and I find my way back to myself. The joy I feel when cutting felt, foam and paper, for no other reason than to be in this present moment. The random shapes combine to reveal their formation and design.

Surplus shapes from interesting designs are scooped together into a pile. Even the smallest of pieces can be stuck together to unite, to form something new and unfamiliar in this different light. Some pieces are naturally discarded, they have served their use, which has been led by this scissor cutting dance of mine. As they flutter down from my hand to the wastepaper bin, I am left feeling lighter and with a new purpose in mind. I look back to see that it all started with blank sheets of something. I am left feeling satisfied and happy with this crafting escape. My world comes alive with hope and passion for life.

I work with children and adolescents with mental health difficulties. I am often curious which story, if any, a child or adolescent is drawn to. The children and young people I have had the privilege to care for, have so much creativity and strength. For those that feel able to, I invite them to explore the story telling narrative either by themselves, or during their creative expression craft group.

Creative expression and story telling, by Haseena.

This process can be used for both children, adolescents, and adults alike.

Step one: what stories did you like growing up? Were there any books you wanted to read again and again? Was there a story that you made up? Are there myths and fantasy stories that you are drawn to?

Step two: pick one story and start with a character you like or relate to. Maybe it is one that has a message to share with you. Let the character and story reflect who you are. You might want to design the characters differently to how they were originally formed. Perhaps you want the character to be a different culture, gender, or sexual orientation. Maybe there is no happy ending, or a darker twist to your tale. Be as inventive as you like.

Step three: gather paper, cardboard, magazines, newspaper, crepe paper, tracing paper, corrugated paper, foam, and anything else that you can cut and stick.

Coloured card and paper. Photo by Haseena.

Step four: get your other materials such as paints, felt tips, marker pens, stencils, pencils, ruler, glue, sticky dots, and scissors.

Step five: you can use your stencils or free draw circles, rectangles, and other shapes. Maybe you want to design characters and scenes in a sketchbook. You might want to then use tracing paper to draw out your characters and then transfer them to your selected material.

Stencil and cuttings. Photo by Haseena.

Drawings from my sketchbook. Photo by Haseena.

Tracings from my sketchbook. Photo by Haseena.

Step six: you can use anything for the base or background. Sometimes I like to cut out a series of A5 cards and paint some with a watercolour wash, painting or pattern. Other times I like to use coloured card.

Creating background effects. Photo by Haseena.

Step seven: get cutting and sticking and create your character or scene. Perhaps you want to take the story away from how it was initially told. This is your narrative.

Cutting out characters. Photo by Haseena.

Cut out mermaids dancing. Photo by Haseena.

Step eight: add final touches with pens and markers or any other special features.

Adding colour and details to characters. Photo by Haseena.

Step nine: reflect on your finished character. You can stop there or make a series of events to create a story reel for your character.

Creative story telling. Photo by Haseena.

A mermaid's story retold by Haseena.

Step ten: How does the story speak to you, what can you learn, what insights has it shown you about yourself or the world?

Snow White and Rose Red by Haseena.

The Woman who lived at the bottom of a well and The Man trapped in the tree by Haseena.

Rapunzel and the rainbow braid part 1. Photo by Haseena.

Rapunzel and the rainbow braid part 2. Photo by Haseena.

Heidi and Pippi Longstocking. Photo by Haseena.

Rumpelstiltskin, the Miller's son and the King. Photo by Haseena.

Left over scraps for another day. Photo by Haseena.

There is a spring clicking within the scissors, even though it has been placed back on its perch. Already the clock is ticking, and a pattern is waiting to emerge.

crafts
8

About the Creator

Haseena

By day I work with children and adolescents who have mental health difficulties. At night I am a writer and artist. I believe that each one of us has a unique story to tell. Creativity heals and expands my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.